We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great experience at Harvest Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great experience at Harvest Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our spacious vineyard view room with fireplace was perfect. The edge of the vineyard was only a few feet from our patio! We could sit on our private patio with a glass of wine admiring the beauty of the vineyard with the mountains in the distance. The room was nicely appointed and the bathroom modern and large. The grounds were spectacular-we spent some of our time strolling through the resort admiring the flora and the architecturally appealing old-world style buildings adorned with very unique brickwork. The lobby and the wine bar area were also stunning with much carved woodwork. The extensive breakfast was excellent and was served in a nice dining room with outdoor terrace overlooking the vineyard. The exercise room was adequate. The 2 swimming pools looked very appealing, but the weather was too cool to use them during our stay. All of the staff were friendly, efficient, and helpful.
We stayed at Meadowood last year and enjoyed Meadowood, but we actually preferred our stay at Harvest Inn over Meadowood, and at half the price of Meadowood!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the vineyard view room with fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esarn304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear esarn304,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. All of our staff take great pride in providing the best possible experience for our guests.

The gardeners are very meticulous when it comes to maintaining the flora that helps to provide that romantic and secluded feel of our Inn. It is very nice when a guest not only notices, but takes the time to appreciate their hard work.

We appreciate that you found the pools appealing, and perhaps on your next visit the weather will be warm enough to fully enjoy them.

Thank you again for such a lovely review, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    210
    84
    52
    32
See reviews for
88
621
22
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston SC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

What a charming Inn! The romantic comfort of the "suite" coupled with the sweet little "extra's" (not to mention the breath-taking grounds) all made memories I shall never forget. The staff was most friendly, accommodating, professional and efficient. My Very Special Friend and I loved the wine and cheese tasting in the charming courtyard and next to the roaring fireplace.....what an ideal location in the heart of many wonderful vineyards! The delicious breakfast on the terrace with such a fabulous vista of the vineyards was the perfect way to begin the day. Harvest Inn, you have my vote. You are a "Five Star" in my opinion and more importantly, I if should ever return to St. Helena, I will definitely book reservations with you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzannCharlestonSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear SuzannCharlestonSC,

What wonderful comments! Thank you so very much!

We love hearing from our guests that they appreciate our amenities. From the delicious Wine Country breakfast, to our fireplace suites, we strive to make every guests’ stay memorable. We are happy to hear that you and your Very Special Friend enjoyed yourselves.

Please make sure that the next time you visit, you contact our concierge to reserve visits at some of the unique and beautiful wineries nearby.

Thank you again for your wonderful comments and we look forward to seeing you at Harvest Inn again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Harvest! Great service and great food each morning for breakfast. We stayed in a vineyard view room near the end of the property, which had beautiful views, but we were close to a side street which was noisy with all of the street construction going on. We would stay a little closer to the middle next time, and we would come back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tikiguy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear tikiguy123,

Thank you for your great comments! We are very glad that you had a nice stay with us, but our Wine Country Breakfast. Our kitchen staff will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hand made quiches, the extensive selection of pastries, and the fresh brewed coffee.

Although we understand the town and state road repair work may have caused some unusual noise levels, we do pride ourselves on the quaint intimacy that our Inn provides. We are confident that on your next visit you will enjoy the same intimacy for yourself.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I joined our very good friends for a birthday celebration and they chose a package on line with Jet Blue. All of us looked at the pictures and loved them...hoping that is what we would find when we arrived. The property was perfect! I would recommend the Harvest Inn to anyone traveling to Napa Valley. The staff was very helpful, the rooms were lovely and the location perfect for wine tasting throughout the region. It would be a beautiful place for a wedding celebration...beautiful grounds. We had a complimentary breakfast every morning and is one of the best selections of breakfast goodies. If you are traveling to Napa you need to stay at the Harvest Inn.

Room Tip: Room 201 ... The best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krose57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear krose57,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are grateful that you not only chose to stay with us for your birthday celebration, but found the property to your satisfaction. We truly love to offer our guests the best possible experience, so it’s nice to hear when we succeed.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Harvest Inn soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Harvest Inn in September 2012 (Harvest time!). Getting there was easy, the staff was very helpful and polite. Our Spa Vineyard View room was huge and nicely decorated. It was clean and the king bed was extremely comfortable. We sat in our private hot tub on our private patio and sipped our complimentary wine that first night and it was wonderful! There was a wine tasting both nights that we were there and they had cheese, crackers, and fruit to go with it. There was a wedding Saturday night and it looked like a very elegant event. With such a large crowd, I was expecting some noise that evening but we weren't disturbed at all. The grounds are beautiful (love the koi). We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rollers_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear rollers_74,

Thank you so very much for your most gracious comments about your recent experience with us. Fall in the Napa Valley is one of the most beautiful times to be here with the vines heavy with ripe grapes, colorful changing leaves, and the wineries in full harvest swing.

We are incredibly happy that you not only chose to stay with us but had such a wonderful time.

Please think of us again when you are planning your next visit to the Napa Valley! We would love to welcome you back to the Harvest Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Harvest Inn for our 5 year wedding anniversary and we had an amazing time! The staff made our stay so comfortable and had a surprise waiting for us in our room when we checked in. I would tell anyone looking for a place to stay in Napa Valley to stay at Harvest Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear NicoleS88,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for such a wonderful occasion! We are delighted that you had an amazing time, and that our little “surprise” was waiting for you in your room.

We hope to see you again soon, perhaps for another anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We just stayed two nights at Harvest Inn and we were very impressed. The staff was wonderful, helpful and friendly. The entire place inside and out is very well maintained. The grounds were beyond beautiful, with lovely flowers and Redwood trees. We have stayed in many such Inns and this is one of the very best. The bed was comfy, the bathroom was amazing, the shower wonderful. There were no cobwebs on the outside of any of the buildings and not a speck if dust on any surface inside...not on the high up lighting or any of the wood trim anywhere, most unusual... We truly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend Harvest Inn to anyone looking for a peaceful, pleasant, and great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtotrvl_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear luvtotrvl_1,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel from your recent stay. Your comments and praise are definitely appreciated by all of the staff and management! We are happy to hear that your bed was comfortable, and that you enjoyed our new showers.

Having such a lush property full of trees and flowers can certainly be challenging to keep up, cobweb free, and clean, so are thrilled that the efforts of the team here are noticed.

Harvest Inn looks forward to seeing you back soon, and thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
3.1 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 8 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 stars 957 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 932 reviews
2.7 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 1 in Rutherford
4.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 stars 1,226 reviews
8.0 mi away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#3 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
7.6 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer

Property: Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Address: 1 Main Street, St. Helena, CA 94574-2155
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer is an idyllic resort designed to celebrate the vineyard way of life, with 78 luxurious accommodations nestled into five uniquely crafted neighborhoods, two secluded swimming pools, and a plush spa with indoor and outdoor facilities. Surrounded by the lush landscaping of expansive clipped lawns and serene shaded groves, partially forested by towering redwoods, Harvest Inn also is home to gardens of agricultural botanicals. Although well situated in proximity to the hub of activity in historic St Helena, Harvest Inn offers picturesque privacy and a "let's get lost" feeling of total relaxation. In classic California fashion, the architecture and land are in harmony, making Harvest Inn an integral part of the terrain. The distinctive mixing of heritage and modern style seen in the richly stained wood, leaded glass panels, and exterior stone as well as Tudor stucco with timber framing adds up to a storybook setting that is both rustic and elegant. As comfortable as it is beautiful, Harvest Inn welcomes both families and friends with its charming warmth and friendly ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvest Hotel St. Helena
Harvest Inn Napa
Harvest St Helena
Harvest Inn By Charlie Palmer St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing