We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Bonita Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Bonita Motel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Clean and comfortable is what you get here. Not five star, but nice location. The ppl staying here are always frendly, due to the laid back atmosphere. Breakfast is lackluster, but okay. I get a feeling that the place has been recently remodeled because everything seems really new-- granite shower stall, rainforest shower head. I stayed here a week and quite enjoyed it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank A-Silver-Sparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    144
    45
    11
    6
See reviews for
48
110
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

I was up wine tasting north end of Napa at Caymus and needed a place to stay. A bartender at Rutherford Grill recommended El Bonita Motel. It is June and most of the hotels in the Napa area are very expensive. I think El Bonita Motel is one of the best budget options in the area. I booked a room in the $150 range. (2 queen beds)

Napa and the hotels in the area are stupid expensive - and even in a bad economy there are no real great deals in the area. I mean why?? Who stays in a hotel when wine tasting?

The guy at the front desk was very friendly and helpful with questions about the area and breakfast. They have a continental breakfast - but I did not check that out - I wanted to go to town to get a real breakfast.

The location is key - it is right on Highway 29, and literally within 10 miles you have some of the best wine makers in Napa - Silver Oak, Rombauer, Duckhorn, Caymus, Whitehall, Cakebread, need I say more. The main town St. Helena is about a 5 mile drive - with places for breakfast, grocery store, a little night life and some restaurants.
What is great is you can get a good night sleep and in the morning get out and in 5-10 minute drive hit a number of great wineries.

Our room was clean - we stayed in a 2 Queen Homestead room. There is nothing fancy - but just a simple nice place to stay with a regular TV.

The hotel is also dog friendly - has a frig- microwave. The bathrooms were all granite - and had no problem with shower - water pressure was great.

We were in the back - and had a balcony - and virtually had no noise - had a quiet stay and the beds were just fine, not too hard or soft.

They offer free open wifi - which comes in handy. I will stay there again in the future when up in Napa wine tasting.

There is a pool and jacuzzi but really did not spend any time checking them out.

So for the 7 hours of sleep you need a night after wine tasting and going out to places for dinner - it was a great deal.

I would highly recommend it for solo - couples and group of friends and even families.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a friend's wedding, and paid the outrageous $179 a night to sleep on an old, saggy mattress that left us unrested and disappointed. We had one of the "value" poolside rooms up front. The bathroom has been recently updated and looked very pleasing, but the functionality was terrible! There is not one single level surface in the bathroom or shower!! No counter, shelf, not even a flat ledge on the back of the toilet to set a makeup bag, razor or toothbrush. This made trying to get dressed up for a wedding so frustrating I wanted to check out before we even spent the night. My boyfriend desperately needed to iron his shirt after a week of traveling, and the miniature tabletop ironing board was half broken and made even this simple task an annoying ordeal. I am so unimpressed and disappointed to have spent so much of our hard-earned money on such a disappointing stay. Next time we'll camp in the car and spend the money on a few nice meals instead!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

With art deco styling and older looks this place was anything but a seedy old motel. Nice beds, LCD tv and quiet back building made it nice. Neighbors on one side smoking and loud on the other made me close the well secured sliding door opening to a friendly back yard. The grounds are fabulous and show pride although at breakfast, the clerk was more busy with the phone to talk with us. All in all a great find, thx to previous reviewers we beelined to them on a slow Monday.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miwok6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Lodging in the Napa wine country is expensive. The El Bonita Motel is a reasonably priced choice if you can overlook a few things. It is on Highway 29, but the road noise is usually minimal at night. Our room, on the second floor, was unexceptional, however it did have a nice balcony. The TV was as vintage as the hotel, they need to upgrade to flat screen TVs. Interestingly, the walls were devoid of any decor - it would seem apropos to hang some Napa-related scenery/art - even a few pieces would have livened things up. Breakfast was a disappointment. Cold cereal, a few pastries, some fruit, coffee and Sunny D (!?) - not even real OJ. I recommend you drive/walk the quarter mile or so south to Dean & Deluca and get some real coffee, croissants, cheeses, etc. to start your day - you'll be glad you did. Is this a destination lodging? Not really. Would we stay here again? Yes, as it is a good value for the area, and besides, you don't go to Napa to sit in your hotel room and watch Wheel of Fortune. It is absolutely convenient to all that the Napa area has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden or poolside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
174 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

This is a Motel that is situated by the two lane busy Main road. The rate integrity is not what they go by as the rate changed to a higher one upon check in after it was confirmed verbally by the reservationist.
The local building laws prevent any new construction and the El Bonita enjoys the demand caused by restriction with over priced motel rooms in demand. If you prefer the noise of the road, you can shut down the room unit A/C. If not you can have the "white noise" of the A/C unit. While the rooms are clean, the proximity of your window to the parking lot and the cars is annoyingly within close quarters and you realize that when you can hear the conversation of motel guests in their own parked cars.
This is a town that boasts some of the best restaurants in the state [and maybe in the country] and yet this Motel serves coffee that appallingly low in quality and taste, with a continental set up that is no better than the chain Motels disbursed around the country.For an additional $50 or higher a night there are several other small Hotels/Motels that I will look into when I come back for business. When I called at 6:30 AM to inquire about few things I was greeted with a sleepy, curt reservationist

Room Tip: Pick another choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giorgi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Recently took a class at the Culinary Institute of America. This motel was convenient and clean. The rate was great, the breakfast a disappointment.... but a nice bang for the buck.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loompa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
0.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
3.0 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wydown Hotel
Wydown Hotel
#4 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Southbridge Napa Valley
Southbridge Napa Valley
#6 of 9 in St. Helena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
7.8 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Bonita Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Bonita Motel

Property: El Bonita Motel
Address: 195 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574-2197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — El Bonita Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
motel in Napa Valley,within walking distance to several wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your El Bonita Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Bonita Hotel St. Helena
El Bonita St Helena
El Bonita Motel St. Helena, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing