We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, convenient, beautiful inn.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Romantic, convenient, beautiful inn.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Really loved this hotel. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the grounds were beautiful and everything is so nice. The pool was beautiful and had towels and chilled waters available free of charge. The fitness room was small but had enough equipment for a complete workout. We will definitely try to stay there again on our next trip to napa valley and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear lauren a,

Thank you for your wonderful review!

Our staff works very hard to ensure every guest had an amazing experience and they will be pleased to hear that they succeeded with you. Our groundskeepers work the grounds every day to make sure the property stays looking amazing. We will definitely pass along your kind words to them.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you at Harvest Inn again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    209
    84
    52
    32
See reviews for
86
613
21
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thorofare, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Wow! What a pleasant surprise! We found this hotel on hotel.com at the last minute so glad we did! The grounds were beautifully maintained, the staff super friendly, HUGE bathrooms, clean spacious and comfortable rooms. The free breakfast was AWESOME way better than your typical "freebie" and you could eat in indoors or out. Loved individual patios/decks or terraces depending on type of room you picked. There were many different options ALL looked great! Next time I think I'll pick one backed up to the vineyard even though I was very content with mine. Within driving distance of MANY wineries and shopping. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear teri M,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We take pride of all of the amenities and comforts we offer. From our beautifully landscaped gardens, our lavishly upgraded rooms, complimentary wine country breakfast, we do our best to provide our guests with the ultimate Napa Valley experience.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next trip to Napa Valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The pros:
-Spacious guestrooms. We just got a standard room, and didn't feel at all jealous of the expensive vineyard rooms we passed by, which didn't seem much different aside from the hot tubs.
-HUGE bathtub with incredible water pressure to fill fast. Gorgeous luxury bathroom.
-Very friendly staff. Even gave us a quality wine box for shipping! Thanks!
-Wonderful breakfast buffet with a good assortment. You can sit outside right in front of the vineyard and mountains...just gorgeous.
-Lovely grounds and landscaping. Nice for strolling around, taking photos.
-Very large in ground hot tub and a clean swimming pool.
-The area is perfect for traveling around Napa Valley, and the town of St. Helena is very cute.

The cons:
-The bed was quite uncomfortable with a sagging mattress.
-Carpet is outdated.
-Mini fridge is way outdated, but nice to have for storing our own beverages.
-Outside of rooms/buildings/doors give an odd feel, almost like a discount motel.
If the above was updated, it would give the place a more luxurious atmosphere.

Not a pro or a con, but if looking for romance, just note that there seem to be a lot of families that stay here. There is a separate adult pool that helps. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. There are certainly much more luxurious places to stay in the area, but for the more affordable price, this was a nice inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Jo K,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts of your recent stay with is. We love hearing that you enjoyed your room and our staff. They strive to make sure each guest has an experience that is memorable and makes them want to return.

We love hearing that the recent renovations of our rooms, from the large soaking tubs, to the new décor in the wine country kitchen did not go unnoticed also.

Being in the middle of wine country, we cater to a variety of guests. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was our first time to stay at the Harvest Inn and we loved it. It was like a hideaway hotel in the middle of a vineyard, yet was in a great, convenient location. It would take only 5-15 minutes to get to the vineyards, restaurants, etc. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. We stayed in a vineyard room, the beds. linens, and towels were very nice. Breakfast was a delicious spread of fresh fruit, breads, quiche, and stuffed croissants. The staff was very helpful, informative, and friendly. It is a little on the pricey side, but I highly recommend the Harvest Inn to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Amy W,

We are so happy to hear that your first (of hopefully many) stays with us at the Harvest Inn was very nice.

Our convenient location to many wineries and restaurants, yet the privacy of being tucked away in the vineyards, is something we are very happy that we offer. The staff loves to assist in giving suggestions and helping with itineraries. Our home made quiche is truly a decadent splurge and we are happy to share the recipe!

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

The location of this resort is very convenient to multiple vineyards, shops, and restaurants.However, it is not within walking distance of anything. But less than a five minute drive are grocery stores, Dean and Deluca, and other shops. Our room was very quiet and very spacious. The landscaping and layout of the walk ways made for very serene moments to reflect and relax. The breakfast is standard grab and go breads, cold cereal, and fruit. Perfect location if you plan to explore multiple vineyards.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Aissa M,

Thank you for your kind review. We love hearing from our guests about their stay!

Being directly on Highway 29, Harvest Inn is a wonderful central location to many restaurants and wineries. Shopping is close by whether you want boutique shops or delicacies from local and gourmet shops.

The 8 acres of grounds and the hidden benches tucked into the flowers surely provide a peaceful and relaxing setting.

We thank you again, and look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was our first trip to the Harvest Inn and we will not consider any other place from now on.
We have stayed at Auberge du Soleil and other wonderful hotels in the Napa area; however, the Harvest Inn gives you the greatest sense of hideaway. The lands are most beautifully maintained and quite dreamy. Waking up to the vineyard right outside our room, star watching late at night in utter quietness was magical.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JFenton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear JFenton1,

We are so touched that your first stay with us was so magical.

Although we are so centrally located to many restaurants and wineries, the sense of privacy and hideaway are plentiful The beautiful sunsets and stargazing from the private patios facing the western hills are a special treat.

We thank you for taking the time to make this review and look forward to welcoming you back to Harvest Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

After reading different reviews, I was hesitant about this place. However, I am so glad I decided to make my own opinion. We stayed in the vineyard room and it was amazing! The room had an amazing view and was huge. This place is perfect for getting the true Napa experience. The breakfast was a nice spread and a great way to start the morning. I highly recommend this place. The only thing is that it's a little pricey but SO worth it!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
3.1 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 8 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 stars 952 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 922 reviews
2.7 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 1 in Rutherford
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 stars 1,220 reviews
7.6 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,175 reviews
16.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer

Property: Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Address: 1 Main Street, St. Helena, CA 94574-2155
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer is an idyllic resort designed to celebrate the vineyard way of life, with 78 luxurious accommodations nestled into five uniquely crafted neighborhoods, two secluded swimming pools, and a plush spa with indoor and outdoor facilities. Surrounded by the lush landscaping of expansive clipped lawns and serene shaded groves, partially forested by towering redwoods, Harvest Inn also is home to gardens of agricultural botanicals. Although well situated in proximity to the hub of activity in historic St Helena, Harvest Inn offers picturesque privacy and a "let's get lost" feeling of total relaxation. In classic California fashion, the architecture and land are in harmony, making Harvest Inn an integral part of the terrain. The distinctive mixing of heritage and modern style seen in the richly stained wood, leaded glass panels, and exterior stone as well as Tudor stucco with timber framing adds up to a storybook setting that is both rustic and elegant. As comfortable as it is beautiful, Harvest Inn welcomes both families and friends with its charming warmth and friendly ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvest Hotel St. Helena
Harvest Inn Napa
Harvest St Helena
Harvest Inn By Charlie Palmer St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing