We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome bathtubs, excellent value”
Review of El Bonita Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Bonita Motel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I recommend The El Bonita for those who don't want to spend a fortune staying in Napa valley. It's a motel, but it's $300 a night cheaper than the nice hotels in town.

The room was very clean and spacious, with a patio out back. There was a mini-fridge, a coffee maker, wine glasses and a corkscrew.The best part was the bathtub. It was really deep - perfect for soaking - and there was a little bottle of bubble bath that was part of the complimentary toiletries.

Breakfast was fairly plain - coffee, pastries and juice. The wi-fi was awful, and very frustrating. The grounds were well kept, and the pool area was pleasant. Highway noise is an issue, as was construction behind the motel. Neither were enough of an issue compared to the price.

This is a good choice for those wanting who'd rather spend their money on gourmet food and wine or spa treatments instead of a fancy hotel room.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back building have less highway noise, as well as a patio or balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monarch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 306 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

El Bonita is a great little place just outside of St. Helena. It has a pool and small but clean rooms. We have stayed here several times and it has always been as expected, good. The only caveat, and it's a big one for me is that the wifi doesn't work reliably outside of the lobby area. Staff were not too concerned and don't seem to understand that for people like myself and my friend who I was traveling with, we need to be in touch and need our wifi. It's 2012 for gosh sakes! They said they had an IT guy but that the problem had been ongoing for several months. My solution? Get a new IT person. I would check before staying here if you need wifi as part of your business.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I just had my third stay at this motel, which is in a very expensive part of the world. The price is outstanding compared to other accommodation in the area. The staff are helpful and friendly, and it's an easy walk into St. Helena, which is a beautiful town. The accommodation is adequate, clean and the bathrooms were very nice for this price motel in this area. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

El Bonita may be the only resonably priced accomodation in St Helena. Our king bed room was off the main highway, plenty large and clean with a remodeled bathroom. There was an outside patio behind our room -- if you did not mind fighting off the mosquitos. The continental breakfast in the lobby was minimal...pastries, cereal, fruit. There is coffee in the room. We left some clothes hanging in the room and the staff mailed them to us the very next day. We would stay here again and save our money to spend on wine and food.

Room Tip: Get a room of the main highway. Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just outside of comfortable walking distance to downtown, no sidewalk available. Close to Farmstead Restaurant and V. Sattui winery. Nice, clean and spacious rooms. We would stay again. No coffee until 7:30.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrazyEye1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We loved the 1950's look of the motel. Our room, across from the pool, wasn't overly spacious but it was comfortable and large enough that we could walk around without bumping into each other. The bathroom was small but clean and updated. Our only complaint was with the street noise. The rooms near the pool are also close to Hwy 29 and although there's less traffic at night, the rumble of passing trucks woke us each time they drove by. Next time, we'll request a room further from the highway....in the Garden or Homestead buildings (although, if rooms in those buildings aren't available, we wouldn't hestiate to stay in one of the Poolside rooms again). The breakfast buffet (cereals, sweet pastries, coffee, juice) was limited but a welcome addition.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Temuskia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The El Bonita is a renovated 1941 motor lodge in the heart of St. Helena. The room was clean with a recently refurbished bath. This is not a resort hotel, but then it doesn't charge the outlandish prices of most other accommodation in Napa Valley. It was perfect for my needs of a place to sleep for a few nights without spending a fortune. The room contained a refrigerator and coffee maker. A very basic continental breakfast in the office was included. There is a nice pool area with outdoor hot tub and sauna room. All of this at well under $200/night and the perfect location for a few days of wine tastings at the local wineries.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helena hotels
0.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
3.0 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
0.7 mi away
Southbridge Napa Valley
Southbridge Napa Valley
#6 of 9 in St. Helena
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Wydown Hotel
Wydown Hotel
#5 of 9 in St. Helena
126 reviews
1.5 mi away
Las Alcobas, Napa Valley
Las Alcobas, Napa Valley
#3 of 9 in St. Helena
61 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn St Helena
Inn St Helena
#2 of 12 in St. Helena
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Bonita Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Bonita Motel

Address: 195 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574-2197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Price Range: $135 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Bonita Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
motel in Napa Valley,within walking distance to several wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Bonita Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Bonita Hotel St. Helena
El Bonita St Helena
El Bonita Motel St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing