We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, clean, but loud” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn Downtown
Ranked #41 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Convenient, clean, but loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Convenient location, clean room, comfortable bed, adequate breakfast. But the trash truck comes at 4 am right under your window. They were also working on the facade (very loud) during the day of my stay. If I had planned on hanging out in the room, it would have been unpleasant.

Room Tip: I'd ask for one in the middle to minimize the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    47
    25
    7
    14
See reviews for
19
23
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were looking for a decently priced hotel, last minute, for just one night and this one was perfect. The hotel is basically in an alley so that is not as ideal, but the staff was nice, room was spacious and clean. It was perfect for last minute short stay. Right in the middle of downtown so walking distance to a lot of bars and restaurants

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0uiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This property looks a little scary. Everything is barred up and it's outside entrance rooms. Walking distance to good food and things to do, but just old and kinda run down. Surprisingly, when you close your door, the room itself was very clean and apparently updated. I wouldn't want to stay here long though. Rough part of town and very old and rundown exterior. To spend 1 night, it was ok, but that's about all I'd do here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D28martin05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Level Contributor
115 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

You never know what you're going to get when you use hotels in this price range in rather sketchy parts of town (and this part of town is somewhat sketchy). But the rooms are clean, the staff very friendly and helpful, and the entire experience satisfactory. If I were to return to Sacramento, I'd not hesitate to stay here again.

There are plenty of very good eating places within walking distance, and the Old Sacramento tourist area is very close. There are multiple national and local coffee places very near. The staff at the front desk was able to offer suggestions.

It's not a perfect hotel, but it's pretty darn good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekinwilliston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I am just repeating other reviews but i highly recommend this place if you want clean , friendly basic accommodations. From Sacramento Convention Center. Quality Inn was two blocks away, with many good restaurants nearby. Price was fantastic, Rooms were recently redone. At first glance it might turn you off because it is located off a back alley. Once inside the lobby or rooms is is just fine. The breakfast was very basic but fresh.

Room Tip: Not a big tip because you will discover that if you exit at the opposite end of the lobby you can cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel44jllh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

If you are looking for a budget hotel by the convention center, this is definitely the one to pick! There's not a lot to say about the rooms - they are about what you would expect. I was pleasantly surprised to find a mini fridge and a microwave in my room though - which are apparently in all the rooms - and the shower was pretty nice.

What really stood out was the staff. The front desk was very helpful throughout my 4 day stay, and when I ordered an extra blanket it was at my door within 5 minutes. The complementary breakfast included cereal, toast, yogurt, fresh waffles, fresh fruit hash browns and sausage.

The location was also PERFECT, with lots of eating options within a few blocks. I'll definitely be staying here again the next time I have an expo to attend at the convention center!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Attending Granddaughter's weekend volleyball tournament at Sacramento Convention Center. Quality Inn was two blocks away, with many good restaurants nearby. Price was fantastic, especially since needed 2 rooms. Wasn't a 5 star hotel but was clean, newly refurbished and front desk staff were exceptional. Parked car on Friday evening and didn't use it again until ready to leave on Sunday. Also for extra $6 were allowed to leave car in parking area until 6:00 p.m. rather than the normal 12:00p.m. Yes, were some sirens and one noise incidence when bars closed, but nothing you wouldn't expect in downtown area of major city. We will stay here again if have future tournaments scheduled for this area.

Room Tip: ask for rooms on north end, they are furthest from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Inn off Capitol Park
Inn off Capitol Park
#35 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Downtown

Property: Quality Inn Downtown
Address: 818 15th Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Quality Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Downtown Hotel Sacramento
Quality Inn Sacramento
Sacramento Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing