We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I recently stayed at the Harvest Inn for a weekend away with girlfriends. We stayed for three nights and I will never stay there again. It was a huge disappointment and way too expensive for what it was. The rooms and facilities were very dated and not well maintained. There were disgusting stains on the floor in the bathroom. The closest was so small and had some odd hump- that I could not hang my dresses (which were all knee length.) The staff was incredibly rude and unaccommodating. Here are a few examples of our interactions with the staff:
(1) Prior to our arrival, I noticed that the confirmation that the hotel had sent had the wrong rate for one of the two rooms that we booked. The difference per room was only $15 per night, but I wanted to correct the error. I proceeded to have a series of phone and email conversations with hotel staff to correct the error during which they treated me with incredible rudeness. At first, staff told me that the lower rate was an error and that the higher rate would apply to both rooms. Then, after I balked, she insisted that I provide documentation of the lower rate. Finally, after multiple exchanges and after I forwarded back to them the emails that they had sent to me with the lower rate, they honored the agreed upon rate. I was so shocked that a hotel would harass a guest so much for a $15 rate difference when we were paying over $400 per night for the rooms.
(2) There were no parking spots one afternoon when we arrived at the hotel to change quickly before our dinner reservation. The front desk staff at first told us that we could leave the keys and they would valet the car for us. Then, as we were doing this, the front desk manager yelled at us and told us that we could not park there and they could not accept our keys. He insisted that we would have to find an available spot. We were paying for two rooms and had one car. There should have been a spot for us. In any event, after much circling and waiting, we finally found a spot and then were screamed at by a valet because parking was for hotel guests only. We had to show him our keys to get him to relent.
(3) One night when we returned to the hotel from dinner, the driveway to the hotel was blocked by a giant bus. We had to back up and wait half an hour until they managed to maneuver the bus out of the hotel. The valet brought us a bottle of wine and snacks to apologize, but it was clear that it came from his pocket.
(4) On one of the nights there was supposed to be a complementary wine and cheese tasting. We arrive 5 minutes after the event was supposed to begin and were yelled at by the server that they no longer had any glasses. We suggested that he get more glasses and he grumbled and finally did. He then poured us the last of the bottle of wine for the evening, only enough for two glasses which we shared between the three of us. After this debacle, we wandered over to the cheese area to discover that there was no cheese remaining. We inquired whether they would be replenishing the supply and were told no.
(5) During breakfast, the weight staff was incredibly rude. Every interaction that I had with them was unpleasant. For example, I asked where the bathroom was and was yelled at. For example, I told them that the coffee thermos was empty and got yelled at. It was incredibly unpleasant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ta1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear TA1219:
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding your recent stay at the Harvest Inn. I would like the opportunity to discuss your comments with you in order to address these issues with our staff. These types of issues are disconcerting and I would like to address these immediately. It is always our intention to provide the very best in service and hospitality.

I do hope to hear from you at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely,
Debbie Greene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    227
    95
    59
    33
See reviews for
96
686
23
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Harvest Inn to celebrate a 30th wedding anniversary. It was a location and Inn that was on our "bucket list" as who knows what tomorrow brings! We found the Inn to be everything we had hoped for and more with beautiful gardens/walkways and an entire staff that was welcoming, polite, helpful and gracious. While there may be other places to stay in the St. Helena/Calistoga area, I could not recomend this Inn more than to say, if you want a truly quiet, romantic inn with people who truly care about how you feel and your accomadations, do not hesitate to stay at this Inn. We are hopeful that someday in the future we will be able to return to such a wonderful site.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money and treat yourself to the Vineyard room with a spectacular site of a vineyard ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgreene23, General Manager at Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Claire:
Thank you for choosing the Harvest Inn and taking the time to write your review. It is such an honor to be included in your Bucket List and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to the opportunity to see you again should your travels bring you back to the Napa Valley. We wish you all the best!
Sincerely,
Debbie Greene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The property was suggested to us from the Napa downtown tourist info center. They set up the reservation at a last minute rate, and we loved it so much we added an extra night's stay. Great location, service, breakfast, room with fireplace. We loved it and looking forward to another trip in the future !

Room Tip: You are able to have your included breakfast delivered to the room for a minor charge. It was fanta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Harvest Inn for a friends birthday celebration. I wish we went stayed somewhere else. The location was great and the grounds were nice but felt a bit dated (although, they were well kept - just the style of gardens was a bit 1980's....). Things that we weren't aware of when we booked that you should be aware of: breakfast is mediocre. It is a buffet style with the usual suspects (cereal, oatmeal, some fruit, yogurt, etc.). Nothing about the breakfast was special or particularly delicious - it just got the job done. If you were hungry, you could eat and your hunger would be satisfied. If you wanted something special (homemade granola, homemade yogurts or jam, etc., etc.) - go elsewhere. Same goes for the accommodation - if you want a clean bed and room - it is fine. If you want that added 'something' (i.e. unique bathroom products, extra fluffy towels or a steam shower, etc., etc.) - go elsewhere. My biggest gripe is that we paid an extortionant amount for our room - when I enquired (it was an ok room, but definitely NOT worth what we paid!) I was told that I had booked a 'package'. Fair enough - my mistake - be warned - DON'T BOOK THE PACKAGE. I also thought the whole hotel - rooms, grounds, etc. were very 80's and needed a make-over but was told that it had been recently refurbished. Not the worst place, but given the massive choice in the area - there are definitely better options.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayport, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Harvest Inn which was convienently located on Route 29 in the heart of St. Helena. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The room was spacious but the beds were very soft and have seen better days. Also the lighting was a bit dark in the room. The bathroom was clean, nice shower and large bathroom overall. Pools were ok, as was hot tub but one of the pools looked like it hadn't been cleaned that day. Breakfast was very good and plenty to choose from and views from the Country kitchen were wonderful. The Rose Garden looked like it was dying and some of the plantings were wilting and dying as well. Overall a nice place to stay but definitely overpriced for what we got.

Room Tip: If you can get to stay here at a reasonable rate its worth it. Rooms toward back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We only stayed at the Harvest Inn for one night, would have liked to stay longer. The room was well-sized and well-appointed. We were located very close to one of the two pools but the room was still quiet. We liked the half-bottle of wine and other refreshments in the room, a nice touch. The grounds are quite lovely, as are the views. We didn't get a chance to use either of the pools but they looked inviting. The location was good, we were able to walk in to St Helena.
Breakfast was fine, not amazing but fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoBackpacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

It was my friend's 40th birthday, so being the good friend I am, I booked us four nights at the Harvest Inn. When we arrived my heart melted. Check in was located in the quaintest cottage I have ever seen. As we walked to our room I felt like I was in a fairy tail. The cobblestone path wove in between the beautiful lush foliage and flowers. We had a room overlooking the vineyard, a huge stone fireplace & hot tub outside. Awaiting our arrival was a bottle of champaign and a box of handmade chocolates from the local chocolatier. Our deck opened to the vineyards. We were right on the edge of them and what a site they were.

We had the country breakfast each morning and it was good. The Day we arrived there was a complimentary wine & cheese tasting the wine flowed freely but there wasnt enough fruit & cheese. But we were still happy with our wine.

The only negative thing i can say is that I wasn't too impressed with my massage. Think i will skip the spa service next time

Our room was expensive per night, but totally worth it Overall a great experience and I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scuba_vixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
8.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
8.1 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 1 in Rutherford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
8.2 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
7.6 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer

Property: Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Address: 1 Main Street, St. Helena, CA 94574-2155
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Helena
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the #3 hotel in Northern California by Condé Nast Traveler's Readers Choice Awards 2016, Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer is an idyllic resort designed to celebrate the vineyard way of life, with 78 luxurious accommodations nestled into five uniquely crafted neighborhoods, two secluded swimming pools, and a plush spa with indoor and outdoor facilities. Surrounded by the lush landscaping of expansive clipped lawns and serene shaded groves, partially forested by towering redwoods, Harvest Inn also is home to gardens of agricultural botanicals. Although well situated in proximity to the hub of activity in historic St Helena, Harvest Inn offers picturesque privacy and a "let's get lost" feeling of total relaxation. In classic California fashion, the architecture and land are in harmony, making Harvest Inn an integral part of the terrain. The distinctive mixing of heritage and modern style seen in the richly stained wood, leaded glass panels, and exterior stone as well as Tudor stucco with timber framing adds up to a storybook setting that is both rustic and elegant. As comfortable as it is beautiful, Harvest Inn welcomes both families and friends with its charming warmth and friendly ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvest Hotel St. Helena
Harvest Inn Napa
Harvest St Helena
Harvest Inn By Charlie Palmer St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing