We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Everything I had hoped for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Governors Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Governors Inn Hotel
Ranked #16 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Everything I had hoped for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

After reading several reviews over a period of months, I chose the Governors Inn for our stay in SAC. We arrived by train yesterday and the van from the hotel picked the four of us up. Our room was ready and it was everything we hoped it would be. Comfortable beds and a quiet room. Since there are four of us, it was so nice to see the sink/closet area was separate from the shower/toilet room. Our check in took all of 2 minutes, as they were ready for us, after sending the van to pick us up. All of the help have made us feel welcome. Had our breakfast here and now heading out for the day. For those interested, they had wine, iced tea and cookies shortly after we arrived.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if that is your desire. We enjoyed a great nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad you had an enjoyable stay and that our staff exceeded your expectations. We work very hard to see that each and every one of our guests has a great experience when staying at the Governors Inn Hotel. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Sacramento and enjoyed everything that Sacramento has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    201
    67
    16
    13
See reviews for
105
125
41
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

This was a great hotel for our one night stop over while on the road.

On vacation my Wife and I were squeezing in a short day of sightseeing in downtown Sacramento and needed a place for one night.

I was apprehensive in booking a Priceline three star place since we hate being surprised with dirty hotels. This place was perfect: Clean, in room wi-fi and friendly staff.

The King size bed was very comfortable.

The hotel is in the middle of an industrial area, so the view is of the McDonalds drive through or a business building is nothing special. However it is only 5 minutes from downtown and the old town section, which made it a perfect stop for touristing.

The breakfast is the average: Fruit, yogurt and a waffle machine.

Room Tip: Room on the east or south side, since they do not look into McDonalds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomad_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review on Trip Advisor. We are glad you stayed with us and enjoyed your stay. Our staff works incredibly hard to serve our guests whether it is our front desk team welcoming guests or our house staff cleaning and preparing rooms, our hospitality professionals stay focus on providing top notch service. Rest assured that we will make every effort that visitors to our Sacramento Hotel will receive great service. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We got this room at a great rate on Priceline. Due to some of the reviews posted previously, we were VERY NERVOUS about staying here, and were ready to bolt to another hotel if the room did not meet expectations. Our fears were put to rest as soon as we walked into the room. The rooms were updated, large, and the beds were VERY comfortable. Great for an overnight stay.

The minus: the location feels very isolated, especially on a weekend. Also the single ply toilet paper is very thin, more suitable for a 1 star.

We missed breakfast, but McDonalds was right next door, and we just walked on over.

Overall, good for the price and for one night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the freeway and far enough from the rumbling ice machine (that machine is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We were driving from San Diego to Portland, with no place in mind to spend the night. We found Governors Inn Hotel through Hotel Pal. Turns out, it was a great place to stay! It's right off the freeway, but with no freeway noise. The rooms were very well kept. We had a single king room. The staff were all knowledgable and friendly. The price was also excellent. If I had any criticism at all, it's that the elevator was at the back of the building, rather than near the foyer, and the breakfast was only minimal. (But we didn't pick the place for the breakfast!) This is a great place for someone traveling through, looking for a clean, safe place for the night.

Room Tip: I found the hotel via Hotel Pal app. Their price was just $10 less than the walk-in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyRay222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Very nice hotel with a great location just min away from old town. The employees were all very nice and the rooms were new and clean!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tiffany_Cr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you for your review. As you mention we are situated minutes away from old town. And in old town there is so much to do including the rail road museum, great restaurants and shopping. Plus the river is right across from Front Street. Glad you enjoyed your say and our newly renovated rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Decent but no gem. Seemed more like a two star hotel than a three. Got a good rate on priceline. It was fine for an overnight stop but we will choose a location closer to downtown next time.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seattlemomof2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

My husband and I were able to get a great price for this hotel off priceline ($47), so we were already really content with that. I personally wanted it more toward downtown, but for the price and downtown being 1.5 miles away, I wasn't too disappointed. Rooms were clean, bed super comfy, 7 pillows were also a plus, and breakfast was satisfying. I would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anicole4114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
4.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sacramento Airport-Natomas
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governors Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn Hotel

Property: Governors Inn Hotel
Address: 210 Richards Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95811-0236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#22 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Governors Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see our new guest suites, beautiful new lobby decor and spacious breakfast area! The Governors Inn Hotel, a Sacramento Hotel, has just completed phase one and two of a million dollar property renovation. We are thrilled with the beauty and comfort of our complete make over of our guest rooms. You will completely be relaxed and ready for your day after spending a night with us. The beautiful and sparkling lobby area is comfortable for meetings or just relaxing after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Governors Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing