We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I were extremely pleased with our stay here. We had a king vineyard view room. The room was fantastic with a very large bath. The room had a patio which overlooked the back. Unfortunately, the first row of vines are temporarily down, but the other rows of vines were there and so were the beautiful mountains in the background. We gave an A+ to the property grounds . The beautiful redwood trees and gardens make the property very special. Two nice but small pools. We found the staff to be helpful. The only thing not getting a high rating would be the buffet breakfast. It is simple. Nothing fancy. Breakfast closes at 10:00 on weekdays, but is open until 11:00 on weekends. We find that 10:00 is too early to close on weekdays especially when the establishment does not cater to the business traveler. Most guests are tourists and I assume would like to sleep later instead of rushing out to beat the 10:00 breakfast deadline. Otherwise, Highly recommend The Harvest Inn.

Room Tip: King vineyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r0cky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Dear R0cky1,

I am so glad you could experience an excellent stay. Your description of the ambiance and surroundings are spot on. I am sorry the breakfast hours did not allow you to fully enjoy your day, I promise on your next stay we will make the breakfast hours convenient for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    231
    96
    60
    34
See reviews for
97
698
23
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Celebration
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Everything is pricey in napa so we didn't mind the 500-night but when we walked in to check in and asked a few general questions about things the front desk clerk handed us a piece of paper and time us to 'read this'. For 500-night I expect a bit more courtesy and personable checkin experience. The rooms are decent but I felt for the price the only thing that really stood out was that the grounds are well kept. The pool is in need of repair it looks dirty and broken and again for the price we expected nicer. The water pressure in or shower was almost nonexistent; both days of our stay we could not get a full shower in bc the pressure of the water was so low that it barely dribbled out enough to wash soap off. The tub seemed to have great pressure but we wanted a shower and again for the money I expected better. The staff attempted to give us a turn down service and we asked them to come back in a few minutes bc we were leaving and they never came back. Again overall for the money I expected better overall. Would try another place before ever coming back here unfortunately.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kennedydottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Dear Kennedy Dottie

I truly apologize for the short comings you encountered in your stay. certainly not the level we pride ourselves in delivering. I can assure you we have worked to address each one of these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful couples retreat right off Main Street in St. Helena, renovated room, gas fireplace, huge walk in shower & separate tub. Small balcony over looking fountain to relax. Breakfast included, free hotel car service to local restaurants.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Dear Rick L.

We are so glad we could provide you with a great romantic experience in the Napa Valey. We thank you for your kind feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus. Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a remarkable place to rest, relax, and renew. It's on the southern outskirts of St Helena and right on the main drag, but you'd never know it. As soon as we turned onto the grounds, the world went still. Rooms were sumptuous, with fireplaces, large baths [with separate tubs and walk-in showers], and comfy beds. The grounds were verdant, lush, and beautifully cared for. Staff were wonderfully attentive without being intrusive. The breakfasts were pitch perfect. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I honestly don't think there's a bad unit in the place. Some overlook the vineyards, others...
See more room tips
Green Features: My sense is that they're environmentally conscious.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peebs777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Peebs777,

The entire staff appreciated your remarkable comments, we are all pleased that that our location in paradise and facilities could be matched by our caring staff. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I took a group of friends to wine country to enjoy a long weekend. I had stayed at the Harvest Inn a couple of times over the last few years. Its an oasis in the middle of the sometimes very hectic valley. This trip was by far the best experience I've had there. I found the staff to be more attentive, more engaged and paying attention to the little things that make the difference between a good stay and a great stay. Hector (who I saw playing several roles while there) comes to mind instantly. He was so attentive and I could tell that he took it personally that I had an outstanding experience the whole time I had my group there. Bravo and well done!

Room Tip: The fountain view rooms provide a nice ambiance...I could hear the fountain from my room. Very rela...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear DM.

It is a great pleasure to respond to your wonderful review. We are so glad that we could improve upon your previous stays. We are always striving to to create new levels of excellence, in all things large and small. We are also proud and pleased that Hector could make such an impression on you and enrich your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The Lobby, quaint bar, main guest areas, brickwork, buildings and grounds are phenominal! The garden settings and walkways are lovely and peaceful. The main accent in our beautiful room was the huge brick Fireplace, which we enjoyed on a cool evening in July. Our patio was a view of the vineyards. The breakfast was great and had everything you could want. Wish we had stayed much longer there and will definitely be back!

Jackie W
Mission Viejo, CA

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaclin1244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Jackie,

We truly appreciate your comments and feedback. Not only because your was so excellent but because you had a chance to experience our continental breakfast. We look forward to your return visit. We will work on making even more improvements in that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The harvest inn is a quiet (although close to the main road) hotel in the heart of napa valley. Wine tasting is possible close to the hotel. The hotel serves a breakfast buffet which is decent although not the best I've ever had. The staff was very friendly and the atmosphere of the hotel is great. I would visit this place again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvest_Inn_StHelena, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Marc,

Thank you for your great feedback. You are right we located next to everything. I will certainly promise you that we are continuing to make improvements to our breakfast everyday. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
3.2 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
16.2 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,992 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
895 reviews
7.9 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
731 reviews
2.7 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer

Property: Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Address: 1 Main Street, St. Helena, CA 94574-2155
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Helena
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the #3 hotel in Northern California by Condé Nast Traveler's Readers Choice Awards 2016, Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer is an idyllic resort designed to celebrate the vineyard way of life, with 78 luxurious accommodations nestled into five uniquely crafted neighborhoods, two secluded swimming pools, and a plush spa with indoor and outdoor facilities. Surrounded by the lush landscaping of expansive clipped lawns and serene shaded groves, partially forested by towering redwoods, Harvest Inn also is home to gardens of agricultural botanicals. Although well situated in proximity to the hub of activity in historic St Helena, Harvest Inn offers picturesque privacy and a "let's get lost" feeling of total relaxation. In classic California fashion, the architecture and land are in harmony, making Harvest Inn an integral part of the terrain. The distinctive mixing of heritage and modern style seen in the richly stained wood, leaded glass panels, and exterior stone as well as Tudor stucco with timber framing adds up to a storybook setting that is both rustic and elegant. As comfortable as it is beautiful, Harvest Inn welcomes both families and friends with its charming warmth and friendly ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvest Hotel St. Helena
Harvest Inn Napa
Harvest St Helena
Harvest Inn By Charlie Palmer St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing