We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Governors Inn Hotel
Ranked #15 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Surrey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The staff were very friendly and prompt. The room was very large and nicely decorated . The only thing is that this hotel is a little far from shopping and restaurants. There is a McDonalds and a Dennys right infront of the hotel. They offer free WIFI which was fast and free breakfast which included make yourself waffles, bagels, cereal,yogurt, juice and coffee. I would definately stay here again !!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    228
    81
    18
    16
See reviews for
116
141
47
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were in Sacramento for both business and family. This was a great hotel and price couldn't be beat for the location. 1/2 mile from Old Sac, right off I-5, close to the airpot. We will definitely be back, thanks!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krissay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Cedro Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have stayed here several times over the years and really would not think of staying anywhere else in the Sacramento area.Clean, comfy, and quality all in one place. The rooms are very nice and the beds are wonderful. All the amenities you want including wireless, fitness room, pool and breakfast. Close drive to most Sacramento sights but 5 minutes to nicer restaurants. Unbeatable for the quality and price. It grows on you every time you stay.

Room Tip: I like the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a recent trip out west. Booked the first night in and last night before flying out. WONDERFUL hotel with accommodations far above average for this price range. Bathroom was very nice but beds were AMAZING! Only downside, had to drive a bit to get to good restaurants.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SJG526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have been regular customers for several decades. The rooms are pleasant, comfortable, with sufficient space and (free) wireless internet. the decor freshly painted, the parking easy (with several secure entry doors for ease of getting luggage from car to room). Hallways are wide, lobby comfortable. The breakfast is a bit skimpy (I am a fan of eggs) but adequate as a continental breakfast; there is a golden arches 100 feet from the front door and a family restaurant across the street. Hallways are wide, lobby comfortable.
The hotel is one freeway exit north of J street, which goes to downtown and/or Old Sacramento.
This is an ideal location for business or pleasure in Sacramento; river swimming and beaches at a local park are minutes away as well.
The airport (yes, there is an airport van) is several miles to the north on a usually pretty fast freeway.
Prices are more than reasonable; for what you would pay at a Motel 6 you get very much the same accommodations as at a Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn Express...at much, much less than those charge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in general. Clean and newly renovated rooms, friendly front desk staff and a nice lobby. It is also a quiet hotel, and our 2nd story window even looked over the McDonald's drive through! I thought we would hear cars, but you didn't, and we even left our window open at night. We didn't walk anywhere, but a 5-10 minute car ride got us to downtown Old Sac, which is a fun place to walk around and to our dinner on a ferry boat on the river. My only complaint is the water in the room is very touchy, it can get scorching hot with a tiny turn of the knob. But you can't beat the price, very good!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CampingKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A price performer in the area. There are several properties that are close to the freeway in this area. Very much enjoyed my stay at this one. Walking distance from Discovery Park. Provides a shuttle downtown for other activities. I drove down to the R street area to the Ace of Spades for a preconcert concert. Very easy access to the freeway and side streets. Took just a few minutes to get downtown. Downstairs area open and welcoming with many couches and chairs. Staff very good. My room was quiet at the back of the building on the third floor. Nice view of trees out the window.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stev N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
9.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
#37 of 81 in Sacramento
282 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governors Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn Hotel

Property: Governors Inn Hotel
Address: 210 Richards Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95811-0236
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#22 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Governors Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see our new guest suites, beautiful new lobby decor and spacious breakfast area! The Governors Inn Hotel, a Sacramento Hotel, has just completed phase one and two of a million dollar property renovation. We are thrilled with the beauty and comfort of our complete make over of our guest rooms. You will completely be relaxed and ready for your day after spending a night with us. The beautiful and sparkling lobby area is comfortable for meetings or just relaxing after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Governors Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing