We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“For $44, Can't Expect Any Better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge - Sacramento / 16th St.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge - Sacramento / 16th St.
Ranked #51 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“For $44, Can't Expect Any Better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

OK, so if you are paying $44 for a room, you can't expect a Hilton. This actually was better than I expected (I made an online reservation to get a better price). Carpet needed vacuuming, but the linens were clean, the furniture in good condition and there even was a mini-fridge and microwave. All the necessities were in place. Neighborhood isn't too bad--I felt safe walking to a store nearby for some groceries. A little hard to find given that it's on a one-way street, though. Nice man at the front desk helped direct me to a cafe with Wifi (hotel Wifi was down). Was approached by a shady individual as I left but this happens anywhere in a city.

Room Tip: It's a noisy street corner, avoid a front-side, ground level room as traffic will shake and echo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CamilleInTheWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    22
    20
    7
    14
See reviews for
11
15
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Valby, Danmark
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

EconoLodge in Sacremento is almost inn the center of the city. We were driving around trying to find a place to sleep for the night. At first we asked the hotel across the street, but it was to expensive. At EconoLodge we had to pay 74 $ and this room was very nice. Big refrigerator, table and chairs. Bathtop and a seperate room for the sink. If you don’t need luxury this place is very cosy and we will definitely recommend it to others.The room was a smoking room but it didn’t smell that much of smoke.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bailando81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Jeez, people. It's a fifty dollar hotel room, not the Ritz!

We grabbed a bunch of rooms here after driving in from Reno for a monthly dance night in Sacramento because they were cheap and in a great location for walking around Midtown.

One of our companions brought a "CSI Light" and gave the rooms a once-over. No bodily fluids were found.
The rooms were shabby, but clean.
They did smell a little old & musty, but the windows opened and you could get a nice breeze going that freshened up the room in about three minutes.
The wifi was pretty sporadically sucky.
Shower was hot and had good water pressure.
Staff was very nice, but only talked to them at check-in/check-out.
Did not have the breakfast, but my friends said it was the ever present Coffee & Cheese Horns™ that you find at cheap hotels nationwide.

Honestly, if you just need a clean bed to crash for a night after clubbing and a shower in the morning, you can't go wrong with this cheapie.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMStaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Chose this hotel because of location on the map to our Dr. appointment. There are other hotels close (across the street) but the Tripadvisor reviews were better for this one. I can't imagine how that could be! Our first clue should have been the bars on the windows downstairs. The chemical cleaner smell about knocks you over when you open the door. We had to air the place out before we could relax. Thank goodness we were on the 3rd floor and didn't have to worry about the "loitering locals" walking in. The carpet could have been cleaner, better dusting would have been nice. The bathroom was just plain dirty, with old paint and dirt on the toilet paper holder along with everything else. There is a small tub/shower that would have been ok if they had had one of those curved curtain hangers. Didn't appreciate having the curtain stick to me when I turned around! The bed and pillows were comfortable except that the shallow fitted sheet kept coming off the mattress corners all night. Spent most of the night worried about our vehicle since there was no fence and people used the parking lot as access from some apartments in back, to the street. The TV and the WiFi worked sporatically. We even asked for new batteries thinking it was the remote. The complimentary breakfast was ridiculous, only coffee, juice & rolls! Then there is only 2 chairs in the lobby (facing the managers desk) with NO table to put your stuff on.
I do have to say that the managers were very nice, helpful about the area, and pleasant to talk to. We will try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. What a mistake!
This place was GROSS. We are used to staying in other EconoLodges, but this one was far worse than any we'd ever stayed in, and more expensive. First, the building is very old and not at all updated or maintained. The ONLY plus I could find was that there was an elevator since we were on the 3rd floor. The room was far from clean...there was hair everywhere in the bathroom. The smell - we could barely stand it. It was like death and mold. The sheets were old and stained and there was no fitted sheet, just a flat sheet, another flat sheet, a very dirty blanket and a very dirty comforter. The old refrigerator was SO loud it kept us up that night, and we found the microwave..... in the bathroom. There were 3 deadbolts on our door - probably because of the sketchy location. The TV had no reception and the front desk didn't seem to care. All of the fixtures (lights, faucets, etc.) appeared original from perhaps the 60's ? It was also very noisy. This room looked like something out of a horror movie. We got in and out as fast as we could. I would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishaquarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Needed somewhere to stay overnight near downtown and I'm so glad I picked here! The staff was very friendly and accommodating, the room was average, nothing fancy but clean and it was only a 15-20 minute walk to downtown and less than a $10 taxi fare back. Will definitely stay here next time I come to visit!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minahoneyfresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights! Location was fantastic for where i needed to be, but the room was dirty, bathroom was disgusting, leaking tapes.
Some very strange and odd people hang around the place at night.
Had people knocking on our door at all hours of the night and day.
and to top it off we were both bitten by bed bugs.
Will definitely never stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank troydboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sacramento
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown
Quality Inn Downtown
#43 of 81 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Downtown
0.5 mi away
Inn off Capitol Park
Inn off Capitol Park
#37 of 81 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center
1.2 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Sacramento
1.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn West Sacramento
Rodeway Inn West Sacramento
#5 of 15 in West Sacramento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge - Sacramento / 16th St.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge - Sacramento / 16th St.

Property: Econo Lodge - Sacramento / 16th St.
Address: 711 16th St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge - Sacramento / 16th St. 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just 4 blocks from the Sacramento Convention Center and less than 1 mile from historic Old Town Sacramento. This Sacramento hotel is close to area attractions including the California Exposition and State Fairgrounds, California State University, the California State Capitol, the Sacramento Zoo and the Governor's Mansion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge - Sacramento / 16th St. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge - Sacramento / 16th St. Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Econo Lodge
Econolodge Sacramento 16th St

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing