We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Respite in the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Respite in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Was very pleased with our one night stay at Harvest Inn. There are many positives about this Inn.
1) Location is great. At one end of Main St. in St. Helena there are many wineries, tasting rooms, shops and restaurants within walking distance. Always nice to not have to worry about a designated driver. The Inn is larger than I realized at first and is spread out on beautiful grounds. Lovely walking paths, fountains, trees and a vineyard at the back of the property with views of the mountians.
2) The lobby for check-in is warm and cozy. Check-in was efficient and if you stay on a Friday or Saturday night they have a free wine sampling and hors d'ouerves from 5:30-6:30pm. A great pre-dinner gathering place. The rooms are spread out over the grounds in 2 story buildings. We were on the 2nd floor overlooking the fountain area. Some rooms have wood burning fireplaces, we had a gas fireplace which was still very nice. The bathroom was HUGE, great shower and soaker tub. Turn down service at night was nice to get a refill on water bottles. The mini-fridge in the room was convenient as was the complimentary bottle of sparkling water, juice and 2 water bottles.
3) Let's talk about breakfast! YUM! The country kitchen serves a wonderful continental breakfast. I highly advise you to sample as many pastries as you can....they come from the local bakery (Model) and are AMAZING. The best thing I had the was english muffin, a texture and taste like I've never had before. Wish I'd had 2! They also have fruits, oatmeal, a daily fritatta and oatmeal. Coffee, juice and I think there was someone to make lattes etc. if you wanted.
Would defnitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suz259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    209
    84
    52
    32
See reviews for
85
612
21
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just got back from a 3 night stay during the Thanksgiving holiday. The location is excellent as the hotel is located in St. Helena - the middle between Napa and Calistoga. This hotel is absolutely beautiful. Nicely landscaped garden and the architecture is sort of European country charm. The main lobby has a great hall with a huge fireplace which is great for relaxing for a drink or two by the fire at the end of the day. They have a small snack reception and during our stay a wine sampling on Saturday night. There are two pool+hot tub areas. I used hot tub one night and it's really quiet and peaceful while gazing into the sky. Complimentary breakfast every morning with the dining hall facing the vineyard and mountains..What a view! Breakfast is pretty good. It includes muffins, pastries, cereals, variety of juices, tea and coffee, fresh fruits. Hot breakfast includes hard boiled egg, salami, quiche. The food is made in house and not prebought from supermarket. It's very delicious.

I was originally concerned about the room location and street noise having read some reviews from here. But I had problem whatsoever with street noise. We got a room in the fountain area and even though the back of the room is facing the street it's not right next to street. There's a drive way and trees between it. Also, the part of the room that 's close to the street is the back of the bathroom so no noise would come thru especially when you close the bathroom door while sleeping at night. One caveat thought, we got the first floor room and when the room above us checked out in the morning, I heard quite a noise from their packing and dragging luggage around. if you can, request the room on the upper floor to avoid this problem.

I first decided between Andaz in Napa vs Harvest Inn. Andaz has a slightly lower rate at the time but would have also offered a different experience. Harvest Inn is more for a country relaxation but give you and easy access to towns as well.

Overall, this is an upscale place to stay with a lot of attention to details and great services. . Is it as luxury as Bardessono, Northblock and Villagio, probably not. But the vineyard right on the premise, a very beautiful garden and trees, breakfast with mountain view makes it a better overall package. Depends on the rate you pay, I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willoftheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for four nights over Thanksgiving. The grounds have to be seen to be fully appreciated. The Inn is divided into about four different areas connected with a series of gardens, fountains and brick work. The entire property backs onto a vineyard. There are several heated pools with hot tubs, fitness studios and two breakfast rooms. The breakfast was wonderful with huge pastries, muffins and breads plus a hot quiche, oatmeal, cereal and fruit. You may have breakfast brought to your room for $5. The breakfast area was only steps away from our room so we scampered over for a cup of coffee and a newspaper to enjoy in our room.
We enjoyed the wine tasting on Saturday when Cliff winery was featured with some glorious local cheeses. The location was perfect for wine tasting, hiking in nearby Bothe State Park and for access to some of the best restaurants in Napa Valley. By the way, I booked a good deal for this hotel on Expedia for less than $275 per night. The staff was helpful and upgraded us to a suite. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rose area. It was quiet with a huge modern bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trixy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Perfect location central to the wineries and great restaurants. The grounds are charming, nestled in the trees, brick walkways, you feel like you're in the secret garden. The breakfast was perfect with pastries, cheeses, quiche, etc with a patio with a view of the vines. I agree with another reviewer that it feels older. They have done a great job with updating many features, flat screen TVs, brand new bath room with modern amenities, bathrobes, iphone docking stations, etc, but the general construction of the building feels older and you can hear voices in the near by rooms. Our room was a suite with a living area, but no fireplace (bummer) and some of the ceilings were low becuase of the dormers (my husband is 6'2). If you are tall, ask for a first floor room. That said, I recommend it and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was a second floor suite across from the breakfast spot. Because of the dormers, some of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank live4wknds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I chose the Harvest Inn due to the close proximity to all the wineries and restaurants we had planned to visit for our first trip to wine country. The great reviews that we read before booking made our choice an easy one. The Harvest Inn grounds were beautiful and so well kept, and the view of the winery during breakfast just made our experience that much more enjoyable. Reception is at the center of the grounds with a huge fireplace and cozy space for enjoying a drink either before or after dinner. Check in/out was a breeze and the staff was very helpful when we shipped our wine back home to NY. The bartender, Cheryl, was very friendly and informative about the area. She made a great recommendation for a boutique winery, Fleury, which we visited on our way back to the airport. Her recommendation did not disappoint, as this was one of our best experiences at a winery.

The rooms were clean and spacious, but cozy with a nice fireplace and probably the most comfortable pillows we have ever slept on. The bathroom was also quite large with both a shower and huge tub, Aveda products, and plush robes.

Breakfast is served daily at the Wine Country Kitchen which looks out onto the vineyards. There was a nice variety of coffees and teas, hot and cold cereals, quiche, pastries and breads.

The hotel is about a mile from St. Helena center of town, which made for a nice walk to and from dinner or an early morning run :)

Would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend to anyone visiting wine country.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alyssa511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Harvest Inn is quite simply perfect! We stayed here for 2 nights last weekend and we always looked forward to coming back to our room in the evenings. The landscape, grounds, front reception are wonderful. There are so many little incidentials too. Umbrellas & chocolates everywhere. It rained the whole time we were there so we used the umbrellas constantly. The view from our room was of the hot tub and pool. I can't tell you how inviting that hot tub looked, unfortunately we did not bring suits, but next time!!!! Wine and cheese in the evening was bountiful, the bar was inviting, and the breakfast was very nicely done. Our room was beautiful and the fireplace was as big as our car. Very romantic setting especially with a surprised a chilled bottle of champagne waiting for us.

If you are staying in St. Helena there is nowhere else to check into but The Harvest Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACALIFNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Recently returned from 3 days at the Harvest Inn and had an absolutely fantastic stay. Having read several reviews, we selected a Vineyard View room and were upgraded to a suite. Huge space, fantastic amenities and what a view! After a long day of wine tasting, it was great to light the fire, have yet another glass of wine and take in the fantastic views of the vineyard. The breakfast is wonderful - much more extensive than the typical breakfast fare. Staff was so helpfu, shipped wine back fro us - Lisa, the concierge made us dinner reservations and recommended a great wine tour company. Loved the location - St. Helena is a charming town and there are so many fantastic wineries in walking distance. Will absolutely be back and recommend the hotel to friends!

Room Tip: Vineyard view rooms are fantastic if you can afford. Avoid rooms closest to the street - they'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
3.1 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 8 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 stars 949 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 919 reviews
2.7 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 1 in Rutherford
4.5 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 stars 1,217 reviews
7.6 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,172 reviews
16.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer

Property: Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Address: 1 Main Street, St. Helena, CA 94574-2155
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer is an idyllic resort designed to celebrate the vineyard way of life, with 78 luxurious accommodations nestled into five uniquely crafted neighborhoods, two secluded swimming pools, and a plush spa with indoor and outdoor facilities. Surrounded by the lush landscaping of expansive clipped lawns and serene shaded groves, partially forested by towering redwoods, Harvest Inn also is home to gardens of agricultural botanicals. Although well situated in proximity to the hub of activity in historic St Helena, Harvest Inn offers picturesque privacy and a "let's get lost" feeling of total relaxation. In classic California fashion, the architecture and land are in harmony, making Harvest Inn an integral part of the terrain. The distinctive mixing of heritage and modern style seen in the richly stained wood, leaded glass panels, and exterior stone as well as Tudor stucco with timber framing adds up to a storybook setting that is both rustic and elegant. As comfortable as it is beautiful, Harvest Inn welcomes both families and friends with its charming warmth and friendly ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvest Hotel St. Helena
Harvest Inn Napa
Harvest St Helena
Harvest Inn By Charlie Palmer St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing