We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfy bed, good location, quiet, but not the best value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento
Ranked #15 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Santa Rosa, California
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Clean, comfy bed, good location, quiet, but not the best value”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I had a good night sleep, which is my main goal. No noise issues like others on the first floor complained about. I even faced the busy road and the low level roar didn't bother me. I like the firm bed with cush tops and down pillows, but if youre allergic to feathers I imagine you could ask for a change. I didn't like paying $8 for parking and there is no free breakfast ($14 for breakfast buffet) which brings the value down in my books.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    400
    256
    155
    104
See reviews for
233
140
78
780
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The facility is huge, I was shocked. It is right across from the Arden Hills Mall so lots of restaurants nearby/within walking distance. But the facility should be updated. The bathroom door wouldn't stay open, so during a shower it started to smell like mildew/mold. They also charged for parking, which doesn't make any sense unless they are trying to keep the mall people away.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkinney4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This is a large hotel. It's great for business meetings. The location is perfect: across from Arden West Mall. The stores include Macy's, JC Penney's, Nordstroms, Sears, and more. Also, there is a restaurant across the street called The Elephant Talk. I'll dine there soon. Overall, the rooms are pretty nice.

Room: My room was on the ground floor (LL) and I had double beds.. I feel that I'm under the earth, but the room is large. Also, there is a large closet that you could actually walk in; separate area for bathroom and an area where you can make your coffee. There is a desk with chair, flat screen TV, three chairs, luggage rack, and plenty of wall outlets. The doors open from the outside by "opening out" instead of pushing in. I do feel that the door needs repainting. It appears to be a bit old.

Be prepared to walk far to the lobby. I didn't have a view. My room was part of a maze and then I had to go down 1 floor on the elevator to access it. Bring your pedometer because you'll get plenty of exercise.

Restaurant: I dined at the restaurant. My grilled salmon was over-cooked; charred. I sent it back. My waiter understood and positively asked if I wanted something else. I requested the Napa salad. After I requested the salad, the manager and the hostess came to my table to check on my request. They were truly interested in making sure that I had a dining experience. The salad had fresh lettuce and I was very pleased.

There is a health facility in the hotel. Adequate meeting rooms. The lobby floors were clean.

I like this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't accept anything on "LL." You will be beneath the Earth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank houtravelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwater, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stayed here for a business conference. Rooms were standard but expensive. Parking was $8 a day even for guests ...maybe common for Sacramento?? Had nice bar and restaurant and right across the street from huge mall and restaurants. Kind of noisy in my building as right by the highway but a pretty good hotel overall.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePriceFamily2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
temecula
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Hotel is kept very nice. It is clean and the rooms are in good condition. It is a bit big for the average business traveler, but it has good amenities and customer service. There is a young lady that works at the front desk named Jamie, she is outstanding! Thank you Jamie for making me feel welcome!
Lots of shopping and restaurants in walking distance. My only dismay was the restaurant on property. The food doesn't rate as most Hilton properties.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to stay here! Do expect to walk a lot. It is a very large convention hotel. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingmaxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The hotel is expansive and difficult to navigate but the amenities are excellent. The free breakfast buffet is complete and quite delicious. Nothing beats the gravy that is a must have. Hotel rooms are spacious and front desk staff always remembers the name of the repeat visitors like myself.

Room Tip: Request the Cal-Expo wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I patronize Hilton properties on a regular basis and this one does not stand out from other experiences. The rooms are comfortable-spacious and clean. You do walk a lot-this is quite the expansive hotel! Decor is a bit out of date, although there are some modern touches. Staff follows the rules to the letter-no going out of one's way to give you extra perks or add that something nice to your day! Don't get me wrong-they are professional, but my normal experience is the staff at Hilton properties always go that extra mile to make your stay a bit more enjoyable.

Was here for a convention in downtown. Easy public transportation options from this site as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
#11 of 81 in Sacramento
822 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
4.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
1.9 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#13 of 81 in Sacramento
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento
Address: 2001 Point West Way, Sacramento, CA 95815-4702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento 3.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Sacramento is a full-service, environmentally friendly hotel in Sacramento, centrally located to all of the exciting attractions and happenings in Sacramento. Located in the Point West Marketplace, our Sacramento hotel is within walking distance to the region's largest shopping mall, Arden Fair, featuring over 165 specialty stores. The Sacramento area welcomes business and leisure travelers with award-winning shopping, dining, and entertainment options. Conveniently located off Business 80, our hotel is just 5 minutes from downtown Sacramento, the State Capitol, Sacramento Convention Center, and Old Sacramento. We are 12 miles from the Sacramento International Airport (SMF), and provide convenient, ample parking. Boasting some of the largest guest rooms in Sacramento, each of our 448 non-smoking beautifully appointed rooms offers brand new Sweet Dream beds, an ergonomically designed workstation equipped with a two line phone and voicemail, and Internet service. Amenities include a hairdryer, luxurious bath amenities, an iron and ironing board, an alarm clock with MP3 connection, a flat screen TV with a variety of cable channels, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Doubletree
Doubletree Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing