We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“surprize”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Governors Inn Hotel
Ranked #17 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Samoa, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“surprize”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The surprise was the small amount of other guests. It has been a while since I stayed here and it was always a full house. Not so any more. There use to be an airport shuttle that was very busy. (we used it when we were traveling to the east coast) one daughter now lives in Sacramento and the other in in the process of moving there. Therefore we have not needed that service for a while. All was good except the breakfast. Selection was not that great and the rolls were dry and lacked taste. Like they had been frozen to long. No staff was present in the room either morning. If breakfast was a big deal to me you would have gotten a poor. If breakfast had been better you would have gotten the top rating. I was there for two events, one downtown at the State Fire Marshals office and one at the CHP training ground. It was convenient for this trip and I was treated well by staff.

Room Tip: I was in 235 and it was fine. I would think if you were across the hall or closer to the Highway it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Robert D,
Thank you for staying with us at the Governors Inn Hotel. We appreciated that you came back to see us. Sorry that our continental breakfast did not meet your expectation. We are doing some fine tuning to our continental breakfast. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    218
    73
    16
    16
See reviews for
113
132
45
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Location is a little bit out there, but the room is spotlessly clean and the hotel is overall nice. Granite bathroom and nice furnishings. A little sparse, but nice. Fridge and microwave in room. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photomikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear photomikey,

Thank you very much for reviewing the Governors Inn Hotel on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your kinds words and nice photos. We are glad you liked our property. Hope you had wonderful travels and we look forward to seeing you again when you are back in Sacramento!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Booked thru price line. Excellent large room. Was there for a conference. Helpful evening receptionist.little away from downtown. Free shuttle to downtown and Amtrak station. Large room.great ambience. Breakfast was good but wish hotel could provide boiled eggs.value for money.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DelhiMovira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear DelhiMovira,

Thank you for your review of our hotel and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff truly works hard to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests Thank you so much for the 5 star rating!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had a trip on The Polar Express and this is de second time that we stayed At the Governos Inn because is very comfortable for family we have two little kids and they really enjoyed this hotel as the first time, is very clean, I like the breakfast service and we had the opportunity to prepare our dinner too in the breakfast room. We had a crib for my two years daughter. Friendly housekeeper. Everything was good. And it is also a non-smoking hotel that is wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Lorena G,

Thank you so much for your return visit to our hotel. Our team works hard to provide an excellent experience and values for our guests. We are glad we exceeded your expectations and we were rewarded with a 5 star review. Thank you!

And thank you for pointing out that we are a non-smoking hotel. We hope to see you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
2 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2013

My public agency meetings were at the Hilton Garden Inn where my colleagues were paying $140+ a night. My stay at the Governor's Inn was just as comfortable and I saved $60 for taxpayers. Friendly front desk and my room was spotlessly clean with new carpets, comfortable bed and quiet heating. Everything worked well and I enjoyed the simple breakfast, free wi-fi and parking.

Room Tip: Be nice to desk clerks and tip the staff. Smile and your stay won't be lonely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_mosquitoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Paul_mosquitoguy,

Thank you for staying with us! We are glad you found excellent value in our hotel. Aside from free parking, continental breakfast, and wifi you mentioned, we also provide shuttle service to the Airport and Amtrak station. Hope your meetings were as successful as your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We were in town for the night and selected to stay at the Governors Inn. From the photos and quick read on the reviews, I expected this hotel to be like a regular 3-star hotel, comfortable enough for the night stay. My arrival to the hotel was quite pleasant, the lobby looked a lot better than the frontal view - totally caps and bold on the motto "never judge a book by its cover."

It did have the charm of a 4-star hotel and upon my arrival and check in time did my appreciation for the hotel go down. The customer service associate was on the line so we wandered around the lobby to buy time, not to seem intrusive or rushed in any aspects. After about 10 min, we checked back and, Pang, was still on the phone. She recognized our presence, but not once did she give a nonverbal cue that she will be with us, a simple nod will do. When we connected, I told myself to "presume positive intents" but with the vibe and service she gave off really ruined the mood for my stay. I wish this was a matter a "bad day" and nothing more since I can see potentials for his hotel.

Room Tip: Bottom line: Book the hotel for a night stay if you don't plan to wander out and need a clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_TriNguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Mr_TriNguyen,

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. I took note of your comments and have shared them with our front desk staff. Our team does work hard to provide our guests with excellent service and I am sorry we fell short during your visit with us. The feedback we receive from our guests is important to us and it helps us to fine tune our guest service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Clean facilities, large rooms, friendly staff, accessible location off freeway, speedy Internet, good value overall. Bathroom lacked fan, water temperature difficult to adjust in shower, and breakfast offerings were not tempting. The in-room coffee tasted better than the coffee in the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear ElizabethAtlanta,
Thank you for staying with us and am glad you found our hotel to a good overall value. Thank you for sharing your observations about a couple of issues in your room. I have forward your comments on to our facilities manager. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 80 in Sacramento
1,445 reviews
4.8 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 80 in Sacramento
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governors Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn Hotel

Property: Governors Inn Hotel
Address: 210 Richards Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95811-0236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#22 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Governors Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see our new guest suites, beautiful new lobby decor and spacious breakfast area! The Governors Inn Hotel, a Sacramento Hotel, has just completed phase one and two of a million dollar property renovation. We are thrilled with the beauty and comfort of our complete make over of our guest rooms. You will completely be relaxed and ready for your day after spending a night with us. The beautiful and sparkling lobby area is comfortable for meetings or just relaxing after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Governors Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing