We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for Dante - go to Back Room!”
Review of Raymond Vineyards

Raymond Vineyards
Book In Advance
More Info
$206.00*
and up
Napa Valley Wine Train with Gourmet Lunch, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Tours
More Info
$266.00*
and up
Napa Valley Wine Train from San Francisco: Gourmet Lunch, Wine Tasting and...
Ranked #11 of 116 things to do in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Ask for Dante - go to Back Room!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

What began as a too typical big winery tasting quickly changed as Dante, our host, learned more about our interests. He quietly ushered us to the Wine Club back room. This is a setting unlike any other and one that others talked about as we visited other locations. Dante is one of the best hosts we have met in all our visits. He sold us wine we didn't need but couldn't resist the charm accompanying the value of the wine.

Helpful?
1 Thank acoulter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    55
    19
    13
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not your parents winery”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We liked this winery mostly because it's different. The outdoor space has a great educational pathway and even a few animals for the kids to see and enjoy.
Inside, the theme is anything but ordinary or typical. It's modern and trendy and yuppie. So if you want something different and enjoy good wine, give this place a try.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ht4cae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice Wines, So So on visit”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Though we enjoyed their wines, the knowledge of the kid giving the tasting had somewhat to be desired, our guess is he was a new employee. Not a bad experience but with so many great wineries in the Napa area I prefer a more personal smaller atmosphere.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DLAS567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Raymond Winery”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This place is great from the moment you walk up. It has picture frames outside that you and your friends/family can take pictures in. The was is good and the tasting room people are nice. We had Bill that was knowledgeable about the wine and the property.

We used Elegant Wine Tours for the limo around the area. We had a great time. They were easy to communicate with prior to the event. They were early when they picked us up and very helpful. Geoff our driver was knowledgeable about Napa Valley/Somona. He knew right were we were going and was great to have along with us. They had an ipod hook up for the radio and there was champange and wine there waiting for us. The total included tax, tip and fuel and was a very fair price. I would def use them again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MisMelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Disappointing and uninformative”
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We toured this winery from the wine train. It was so disappointing. The girl that took us on a tour walked us through the vegetable garden and then took us to see chickens and goats and some creepy shrine to the owners dog. We were then hearded into their gift shop so we could order wine. No tour of the vineyard. No info on how the wine was made. It was such a huge let down the wine train should scratch them off of their list because it was too much money to be disappointed. We then went in to the ZD winery which was wonderful and informative. Even got to meet their wine maker and cellar master who answered questions for us. Don't go here.

Helpful?
5 Thank 6GRTKDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raymond Vineyards also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Raymond Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing