We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“I always stay here when in Sacramento” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Governors Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Governors Inn Hotel
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Chico, California
1 review
“I always stay here when in Sacramento”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Like my title says, I always choose here when in town. The evening front desk man (Heinrich sorry for bad spelling) is absolutely wonderful! friendly face and always remembers my name. The rooms are nice and usually very clean. although my last stay my room was not up to par.I would and have suggested this hotel to my friends and family. I will be staying here again in the near future. F.Y.I the area is not the best, you have a few wondering people thru out the night, but I have not seen or been bothered by them while staying here. .

Room Tip: I have only stayed on the 3rd floor.. and have not had any issues with noise but the view of the ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalania A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dalania A - Thank you for making us your hotel of choice when staying in Sacramento. We are humbled and honored to have earned your business. Our staff, as you mentioned, work very hard to take care of our guests and so glad that we have exceeded your expectations. I will share your review with our housekeeping department as we have very high standards. Thank you again for taking the time to sharing on Tripadvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    196
    66
    16
    13
See reviews for
100
122
41
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed one night in Sacramento, the front staff was very nice and recommended some eateries to us that evening. We went to the workout room the next room, and the facilities was what was expected in terms of equipment for this hotel. But no towels, no water in the room! There was a sink with tap water, which would have been ok, but it tasted like chlorine. I like to be fully hydrated while exercising, they need to put in a water dispenser. Pool was decent, but not heated so very cold at this time of year. Breakfast was good with waffles. The breakfast room was a decent size with lots of tables.

Room Tip: For a one night stay, I would say any room is fine. The place is fairly big with lots of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Karen L - Thank you so much for staying with us. Appreciate your comments about providing towels in the workout room. Glad you liked the waffles -- that was a suggestion from one of our guests and the waffles have been very well-received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Recently stayed for a three night training session; used my boss’s credit card to book the room. The front desk person would not charge the room to the credit card it was book with and I had to put it on my personal card. They have an approval form that needs to be filled out by the card holder with a copy of the persons' driver license. It would have been nice to know before I arrived.
The stay was average, the room/sheets/ towels were clean. The shower was dated and needed grout. I could hear the people above me stomping around. The pool/spa was clean and isolated from the public view. The free breakfast was simple: waffles/oatmeal/cereal/bagels/fruits
Location is great. Walking distance to large riverside park; it’s a couple miles along river to “Old Town” Sacramento area lots of shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Try for the top floor so you don't have people stomping above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Matthew M - Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We do value and appreciate the feedback. As the front desk clerk explained, it is our policy, along with many other hotels, that we have a signed authorization form from the holder of the credit card authorizing the use of their card. I am sorry that this was not explained when you made the reservation. We do our very best to get the information out about our policies, I am sorry that we fell short in this instant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed at the Governors Inn for a conference down town. Great value with good basic breakfast, clean newly redecorated rooms and best of all - free shuttle to and from the airport and downtown. Saved a bundle and the service was great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SanClementeMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
SanClementeMichael - Awesome review -- Thank you so much. Our business is all about taking care of our guests -- I am very glad we exceeded your expectations. Thank you so much for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed here while working short term in downtown Sacramento. The place is decent, with a free breakfast that includes make-your-own waffles. It is a quick drive down 7th from the downtown area. Parking is free. The rooms have been updated in past few years. The hotel is pretty clean, however it is on the outskirts of downtown so the immediate area doesnt really have much going on. You need to drive or cab into downtown for restaurants. Right next to a McDonalds and across the street from a gas station and Dennys.

Room Tip: Some rooms are right next to the McDonalds drive thru. I dont recommend those rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbrew3066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
jbrew3066 - Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to review us at trip advisor. We get a lot of good comments about our free parking and the make-your-own waffles in our continental breakfast buffet along with our other amenities. Thank you for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

After my prepaid hotel downtown telling me that I did not have a room, Governor's Inn was there for me. The room was larger than I expected. Simply decorated. Quiet--which was necessary because I was there for the bar exam. The front desk was very professional and courteous. The only negative really--as I was grateful to just get a room at the last minute--was the frig. The mini frig was more of a swamp cooler. I had planned with my downtown hotel to have a complete kitchen so I had brought some food that needed refrigerated during my stay--but it was a small inconvenience--Dennys was located across the street and McDonalds directly next door so the problem resolved itself. Great stay for the price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
CaliforniaVisitor - Very glad to read that you had an excellent stay with us and we were able to meet your need at the last minute. look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The hotel is quite nice and very clean. The staff is absolutely exceptional. Also, the park and river are in short walking distance and downtown within a 5 minute courtesy shuttle ride. Excellent. There is excellent dinign nearby as well.

Room Tip: The back side is qiueter whereas there is a 24 hour McDoinald's near the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
John E. - Thank you for the EXCEPTIONAL compliments of our staff! They do a fabulous job. Great to read that you had such a wonderful stay and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sacramento Airport-Natomas
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
5.9 mi away
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
#31 of 82 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governors Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn Hotel

Property: Governors Inn Hotel
Address: 210 Richards Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95811-0236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#22 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Governors Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see our new guest suites, beautiful new lobby decor and spacious breakfast area! The Governors Inn Hotel, a Sacramento Hotel, has just completed phase one and two of a million dollar property renovation. We are thrilled with the beauty and comfort of our complete make over of our guest rooms. You will completely be relaxed and ready for your day after spending a night with us. The beautiful and sparkling lobby area is comfortable for meetings or just relaxing after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Governors Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing