We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Governors Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveler rating
166
241
89
19
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
241
89
19
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplantation shutterscontinental breakfastyogurtacross the streetroom was largeceiling fanclose to downtownhomeless peopleold towntv channelsgas stationwaffle makereasy accessparking lotfree shuttlemini fridgeking bed
Filter
Updating list...
348 - 353 of 533 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hotel is right off Interstate 5 where we came from and close to Interstate 80 where we were headed. Huge plush lobby with very friendly and efficient staff. Our room had a king sized bed with the most comfortable mattress we had in our three week trip. Room and bathroom were spotless. I had lost my glasses and when I called a week later, the receptionist immediately checked their lost and found and made arrangements to mail them home to me. We have friends in Sacramento, and we will stay here again and urge other visitors to do the same.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Connie N,
We are so glad that you had a wonderful two night stay with us! We are glad that we found your glasses and made arrangements to get them back to you. We love our great team and work hard to deliver a high standard of service to our guests. Thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We got this hotel on Hotwire and got a great rate. We stayed on a Friday night which is probably good for this business-oriented city. It was rated three stars but that doesn't always mean much. In this case, the room was spotlessly clean; the bed was comfy; the room was large; the A/C worked great (on a 98 degree day); everything in the room (TV, lights, shower, faucet, etc.) worked perfectly; and the parking was close and easy. The continental breakfast was well stocked and fine. There was an exercise room that had plenty of equipment (although we didn't use it ourselves). The front desk was courteous, friendly, and efficient. The room was quiet.

Two complaints are as follows: the plantation shutters didn't provide total darkness as the usual blackout curtains do. And we had difficulty getting water into the steam iron. These are minor issues, though, and we were very happy overall with our visit.

It's not downtown in Sacramento, but we were just staying here one night as we drove through to another destination.

The decor was ordinary but clean, without scratches and fine. We didn't come here for the furniture.

They do not have a restaurant although there's a McDonalds right next door. There was room service but we didn't use it.

Room Tip: We were on the north (front) side and still had plenty of light come through the plantation shutters in the morning. The south (back) side might be a little bright for sleeping in the morning for some people. But the south side is farther from the road so that might help.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomslyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear tomslyck,

Thank you for staying with us! We are glad you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed all that we have to offer. We strive to give each of our guest a great experience and glad that we were able to do so for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights. The price was great. The check in went very well. Pang was very welcoming. We asked for a room closer to an exit. No problem. The staff is very friendly yet professional. The rooms are large. We had two queen beds. The room was very clean. The beds were comfy. The sink area is large. The closet is small, but do you really need that large a closet? It's just a shower and toilet for the other part. Sort of small. Because of disability, we asked to change to the handicapped suite. No problem. They moved us. This was also clean and comfy. It was a king size bed and couch that made a bed. This bathroom was very large. It worked out very well. The pool is cool. It doesn't get much sun but very refreshing when the temperature is close to 100! The breakfast is standard continental. I also loved that there were real glasses and mugs in the room. The breakfast has real plates and silverware. Very nice and green. I would recommend it and will stay there again. It was near the highway but not loud. One exit from Old Sacramento. It was perfect for us. It's not a five star hotel, however it's five star in its class!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nhwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Nhwife,
Wow! thank you so much for your glowing review. We are so glad that we exceeded your expectations and earned you "Five Star" in class rating. What you described in your review is how we strive with every guest that stays with us. Sometimes we fall short, but we do our very best to provide top tier service.

Thank you so much for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were VERY surprised to find this little gem! We needed an overnight spot in Sacramento as part of a California road trip, and had been staying at Best Westerns all along the way. We found this hotel on a general search of prices/hotels, and we pleased to see great reviews on a well-priced hotel. It was even more than we expected! Beautiful lobby and public spaces, and the room was really gorgeous, very large, and had a sofa (most hotels give you one chair). There was a fridge, microwave and coffee pot in the room. We used a AAA discount and paid a total of $80 for the night, which was amazing for a real hotel (as opposed to a motor lodge) with such beautiful rooms and so many amenities. A continental breakfast was included. The breakfast area was very large (no fighting for tables), and had decent variety, however, waffles were the only hot food (unless you count instant oatmeal). Would have been nice to have a hot protein (eggs, sausage, etc), but for $80, we can't complain about that! Generous supply of coffee for filling the road mugs, and we were on our way. VERY convenient to I-5, but you don't hear the road noise at all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ellenkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear ellenkn,

We are so very glad you enjoyed your stay and taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. Our staff works very hard to deliver a great value for our guests and we are so glad that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

It has a very convenient location, just off the highway, a nice and unexpected surprise. It was a great value for the monthly rate, very clean, very comfortable beds, decent breakfast (not too many options for gluten free diets). The hotel staff also recommended a great pizza restaurant and it made it a great overnight stay, as we were travelling back home.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jorocad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear jorocad,

Thank you for staying with us and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope your travels home were safe and if you ever make your way through Sacramento again, we look forward to having you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews