We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Bonita has everything you need + saves > $ for wine!”
Review of El Bonita Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Bonita Motel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“El Bonita has everything you need + saves > $ for wine!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

For almost 20 years I have stayed in a variety of hotels in Calistoga. When I was quoted over $200 on a ho-hum hotel in Calistoga I went to Trip Advisor and found El Bonita in the neighboring town of St Helena. Phoned them and was quoted about half the price so was happy to take a chance. It's an old 1941 motor-hotel (as they were once called) that has all the charm of yesteryear with lovely and present day updates and comfort. We chose a more economical poolside (street side) room -- the windows are modern & insulated greatly reducing road noise. Plus it seems the Napa Valley is tucked in bed by 9 o'clock -- so don't judge check-in time road noise level by bed-time road noise -- it's totally different. There are windows that open on both sides of the room for cross ventilation, nice furnishings, lighting, microwave, Nespresso coffee maker, refrigerator and lovely updated bathroom with colorful stone floor in the shower. I was very pleased with our new discovery of the El Bonita and would definitely stay here again. We wanted for nothing, other than a more consistent wifi experience, which may have been a problem with their service provider. We ended up staying 3 nights -- finding the location very convenient and the cost savings went towards purchasing wonderful wine!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Refined-Bohemian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    146
    46
    11
    6
See reviews for
48
116
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 8, 2012

It was a treat to find a place at the last minute on a Monday that was nice and not $200 plus. We were able to enjoy the clean room with a great location and spend more money on other things like a nice meal at Brassica just a short walk away. We were in a room close to the road so traffic noise kept me from giving it 5 stars but there are less noisy and a bit more expensive rooms away from the road. The pool, spa and sauna are very pleasant and I could imagine coming back in winter or spring to enjoy an off season stay.

Room Tip: Cheaper rooms are poolside and therefore by the road, and there are quieter rooms behind the front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This was a great experience. This motel is small but very comfortable. Close to restaurants and shopping places. I will agree with other visitors, is simple yet very comfortable and luxurious. It was my first time to Saint Helena and my experience in this Motel was a good one for me, especially because I was with my Love.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paxton, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Shared the King George Suite with 2 other couples, and it went smoothly for us all. Walk to the pool. Stroll to Gott's. Friendly staff, although they were reluctant to give us an extra 1/2 hour to check out, citing they had to clean up, and then the room was not serviced while we sat around the pool for 45 minutes. But it would take more than this to make for a bad stay, when the rest of the staff and the quality coffee in the lobby was top notch. Lots of room choices for traveling parties of all sizes.

Room Tip: King George is large and quiet, allowing lots of room for at least 6 people. The rooms in the back a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentfield, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

El Bonita is a hotel which instantly sheds your stress off of you once you walk into one of their rooms. All rooms have small refrigerators and a microwave oven and the suites at poolside have whirlpool baths for geared for the romantic couple. The hotel is well enough off of Highway 29 providing you with a noise free vacation. For the business traveler and the person who just wants to see if the kids have written them they have complimentary access to their on sight computer.

Room Tip: For those who are looking at having a business retreat for the office the suites are perfect for a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Clean and comfortable is what you get here. Not five star, but nice location. The ppl staying here are always frendly, due to the laid back atmosphere. Breakfast is lackluster, but okay. I get a feeling that the place has been recently remodeled because everything seems really new-- granite shower stall, rainforest shower head. I stayed here a week and quite enjoyed it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank A-Silver-Sparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I was up wine tasting north end of Napa at Caymus and needed a place to stay. A bartender at Rutherford Grill recommended El Bonita Motel. It is June and most of the hotels in the Napa area are very expensive. I think El Bonita Motel is one of the best budget options in the area. I booked a room in the $150 range. (2 queen beds)

Napa and the hotels in the area are stupid expensive - and even in a bad economy there are no real great deals in the area. I mean why?? Who stays in a hotel when wine tasting?

The guy at the front desk was very friendly and helpful with questions about the area and breakfast. They have a continental breakfast - but I did not check that out - I wanted to go to town to get a real breakfast.

The location is key - it is right on Highway 29, and literally within 10 miles you have some of the best wine makers in Napa - Silver Oak, Rombauer, Duckhorn, Caymus, Whitehall, Cakebread, need I say more. The main town St. Helena is about a 5 mile drive - with places for breakfast, grocery store, a little night life and some restaurants.
What is great is you can get a good night sleep and in the morning get out and in 5-10 minute drive hit a number of great wineries.

Our room was clean - we stayed in a 2 Queen Homestead room. There is nothing fancy - but just a simple nice place to stay with a regular TV.

The hotel is also dog friendly - has a frig- microwave. The bathrooms were all granite - and had no problem with shower - water pressure was great.

We were in the back - and had a balcony - and virtually had no noise - had a quiet stay and the beds were just fine, not too hard or soft.

They offer free open wifi - which comes in handy. I will stay there again in the future when up in Napa wine tasting.

There is a pool and jacuzzi but really did not spend any time checking them out.

So for the 7 hours of sleep you need a night after wine tasting and going out to places for dinner - it was a great deal.

I would highly recommend it for solo - couples and group of friends and even families.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
0.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
3.0 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
1.0 mi away
Wydown Hotel
Wydown Hotel
#4 of 9 in St. Helena
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
506 reviews
16.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.7 mi away
Southbridge Napa Valley
Southbridge Napa Valley
#6 of 9 in St. Helena
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Bonita Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Bonita Motel

Property: El Bonita Motel
Address: 195 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574-2197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — El Bonita Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
motel in Napa Valley,within walking distance to several wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your El Bonita Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Bonita Hotel St. Helena
El Bonita St Helena
El Bonita Motel St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing