We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More luxurious than I expected for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Governors Inn Hotel
Ranked #17 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“More luxurious than I expected for the price!”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

For the price I paid, I expected a more modest hotel and was very pleasantly surprised. I've stayed in much more simple hotels in Sacramento and paid far more. Rooms are large, nicely decorated, and with all the extras. The entire property is non-smoking. Each bed had a choice of three pillows: soft, medium, and hard. Friendly staff, convenient to the freeway. Free shuttle from Amtrak or the airport. The area is light-industrial (Sacramento police headquarters is next door) and might feel a little iffy at night if you're on foot, but if you have a car it will not make a difference to you. Several decent sit-down restaurants within walking distance and a McDonalds right next door. There are city bus stops on the street immediately in front of the hotel if you want to take public transportation downtown.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsTify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your very kind review. We work really hard to provide a great guest experience. As you are aware, our neighborhood has undergone significant improvements and continues to do so. In about a month or two, a new Denny's will be opening up across the street. We are very excited about on the new landscaping and improved roads. As mentioned earlier, a new light rail station has opened up about three blocks away. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    218
    73
    16
    16
See reviews for
113
132
45
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I was generally pleased with the hotel. Neat, clean, comfortable bed. Lovely customer service.
Continental buffet could be better - there was no protein, just a lot of breads, muffins, danish, etc. Could have used a basket of fruit - it's California for goodness sakes.

The homeless people next door were respectful although I did worry about my rental car a bit in that back parking lot.

I would stay there again. It was very convenient for my needs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad you had a good stay with us and would stay with us again. In addition to the items you mentioned in our continental breakfast, we also offer apples, cereals, and yogurt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I got this place from a blind booking through Priceline and couldn't have been happier. Nice rooms, very clean and comfortable, good beds, extremely nice and helpful staff. From front desk through housekeeping, everyone was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was also good. Even though it is right next to the freeway, which gives you easy access to I-5, the parking lot is safe and clean and the building is well-built and well-insulated. You'd never guess you were right next to the freeway. If you're staying in Sacramento, I would highly recommend the Governor's Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! It is always great to hear how much our guests enjoy their experience staying with us. Thank you for giving us a highly recommended.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Everything a hotel can be. Clear customer centered communications. Great rooms and facility.
Engineered and managed for the customer. Stayed an extra night. Loved the very available luggage carts. Parking even had shade.

Room Tip: I wouldn't worry about room selection at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
We are so glad you were delighted with your stay! Your comments have made our day. Thank you for sharing on Trip Advisor and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

As a frequent traveler to the Sacramento area, I have seen this hotel advertised many times. For some reason, I avoided booking it. I got on Hotwire and was booked into the hotel by their blind booking. I am so glad!

The hotel is great! The room was very large, with a comfortable bed, well done decor, and the service was great, too. One nice difference was a ceiling fan that really helped to keep us cool all night.

I am making this my default hotel for my trips to Sacramento!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, Public Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for your very kind review on Trip Advisor. We also enjoy surprising guests who have not stayed with us before how wonderful our hotel is both on the inside and outside. Our staff works very hard to keep our hotel very comfortable and clean. We are glad you liked the fan. They do help in the summer months.

Look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had to find a place at the last minute when our conference hotel downtown lost our reservation. We found an excellent rate for a week long stay at about 20% of downtown hotel quotes. It is a little outside of downtown but the green Line light rail opened in June 2012 with the terminus 4 blocks east.

Hotel is recently renovated, clean, and comfortable. Staff was always pleasant and helpful. Has an outdoor pool and spa. Breakfast was the basic, no eggs or meat, but typical for the price.

Just to avoid surprises, there are homeless in the area. the hotel does a good job of keeping them off premises. The only restaurant is McD's next door that may have some homeless around. Shuttle drive said Denny's is opening up across the street.

We would stay here again if we were traveling to Sacramento.

Room Tip: East side rooms may have too much light from the sun in the morning. Shutters rather than shades do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, Public Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and glad you found our hotel to meet your needs. Our area is going through a wonderful renovation with new landscaping, more street lights, and a new light rail station just a few blocks away. The Sacramento Police Department's north area offices, California Highway Patrol headquarters and the California State Lottery are all located within minutes of our hotel. We are also excited by the new Denny's opening up across the street. We offer great value at the Governors Inn Hotel. With free parking, you are saving upwards of $24 a night in parking fees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We used this hotel before catching a flight to end our vacation throughout northern California. The front desk was friendly and let us pick the floor of our room. (there are three floors only) The staff was friendly the whole time. The room was clean and spacious. The beds were comfortable but the pillows were small. The bathroom was a little wierd because the sink is in the room and the toilet and shower are separate. I would have preferred a totally separate bathroom. Our room smelled a little like Italian food when we walked in.

Breakfast was ok. Fresh waffles but the coffee was terrible. I'd say for the price we paid we got our money's worth. I prefer to stay in more luxurious hotels but we just didn't feel we should spend the money just to have a place to sleep. I would stay here again though.

The other pluses were free wifi, coke and snack machine in the lobby, and fitness center. The cons are location; next to noisy freeway, not in downtown.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Razrbaklinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and mentioning how friendly our staff is. They work really hard to provide our guests with great service. We are sorry about how your room smelled when you first walked in. Our housekeeping staff does a first rate job in cleaning rooms and I have passed along your comments to them. We are also sorry about the coffee. We only use Seattle's Best Coffee and have received numerous compliments. It may have just been a bad batch.

We value your comments as we are always striving to ensure each and every one of our guests has a great stay with us. Your feedback helps us improve our service. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 80 in Sacramento
1,445 reviews
4.8 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 80 in Sacramento
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governors Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn Hotel

Property: Governors Inn Hotel
Address: 210 Richards Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95811-0236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#22 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Governors Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see our new guest suites, beautiful new lobby decor and spacious breakfast area! The Governors Inn Hotel, a Sacramento Hotel, has just completed phase one and two of a million dollar property renovation. We are thrilled with the beauty and comfort of our complete make over of our guest rooms. You will completely be relaxed and ready for your day after spending a night with us. The beautiful and sparkling lobby area is comfortable for meetings or just relaxing after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Governors Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing