We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing grounds, wonderful beds, complete relaxation!! Great value!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing grounds, wonderful beds, complete relaxation!! Great value!!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed here for 2 days at the end of our trip to San Francisco. The moment we pulled into the drive our breathing changed. The grounds were plush and private. The meandering paths and sounds of water put us right at ease. The rooms were clean, the beds were amazing, and the views were gorgeous. There is a coffee bar, with plenty of supplies and nice mugs. They even provide a mini fridge stocked with free water and juice. The bathroom was clean and a very nice size. 2 sinks, nice shower, a magnified light up make-up mirror for the ladies, and a jar of bath salts for a perfect end to the day. The breakfasts were included and offered a nice variety of fresh pastries, delicious fruits and wonderful juices. We stayed in the Manor, in one of the rooms with a balcony and a hot tub. Very private and lots of seating and amazing views of the vines. The beds were so soft and had great pillows and amazingly soft linens. Oh, and the fireplace in our room was a great touch. There is a leather couch and chair, and a coffee table in that area. Great place to put your feet up and enjoy a nice bottle of wine. There was also a small bottle of Chardonay in our room as a welcome gift. Be sure not to miss the Koi pond, It's lovely. They thought if every detail to making certain your stay relaxing and peaceful. I can not wait to return!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    227
    95
    59
    33
See reviews for
96
686
23
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Beautiful grounds welcome you to the property. The rooms are large and bathrooms are huge. Love the Aveda products provided in the rooms. Also received a small bottle of wine to welcome us to the room. The staff was very helpful with local recommendations of places to go. Each morning we would soak in the view overlooking the vineyards while enjoying breakfast. I definitely would return to the Harvest Inn during another visit to the Napa Valley.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank wittgrad22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, California
2 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We spent Sunday evening in a very lovely room which was immaculate. The staff at the Harvest Inn was by far the most professional and giving crew we have ever dealt with. Their continental breakfast was delicious. The grounds are beautiful and a great place to just take a stroll. All in all, the Harvest Inn is the best Inn we have ever stayed in. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place will instantly make you feel relaxed as you tour the lush grounds. For how old the place seems to look from the outside, the room we stayed in was updated with a comfortable king bed, large fireplace, LCD TV, and mini fridge The bathroom was also very large and spacious, with a large soaking tub (bath salts included), and open shower. The front staff was friendly and willing to make recommendations and reservations to nearby restaurants.

HOWEVER, they somehow double booked our room, and another guest was able to access and unlock our door. Luckily, we were resting in our and the other guest left in a hurry when he opened the door to find us in the room. When we mentioned this to the front desk, they were apologetic. Not sure how this could happen, but do yourself a favor and just make sure the front desk has not double booked the same room you are in if you don't want to be caught surprised during a romantic weekend!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anngel0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Anngel0107:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and our associates were able to recommend some great restaurants and wineries. You mentioned that you felt instantly relaxed on our lush grounds. I do hope that you were able to walk the grounds with our Landscape Director during his morning horticultural tours.
I do apologize that our turndown attendant surprised you when she entered your room. We do knock on the door to announce our arrival but I will discuss with our Housekeeping Director to ensure that we are following proper protocol.
We hope to see you again should you visit the Napa Valley in the future. Please contact me personally to make your reservation.
Best regards,
Debbie Greene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

More like an olde English village than hotel, Harvest Inn is comfortable inside and out. Located on the outskirts of St Helena, it is ideally located if winery visits are on your agenda! Looking forward to staying there again and again!

Room Tip: Ask for first floor accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmhitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We recently returned from three nights and four days at the Harvest Inn. From the desk staff to the housekeeping staff, we found everyone very helpful and genuinely friendly! The grounds are incredibly beautiful and the cottage-style accommodations are lovely and extremely comfortable. We toured the gardens with the head landscaper, Brandon. His enthusiasm and knowledge of horticulture was impressive! The delicious and varied breakfast each morning was the perfect start to our day. We enthusiastically recommend The Harvest Inn!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Harvest Inn is a great hotel in the heart of Napa Valley. The location is ideal for getting to many different wineries and restaurants in the region. I would describe this place as a cross between a B&B and hotel. They have several buildings,each with 4 or so rooms in them. My husband and I stayed in the "Fountain" area, closest to Highway 29. I had read other reviews commenting on noise, which there was some very slight road noise, but it did not bother us. The grounds of the facility are absolutely beautiful, with wonderful gardens and trees that making you feel very secluded. The room, itself was great, with very nice bedding (a must for me!), a spacious bath room. We had room with fire place which was perfect to take off the chillier evenings. Breakfast was included and a nice variety of fresh fruits, and pastries along with a daily quiche. The staff was very helpful during our short 2 night stay. They have thought of little things here, like including a flashlight in the room, which we used to walk to nearby restaurants. This was a "splurge" for us, but it was well worth it.

Room Tip: The fireplace upgrade really does have a lot of ambiance to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thekatmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
8.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
8.1 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 1 in Rutherford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
8.2 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
7.6 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer

Property: Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Address: 1 Main Street, St. Helena, CA 94574-2155
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Helena
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the #3 hotel in Northern California by Condé Nast Traveler's Readers Choice Awards 2016, Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer is an idyllic resort designed to celebrate the vineyard way of life, with 78 luxurious accommodations nestled into five uniquely crafted neighborhoods, two secluded swimming pools, and a plush spa with indoor and outdoor facilities. Surrounded by the lush landscaping of expansive clipped lawns and serene shaded groves, partially forested by towering redwoods, Harvest Inn also is home to gardens of agricultural botanicals. Although well situated in proximity to the hub of activity in historic St Helena, Harvest Inn offers picturesque privacy and a "let's get lost" feeling of total relaxation. In classic California fashion, the architecture and land are in harmony, making Harvest Inn an integral part of the terrain. The distinctive mixing of heritage and modern style seen in the richly stained wood, leaded glass panels, and exterior stone as well as Tudor stucco with timber framing adds up to a storybook setting that is both rustic and elegant. As comfortable as it is beautiful, Harvest Inn welcomes both families and friends with its charming warmth and friendly ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvest Hotel St. Helena
Harvest Inn Napa
Harvest St Helena
Harvest Inn By Charlie Palmer St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing