We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I can't say enough good things about the Harvest Inn. It was by far one of our favorite hotels my husband and I ever stayed in. We stayed in a vineyard view room with a fireplace and it was perfect. We loved making a fire early every morning and when we got back to the hotel every night. The free continental breakfast was very good, and even though it was almost the same everyday, it had a variety of options. The rooms are clean, the grounds are beautiful, and the staff is friendly and helpful. Lisa at the concierge desk was fantastic! She recommended some excellent wineries that we would of never thought to go to, and she took care of making reservations for us at whichever ones required one. The hotel is also in a great location, minutes drive from some wonderful vineyards, and there's a Dean and DeLuca 2 minutes down the road if you want to pack lunch for a picnic. Thank you to the Harvest Inn for an awesome trip, we look forward to returning again soon!

Room Tip: If possible- reserve a room with a vineyard view, you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellebeeNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear ellebeeNY,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Harvest Inn. We greatly appreciate it!

Lisa will be happy to hear that you enjoyed her recommendations of wineries. She truly does know some of the great hidden gems in Napa Valley!

Having a warm and cozy fire morning and night is surely a treat, especially during our chillier times of year.

We look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    226
    90
    58
    33
See reviews for
93
678
22
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Harvest Inn is a very pretty, rather large resort set back from the main road through St. Helena. The grounds are absolutely stunning, and the buildings are quite beautiful, with an old English Tudor style, plenty of brick and wood, shingles and chimneys, set against a lovely vineyard. The style seems oddly out of place for the Napa Valley, but it's charming and quaint and, for whatever reason, it works.

I think your experience with you stay will depend on what room you choose. Rooms close to the road, or looking into the adult pool feel somewhat exposed. The more expensive fountain and vineyard view rooms are quite large and have more of the feel of a pricey resort.

The staff was super friendly and helpful and the morning breakfast was outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CakeNine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear CakeNine,

Thank you for such wonderful comments about your recent stay with us!! We love hearing from our guests. Our staff works very hard to keep the grounds looking as pretty as they do. They will be pleased to hear that you found them to be to your satisfaction. The next time you are with us, be sure to request a tour of our gardens. It is quite the treat!!

We are also quite glad to hear that you enjoyed not only our professional and friendly staff, but our wonderful Wine Country breakfast. The next time you stay with us, be sure to inquire about one of our rooms that overlook the Vineyards. They are not only beautiful, but very secluded.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Harvest Inn very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
149 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

What a surprise, you don't expect the rooms to be so large, the bed and pillows so comfortable, the bathroom to be so large and the breakfast to be so delicious!!!! The service is excellent, everyone is happy to help and so pleasant. I would reccommend this Inn to anyone going to Napa Valley.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Tina K,

Thank you for saying such wonderful things about our Inn! We are very proud of our rooms and our grounds. The staff works very hard to ensure that everything is to an exacting standard. From our large, comfortable beds, to our complimentary breakfast, we ensure that no detail is missed. We are very pleased to hear that they met your satisfaction!!

Thank you again, and we look forward to having you stay with us very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

The grounds here remind me of something Disney would produce. The attention they put into every small detail made our stay (turn down service with ice and bottled water, complimentary wine and stocked fridge upon arrival, endless fire logs, free delicious breakfast, etc. ). We stayed in a vineyard room and the ambiance of the vines and fireplace are beyond romantic. The staff was extremely friendly and the free breakfast was the best we have ever had at a hotel. My wife and I can't wait to come back!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Tony L,

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay so much! Thank you! At our Inn, we strive to meet the high standards of all of our guests by offering an array of complimentary amenities. From our breakfast offerings, to a half bottle of wine, to our turn down service, we try to offer the best amenities in the Bay Area. It is always nice to hear when that attention to detail does not go unnoticed. We also pride ourselves on our professional and friendly staff.

Thank you for your wonderful comments, and we will see you again in the near future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We had a fountain view room it was big, clean,comfortable , beautiful. With a nice chimney. The bathroom was very big. The breakfast was included and was good. The concierge Lisa helped me a lot planning my stay in St Helena. Without a doubt I will come again!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Mariana W,

Thank you for your comments! We have a variety of rooms to choose from, but the Fountain View rooms are some of our largest and most comfortable!! Not only do they have a great view, but with the large, comfortable bed and the cozy fireplace, they are perfect for that quick weekend getaway or that long extended stay.

Thank you as well for your comments about our Concierge, Lisa!! She has many connections in the Napa Valley and has helped many people plan their perfect trip to the area. From planning a great winery tour, to getting that "hard to get" reservation at some of the world's top restaurants that we enjoy as neighbors, she can do it all!

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Harvest Inn in the near future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay at the Harvest Inn. The property is beautiful. We really enjoyed the grounds. We were traveling with our puppy and the hotel really rolled out the red carpet for her. This is a great place to stay with a dog. The room was really comfortable and the blinds were so good we were able to sleep in until 9 every day without knowing it. All of the staff we encountered were very warm and friendly. We wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tripsiino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear tripslino,

It is always great when our guests bring their four legged friends with them to stay with us!! We welcome pets and have always worked hard to meet their satisfactions as well. We even have our own on property mascot, Peanut! We are glad to hear, as well, that you enjoyed not only our comfortable rooms, but our professional and friendly staff.

Thank you again, and we will see you the next time you find yourself in the Napa Valley!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Harvest Inn and found both the property and the staff to be wonderful. Upon checking in, the front desk manager told us they had a cancellation of one of their vineyard view fireplace suites and offered us an upgrade at a very reasonable price. We found the room and the property to be beautiful and well kept. We especially liked the small bottle of wine and bottles of water that were waiting for us in the room. The included breakfast was also very nice. Overall, a top notch place to stay when you are in Napa.

Room Tip: As for a room close to the vineyard - great views of the valley!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Ken M,

We are so pleased to hear about your recent stay with us! Thank you! I am glad to hear that you were able to stay in one of our Vineyard View rooms as they have some of the most beautiful views on our property!! There is nothing like sipping on a glass of wine as the sun sets over the Vineyards.... We also try very hard to meet the exacting standards of our guests by offering many amenities that are included in your stay. A Wine Country Breakfast, half bottle of local Napa Valley wine, bottled water, and our wonderful concierge service are only a few of the amenities we offer our guests!!

Thank you again for your wonderful comments, and we look forward to having you stay with us again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
8.4 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
8.1 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 1 in Rutherford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
7.6 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
8.0 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer

Property: Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Address: 1 Main Street, St. Helena, CA 94574-2155
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Helena
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the #3 hotel in Northern California by Condé Nast Traveler's Readers Choice Awards 2016, Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer is an idyllic resort designed to celebrate the vineyard way of life, with 78 luxurious accommodations nestled into five uniquely crafted neighborhoods, two secluded swimming pools, and a plush spa with indoor and outdoor facilities. Surrounded by the lush landscaping of expansive clipped lawns and serene shaded groves, partially forested by towering redwoods, Harvest Inn also is home to gardens of agricultural botanicals. Although well situated in proximity to the hub of activity in historic St Helena, Harvest Inn offers picturesque privacy and a "let's get lost" feeling of total relaxation. In classic California fashion, the architecture and land are in harmony, making Harvest Inn an integral part of the terrain. The distinctive mixing of heritage and modern style seen in the richly stained wood, leaded glass panels, and exterior stone as well as Tudor stucco with timber framing adds up to a storybook setting that is both rustic and elegant. As comfortable as it is beautiful, Harvest Inn welcomes both families and friends with its charming warmth and friendly ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvest Hotel St. Helena
Harvest Inn Napa
Harvest St Helena
Harvest Inn By Charlie Palmer St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing