We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento
Ranked #16 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Long Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant Business Trip”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed at this property during a 3-day business trip. The check-in was smooth and the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. As always, the chocolate chips cookies were delicious. I was assigned a room in the Arden wing, 2nd floor, 1 queen. The room was recently remodeled and had newer carpet, desk, dresser, and LG flatscreen TV. The bathroom had a granite counter and a newer sink fixture. The toilet kept running and most likely needed a new flapper. The shower enclosure was older as was the fixture. The shower made a loud whining sound when in use. There was in room coffee available, however it did not use it. The hotel has a restaurant and bar in location, which make it convenient. I did not use either of these amenities as there are many dining options nearby and the Arden Mall across the street. There is a small pool, which many guest used. The bed was comfortable, but the walls are thin and the sounds of other guess resinated through the walls. Overall, this is a nice hotel with has many good things going for it. I would stay here again when I return to Sacramento

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mars314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for reviewing us! We appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. We are looking into the issues you encountered during your stay, and they will be addressed. We look forward to your return, and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    411
    262
    155
    108
See reviews for
237
143
79
797
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

A nice DoubleTree. Not the nicest, but it's fine. It definitely seemed like an older property that needed some attention. The room was nice, though, and the staff was very helpful and courteous. They charge for parking, which did not make much sense in that neighborhood, but when I told the clerk I would park in the street, she gave me a free pass because I had arrived so late and did not want me to have to get up early to move the car to avoid a ticket.
We got a great rate through a discount site, but I likely would not stay here if I had to pay the full rate.
Overall, if I were in the area and found a good rate, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are happy to report that we are currently in the process of renovating our guest rooms. We hope that you'll join us again so we may exceed your expectations. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is nothing exciting, but then again it is nothing disappointing. Rooms are ok, needs are a little uncomfortable, but just when compared to other hotels. You have to pay for parking and internet, which is a little cheap of them. The bar and restaurant can be a little ghostly on some nights, but food is not bad. There are also good options next door in the elephant bar or over the road in bj's. The mall over the road also allows for some distractions and had a decent cinema in it. Location odd the thing that sells this hotel really.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for reviewing us! We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and the surrounding area. We understand if the extra fees seem inconvenient. We hope that you'll join us again so we are able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed here for a conference awhile back. Rooms can be pretty far off from the front desk-restaurant area, so ask for a close-in room if you have walking problems. They were repaving the parking lot, so that was a bit inconvenient. They are directly across the road from Arden Mall, but you really need a car to get across the street! Very Quiet and peaceful area. The conference provided meals were great!!! Haven’t seen such great catering in quite a long time. Had a bit of a delay getting a frig brought up to our room. If you need one, make sure to order one as part of making a reservation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cal-Silver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for a great review! We apologize if we were unable to live up to your expectations. We hope that you'll join us again soon, so we may show you the world-class-service we truly wish to offer our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Wow, I don’t even know where to begin. In a word, this hotel is disgusting. First, I was given no soap with which to take a shower when I got in at 2 am. The next day of my stay, luckily enough, I did get soap, but then noticed that the shower curtain was covered in disgusting black splotches everywhere and smelled heavily of mildew as if someone had used it to clean out the piping to the toilet and hung it back up. Second, the air conditioning was laughable. This is Sacramento. It was 97 degrees outside and I had the air on at 61 and on “high” and it never stopped being anything but sweltering in my room. Third, I called the hotel before I arrived and asked if the internet in the rooms was free and I was assured that it was. As it turns out, however, that was a lie. You must pay for the internet in the rooms. Fourth, I have never slept on a less comfortable bed. I have several sores along my body where springs poked into me all night. Half the channels on the TV didn’t work- no nickelodeon, no comedy central. I wondered about amenities in the hotel, but the book explaining all of that in the room had half the pages ripped out. The pages that were there referred me to a card on my desk that simply wasn’t there. Fifth, the walls are paper thin. If your neighbor is watching gay porn at 3 am on full blast, well, so are you and your kids. Oh yeah, they charge you $8 per day to park in the parking lot of the hotel. Otherwise, you have to park on the street and hike up to the hotel with all your bags. The worst part about that is that there is a huge parking lot in front of the hotel that is chained off and unused. I guess they couldn't find a way to install pay kiosks out front. So, in order to charge everyone for parking, they removed the best parking at the hotel, just to force anyone unfortunate enough to stay here to pay for parking. This is Sacramento and the hotel isn’t in the nicest part of town either . . . I worried all night about my rental car being broken into or stolen. I’ve stayed in lots of hotels in Sacramento and never had one charge for parking. It’s ridiculous to charge for it. I can stay at hotels for half the price and get free parking and free internet and clean shower curtains. Unfortunately, I booked the hotel through hotwire, so I didn’t know what I was getting into. So, avoid “three star” hotels in the arden area if you’re booking on hotwire and stay away from this nightmare of a hotel. I called their "care line" only to be told that because I had booked on hotwire, they could not refund my stay. They offered to move me to another room, but I told them that the problem was obviously with the hotel and so they did nothing for me.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davemang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. We deeply apologize for the troubles you went through. Please understand that we are looking into the issues that you mentioned, and they will be addressed appropriately. We hope that you'll give us another chance so we may make up to you for the experiences you had. Please join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night recently. I was disgusted by the hair I found everywhere in the bathroom. There was a used Qtip on the floor near the sink and a used wash cloth hanging over the shower curtain bar. There was so much lint and dirt on the carpet I kept my shoes on. The linens smelled clean and I HOPE they were but I won't stay at this hotel again. There was a buildup of soapscum and dirt around the faucet and trash under the desk. What the heck?

Room Tip: Don't stayuntil they clean the place up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melody F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you went through during your stay. Please let us know how we may make it up to you! We hope that you'll join us again soon, so we may show you the world-class-service we hope to portray to each guest. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topanga, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Recently stayed a long weekend at this Doubletree Hilton property. The location is good if your destination is CalExpo, which is about a 10 minute walk through a residential neighborhood. Basically, you turn right from the lobby and walk down Point West Way, turn left on Response Road, right on Heritage and you’re at CalExpo.

If you need to shop for anything, Arden Fair Mall is within sight in the other direction though across a busy multi-lane roadway. Downtown isn’t too far away though not exactly what I would call convenient and if that was my destination I would probably select from one of the many lodging choices there.

The property is “gi-normous” as the front desk staff who checked me in described and also the TripAdvisor reviewers have commented upon. The guest rooms are in wings that radiate like wheel spokes from the main building which has the lobby and restaurant. Parking is charged and you get a card that lets you out of the gated parking. I believe they charge you for internet access, which seems petty given the prevalent practice in the hotel industry. They have a business center, exercise area, and a pool.

The pool seemed popular especially among children that weekend. The grounds seemed clutter free and I only saw one guest all weekend smoking outside the doors. My check in and check out were problem free and the desk staff was courteous and efficient. Who doesn’t appreciate a warm just-baked cookie upon arrival? They also keep a refreshment station by the front door with lemon water and so forth, which is a blessing on a hot day. The weekend I was there, many guests seemed to be part of a conference or club of some kind.

I did not have any problems with my room which was clean and well kept. Rooms even have a balcony though I didn’t see anyone using them. It wasn’t particularly quiet and from my room I could literally hear every little sound from the halls – the sounds even seemed amplified -- like the ice cubes creaking in the ice machine, the other guests going in and out of the rooms, the staff going about their business and every word of their conversations, the t.v. of a guest down the hall through their room door and mine.

In summary, I recommend this property primarily for access to CalExpo. I wasn’t thrilled with the parking charge, the internet charge, and the hallway-noise-amplifying rooms. However, the location is good, the neighborhood safe, and the physical plant quite nice. If I had future business requiring access to CalExpo, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay attention to the front desk staff's directions. They give you a little map of the property w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J13345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We apologize if you encountered issues with noise or if any of the charges seemed unreasonable. We look forward to your return, and hope that you'll join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
#10 of 81 in Sacramento
834 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,612 reviews
4.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
1.9 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#13 of 81 in Sacramento
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento
Address: 2001 Point West Way, Sacramento, CA 95815-4702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento 3.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Sacramento is a full-service, environmentally friendly hotel in Sacramento, centrally located to all of the exciting attractions and happenings in Sacramento. Located in the Point West Marketplace, our Sacramento hotel is within walking distance to the region's largest shopping mall, Arden Fair, featuring over 165 specialty stores. The Sacramento area welcomes business and leisure travelers with award-winning shopping, dining, and entertainment options. Conveniently located off Business 80, our hotel is just 5 minutes from downtown Sacramento, the State Capitol, Sacramento Convention Center, and Old Sacramento. We are 12 miles from the Sacramento International Airport (SMF), and provide convenient, ample parking. Boasting some of the largest guest rooms in Sacramento, each of our 448 non-smoking beautifully appointed rooms offers brand new Sweet Dream beds, an ergonomically designed workstation equipped with a two line phone and voicemail, and Internet service. Amenities include a hairdryer, luxurious bath amenities, an iron and ironing board, an alarm clock with MP3 connection, a flat screen TV with a variety of cable channels, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Doubletree
Doubletree Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing