We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Delightful location with wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Ozark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful location with wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the Harvest for 4 days and wished that we had spent the entire week there on our Napa Valley visit. Beautiful grounds, secluded feel among the grove of trees. Lovely breakfast area looking out on vineyards. Marvelous!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlenDonnach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear GlenDonnach,

What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience.

Our grounds staff works very hard to ensure the property stays looking lovely, and will be very appreciative to hear you enjoyed.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    205
    82
    51
    31
See reviews for
80
606
21
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Klamath, Oregon
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The inn has a perfumed "wood smoke" smell from a bottle of oil with sticks. It permeated all of our clothes and suitcases. We had to send evening clothes to cleaners, wash everything even though clean and air out our suitcases outside. The beds were comfortable and rest was a good experience. The neighbor room also put the perfume oil bottle outside. Just overwhelming! .There is construction on the main road for a new pipe and new lane which makes it noisy and impossible to get out in the traffic. It is also very dark to find the entrance at night....we had a hard time and had to turn around. Breakfast was nice and service staff went out of their way. The front desk was abrupt and failed to get our dinner reservation made. We arrived and the restaurant did not have us written down. Of course they could have failed to enter it as well.

Room Tip: Stay away from highway. Ask to have the oil removed and room aired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pacha42025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear pacha42025,

We love to hear form our guests about their stay, even when there are, as in your case, aspects of your stay that were not to your liking. We apologize that you found our particular choice of scented oil diffusers during your stay overwhelming. We are addressing this selection with our person in charge of ordering them. Normally they have a delicate scent of lavender, which typically is relaxing, so we are sorry that your experience was different.

We are pleased to hear however that you enjoyed the Wine Country Kitchen and its staff. They pride themselves on service and attention to detail.

Please keep us in mind on your next visit to St. Helena. When booking, please let the reservationist know of your preference for no scents in the room as we are happy to make the accommodation in advance. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Harvest Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our spacious vineyard view room with fireplace was perfect. The edge of the vineyard was only a few feet from our patio! We could sit on our private patio with a glass of wine admiring the beauty of the vineyard with the mountains in the distance. The room was nicely appointed and the bathroom modern and large. The grounds were spectacular-we spent some of our time strolling through the resort admiring the flora and the architecturally appealing old-world style buildings adorned with very unique brickwork. The lobby and the wine bar area were also stunning with much carved woodwork. The extensive breakfast was excellent and was served in a nice dining room with outdoor terrace overlooking the vineyard. The exercise room was adequate. The 2 swimming pools looked very appealing, but the weather was too cool to use them during our stay. All of the staff were friendly, efficient, and helpful.
We stayed at Meadowood last year and enjoyed Meadowood, but we actually preferred our stay at Harvest Inn over Meadowood, and at half the price of Meadowood!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the vineyard view room with fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esarn304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear esarn304,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. All of our staff take great pride in providing the best possible experience for our guests.

The gardeners are very meticulous when it comes to maintaining the flora that helps to provide that romantic and secluded feel of our Inn. It is very nice when a guest not only notices, but takes the time to appreciate their hard work.

We appreciate that you found the pools appealing, and perhaps on your next visit the weather will be warm enough to fully enjoy them.

Thank you again for such a lovely review, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston SC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

What a charming Inn! The romantic comfort of the "suite" coupled with the sweet little "extra's" (not to mention the breath-taking grounds) all made memories I shall never forget. The staff was most friendly, accommodating, professional and efficient. My Very Special Friend and I loved the wine and cheese tasting in the charming courtyard and next to the roaring fireplace.....what an ideal location in the heart of many wonderful vineyards! The delicious breakfast on the terrace with such a fabulous vista of the vineyards was the perfect way to begin the day. Harvest Inn, you have my vote. You are a "Five Star" in my opinion and more importantly, I if should ever return to St. Helena, I will definitely book reservations with you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzannCharlestonSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear SuzannCharlestonSC,

What wonderful comments! Thank you so very much!

We love hearing from our guests that they appreciate our amenities. From the delicious Wine Country breakfast, to our fireplace suites, we strive to make every guests’ stay memorable. We are happy to hear that you and your Very Special Friend enjoyed yourselves.

Please make sure that the next time you visit, you contact our concierge to reserve visits at some of the unique and beautiful wineries nearby.

Thank you again for your wonderful comments and we look forward to seeing you at Harvest Inn again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Harvest! Great service and great food each morning for breakfast. We stayed in a vineyard view room near the end of the property, which had beautiful views, but we were close to a side street which was noisy with all of the street construction going on. We would stay a little closer to the middle next time, and we would come back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tikiguy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear tikiguy123,

Thank you for your great comments! We are very glad that you had a nice stay with us, but our Wine Country Breakfast. Our kitchen staff will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hand made quiches, the extensive selection of pastries, and the fresh brewed coffee.

Although we understand the town and state road repair work may have caused some unusual noise levels, we do pride ourselves on the quaint intimacy that our Inn provides. We are confident that on your next visit you will enjoy the same intimacy for yourself.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I joined our very good friends for a birthday celebration and they chose a package on line with Jet Blue. All of us looked at the pictures and loved them...hoping that is what we would find when we arrived. The property was perfect! I would recommend the Harvest Inn to anyone traveling to Napa Valley. The staff was very helpful, the rooms were lovely and the location perfect for wine tasting throughout the region. It would be a beautiful place for a wedding celebration...beautiful grounds. We had a complimentary breakfast every morning and is one of the best selections of breakfast goodies. If you are traveling to Napa you need to stay at the Harvest Inn.

Room Tip: Room 201 ... The best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krose57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear krose57,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are grateful that you not only chose to stay with us for your birthday celebration, but found the property to your satisfaction. We truly love to offer our guests the best possible experience, so it’s nice to hear when we succeed.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Harvest Inn soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Harvest Inn in September 2012 (Harvest time!). Getting there was easy, the staff was very helpful and polite. Our Spa Vineyard View room was huge and nicely decorated. It was clean and the king bed was extremely comfortable. We sat in our private hot tub on our private patio and sipped our complimentary wine that first night and it was wonderful! There was a wine tasting both nights that we were there and they had cheese, crackers, and fruit to go with it. There was a wedding Saturday night and it looked like a very elegant event. With such a large crowd, I was expecting some noise that evening but we weren't disturbed at all. The grounds are beautiful (love the koi). We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rollers_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear rollers_74,

Thank you so very much for your most gracious comments about your recent experience with us. Fall in the Napa Valley is one of the most beautiful times to be here with the vines heavy with ripe grapes, colorful changing leaves, and the wineries in full harvest swing.

We are incredibly happy that you not only chose to stay with us but had such a wonderful time.

Please think of us again when you are planning your next visit to the Napa Valley! We would love to welcome you back to the Harvest Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
3.1 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 8 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 stars 937 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 907 reviews
2.7 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 1 in Rutherford
4.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 stars 1,202 reviews
16.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,594 reviews
7.6 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer

Property: Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Address: 1 Main Street, St. Helena, CA 94574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer is an idyllic resort designed to celebrate the vineyard way of life, with 78 luxurious accommodations nestled into five uniquely crafted neighborhoods, two secluded swimming pools, and a plush spa with indoor and outdoor facilities. Surrounded by the lush landscaping of expansive clipped lawns and serene shaded groves, partially forested by towering redwoods, Harvest Inn also is home to gardens of agricultural botanicals. Although well situated in proximity to the hub of activity in historic St Helena, Harvest Inn offers picturesque privacy and a "let's get lost" feeling of total relaxation. In classic California fashion, the architecture and land are in harmony, making Harvest Inn an integral part of the terrain. The distinctive mixing of heritage and modern style seen in the richly stained wood, leaded glass panels, and exterior stone as well as Tudor stucco with timber framing adds up to a storybook setting that is both rustic and elegant. As comfortable as it is beautiful, Harvest Inn welcomes both families and friends with its charming warmth and friendly ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvest Hotel St. Helena
Harvest Inn Napa
Harvest St Helena
Harvest Inn By Charlie Palmer St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing