We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento
Ranked #15 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel does not have an airport shuttle as it is probably 15 minutes drive away; however, the SMF airport is small, and a SuperShuttle is an easy booking while picking up luggage. The hotel itself is nice, and the customer service of the staff is outstanding. Whether I was walking down the hall to my room and passing someone from housekeeping, or if I was walking past the front desk - I was always greeted with a friendly hello. When I did need assistance (my bathroom sink was clogged), not only was the repair prompt and fast, I was given a free cookie for my inconvenience. Probably would've received a cookie upon request anyway, but it was definitely a small gesture that went a long way toward making this stay enjoyable. The hotel itself is very large with three or four "wings", and the walk to my room was considerable. If walking is an issue, ask for a closer room. My room rate included a scrumptious breakfast buffet that never left me wanting. Yes, perhaps the hotel needs some updating, but as a fairly picky traveler, this hotel exceeded my expectations. Additionally, this hotel is located just across the street (walkable) from a large shopping mall (can we say See's Candy?), as well as being very close to good dining.

Room Tip: If walking is an issue, ask for something close to the front desk. There are three or four "wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosminNicula, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear MaryAnn G,

Thank you very much for the kind words. I am very happy to see that you had an enjoyable stay and that our staff exceeded your expectations. Please know that your comments will be shared with the rest of the team.

Have a great rest of the week and we hope to see you again soon. We have plenty more cookies...

Sincerely,

Cosmin Nicula
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    395
    252
    153
    100
See reviews for
224
139
78
771
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Picked this hotel due to location and close proximity to the hospital my husband was having surgery in. I made my reservation through hotels.com for 3 nights but needed to add another night due to my husband's extended hospital stay. The room was clean and bed was comfortable and Crystal who delivered my room service was as sweet and kind as could be. That is where my positive experience ended. First of all you should know you must pay to park per night and pay per day for wi-fi. That's outrageous. My in room coffee maker was not restocked daily. The pre-order room service tag (that you hang on your door at night so room service gets to you at specific time next day) was missing after first day which meant I had to wait on room service . My magnet parking pass failed so after 13 hours at hospital I had to drive back out and go in to office. Clerk was efficient but not friendly or apologetic. Then I went to my room and door key failed. Another trip back to main desk and still no apology. I had to extend my stay and they offered an inflated rate for a Monday night stay, no deals. Weird isolated dark entrances to buildings made me feel uncomfortable when returning late at night. Look elsewhere if you can.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Rustydog0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosminNicula, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Rustydog0,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent visit at the DoubleTree Hotel. Without constructive feedback from a guest such as yourself, it is not possible for our company to measure the quality of service provided.

I would like to thank you for the feedback and offer my sincere apologies to you for the inconveniences you encountered while being a guest of our hotel. Please know that I have personally spoken with the appropriate department leaders so that we can take the necessary corrective action and prevent any of such occasions in the future.

As a guest of Hilton Hotels, I am sure you have come to expect the very finest from us, as well you should. It is my endeavor to rebuild the trust and I am hoping that in your future visits to Sacramento, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel will remain the hotel of your choice.

Sincerely,
Cosmin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sacramento hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I've stayed here many times for work and its decent, but rooms really need updating. My shower/tub had mold in grout edges, tub drained very slow, older stained carpet, etc. I was surprised to see blankets used between sheets instead of comforters.

Meetings rooms are like most - nothing special, but are ok. Would be nice if they didn't do major work outside when someone is meeting. Same goes for working in rooms above their meeting rooms. The noise is very distracting.

The food is decent in the cafe; the Buffett is always a good value, and quick. The bar/lounge is being remodeled so we had an event downstairs which wasn't as good. Lunches were ok and service was good. The location is near an older mall - Arden Mall. Its fine, but not the best area to walk around after dark. Lots of chain restaurants nearby. Great new place in mall.

This is a large older, spread out hotel. Long walk to meeting rooms. Some remodeling and updating would help. Overall, service was pretty good. Wireless connections throughout hotel spotty.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBWArvada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosminNicula, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear CBWA Arvada,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with your fellow travelers your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Please know that your feedback is valuable and will be shared with the rest of the team. Our goal is to always improve and learn and we will take appropriate action to eliminate some of these occurrences from happening in the future.

Again, thank you for choosing our hotel during your convention and we are hoping to se you again soon.

Sincerely,
Cosmin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Whether business or family travel take note. This hotel is dated by any definition. Green carpet and old wood are common. My door had a 1.5" gap underneath. The service was poor too. I asked for a non-connecting room when I walked in. After a lengthy walk to my room, surprise, it was a connecting room with the TV from next door booming in. There are some good restaurants across the street too: I couldn't get anyone to service me in their restaurant/pub is how I learned this lesson. There are many great Doubletrees around but with a hotel chain with a wide variance of quality, this one falls at the bottom.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigappletraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosminNicula, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent visit at the DoubleTree Hotel. Without constructive feedback from a guest such as yourself, it is not possible for our company to measure the quality of service provided.

I would like to thank you for the feedback and offer my sincere apologies to you for the inconveniences you encountered while a guest in our Hotel. Please know that your feedback will be used to improve and learn.

As a guest of Hilton Hotels, I am sure you have come to expect the very finest from us, as well you should. It is my endeavor to rebuild the trust and I am hoping that in your future visits to Sacramento, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel will remain the hotel of your choice.


Best regards,

Cosmin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
325 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel quite a few times in the past years for work, and this time my room was better then normal. Room was spotless on arrival including bathroom. Very quiet room as well, even though the hotel was fairly booked. Was dissapointed with the service in the restaurant, however the food was good. Lots of military people staying at the hotel, and they have some sort of special menu and access to the salad/soup/dessert area. I requested just one trip through the salad bar, and was told a huge price. I asked why everyone else was going up there and he said it was because they were military and it was allowed for them. The table of cute girls next to me asked to go up there and he told them ok but not to tell anyone.... not cool. But either way the food that I did get was good!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosminNicula, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Jarod M,

First of all I want to thank you for your loyalty to the Hilton Family. Please know that your feedback is very important and it will be shared with the rest of the team. I am pleased to see that you were happy with the room, but I apologize for your experience in the restaurant.. Please know that I will personally follow up with the appropriate department leaders to ensure that this will not happen in the future.

I trust that we will see you again in your next visit to Sacramento.

Sincerely,
Cosmin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights. The first night our tailgate was stolen from the parking lot-keep in mind when you stay at this hotel you have to pay to park in their parking lot. When my husband became aware our tailgate (and 2 others) was missing he went to speak to the manager who told him that it was not Doubletree's problem- hmmmm. That afternoon I spoke to a different manager who let me know that he would fill out an incident report and send it to his insurance company-OK now I have filled out a police report, incident report, and have just heard from Hiltons insurance that we cannot prove it happened there-(although the adjuster told my husband there was another claim for another tailgate stolen from that night) and we are on our own- So we paid to park in a lot that was supposed to be secure and incurred a cost of a tailgate for a 2009 F350 Longbed pickup-to the tune of 2000.00+

Stay at your own risk-I will never stay here again. And I will make sure everybody I know does not as well.

Thanks for nothing DOUBLETREE-

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosminNicula, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Kari C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent visit at the DoubleTree Hotel. I would like to thank you for the feedback and offer my sincere apologies to you for the inconveniences you encountered while a guest in our Hotel. Please know that I have personally spoken with the appropriate department leaders so that we can take the necessary corrective action and prevent any of such occasions in the future.

As a guest of Hilton Hotels, I am sure you have come to expect the very finest from us, as well you should. It is my endeavor to rebuild the trust and I am hoping that in your future visits to Sacramento, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel will remain the hotel of your choice.


Best regards,

Cosmin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Arrived on a Monday at 3:20pm and was told my room was not ready. I had a conference to attend at 4:30 and wanted to shower and change. I received the standard line from the front desk that check in begins at 4pm. Are you kidding? Room was finally available at 4:05 pm. Not a good start. The hotel is very dated and tired. Layout is poor, like a 60's style motel that was pieced together with long hallways connecting each building. Room was OK but the noise coming from the bathroom vent was so loud that I had to sleep with the door to the bathroom shut. Staff was friendly and apologetic but I would choose to go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LocoTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosminNicula, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Loco Travelers,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent visit at the DoubleTree Hotel. Without constructive feedback from a guest such as yourself, it is not possible for our company to measure the quality of service provided.

I would like to thank you for the feedback and offer my sincere apologies to you for the inconveniences you encountered while a guest in our Hotel. Please know that your feedback will be used to improve and learn.

As a guest of Hilton Hotels, I am sure you have come to expect the very finest from us, as well you should. It is my endeavor to rebuild the trust and I am hoping that in your future visits to Sacramento, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel will remain the hotel of your choice.


Best regards,

Cosmin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
#9 of 81 in Sacramento
808 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
#10 of 81 in Sacramento
477 reviews
4.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,547 reviews
1.9 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 81 in Sacramento
438 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento
Address: 2001 Point West Way, Sacramento, CA 95815-4702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento 3.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Sacramento is a full-service, environmentally friendly hotel in Sacramento, centrally located to all of the exciting attractions and happenings in Sacramento. Located in the Point West Marketplace, our Sacramento hotel is within walking distance to the region's largest shopping mall, Arden Fair, featuring over 165 specialty stores. The Sacramento area welcomes business and leisure travelers with award-winning shopping, dining, and entertainment options. Conveniently located off Business 80, our hotel is just 5 minutes from downtown Sacramento, the State Capitol, Sacramento Convention Center, and Old Sacramento. We are 12 miles from the Sacramento International Airport (SMF), and provide convenient, ample parking. Boasting some of the largest guest rooms in Sacramento, each of our 448 non-smoking beautifully appointed rooms offers brand new Sweet Dream beds, an ergonomically designed workstation equipped with a two line phone and voicemail, and Internet service. Amenities include a hairdryer, luxurious bath amenities, an iron and ironing board, an alarm clock with MP3 connection, a flat screen TV with a variety of cable channels, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Doubletree
Doubletree Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing