We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
The Culinary Institute of America at Greystone
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The world-famous CIA's classrooms are home to some of the nation's top chefs.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you enjoy great food this is worth a lunch visit. Sitting in the dining room watching the students was a highlight for us. Everyone extremely friendly and very informative. Our server was 2 weeks away from graduating and her knowledge of the dishes was fabulous. Definite repeat visit for us.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ridesinnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    74
    27
    10
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great non-wine related attraction!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

With my wife being pregnant, finding things to do in Napa (we planned and booked before we found out) that weren't related wine related was a bit of a challenge. Luckily there is a CIA campus in St. Helena.

We got there in time for the afternoon tour, which while mostly geared to prospective students, was informative. Our guide explained the history of Greystone and how it came to be a campus for the CIA. The tour is about 30-45 minutes in length. The restaurant here is also very good.

The Spice Island store is also a highlight and you receive 10% off items when you take the tour. Very good if you're looking for a few tools and gadgets for your kitchen.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank YEGTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
333 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Tremendous amount of fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Three of us booked two Video-lead classes held in the Spice Island Marketplace: the Wine & Cheese Pairing, and the Chocolate Tasting. For 20 minutes we sat with our headphones on, in front of a small selection of cheeses & 3 glasses of wine, being taught what makes a good pairing. For the next 20 minute class, we had the process of chocolate making explained, along with tasting samples. Together, the 2 classes cost only $25. We each learned so much!!! Can't wait to return for a more in-depth weekend class.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 5heartfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
297 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Fantastic Venue in St Helena Napa California”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Judges from around the world came together to Judge US wines for the International Wine & Spirits Competition in March 2013. The venue was the Culinary Institute at Greystone and it truly was amazing. The staff were so efficient, the chefs in training looked happy and busy with their tasks, we were served lunch two days in a row and both meals were exceptional. There is a culinary retail store and many varied food & wine classes through out the old Monastery. They understand the wine storage and temperature so it was a perfect venue to all the wines to be handled, poured and effectively executed for judging purposes. If I was to study to be a chef, this is where I would want to enroll with 100% certainty. I recommend a visit if you are in the area, it is a very interesting building with a rich history.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious Inventive and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had a great lunch at the CIA in Napa. Be sure to try their appetizer option that allows you to sample several things - and the dessert option that does the same. The appetizer offered 5 different tastes - we felt like we were on the Food Channel getting treated to wonderful new creations. For lunch I had the short rib with a red wine reduction and roasted vegetables, it was one of the best meals I've ever had. Our servers were very friendly and did a nice job explaining what our choices were and were happy to hear our feedback. For dessert one of the choices in the sampling was banana icecream - amazing! I would love to go back if I was in the area again. I definite MUST DO!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtrip67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Culinary Institute of America at Greystone also viewed

 

Been to The Culinary Institute of America at Greystone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing