We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent rooms. Terrible food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento
Ranked #15 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent rooms. Terrible food.”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I recently stayed while attending a conference in Sacramento. The rooms were nice, but the bath tub was a little gross. I got food poisoning from the chicken lunch that was served during the second day of the conference. You are better off eating at a near by restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikobi45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    395
    252
    153
    100
See reviews for
224
139
78
771
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Stayed at the hotel for a conference 09/19 through 09/22. Check in was easy with the maps and directions to our room. However, as I was walking to my room a coworker asked what I thought of the Hotel signature cookie? Well, what cookie was my answer. Since this is the big signature of the hotel they sure failed at this major initial step. However, cookies aside, the actual running of the hotel was fine. The room was nice and clean with two beds, desk, computer work space, large flat screen TV, coffee maker and creamer, nice towels and a good air conditioning system. I needed more hangers and the room attendant in the next room was nice about giving me those from that room. As the week progressed the room was always cleaned first thing in the morning which was much appreciated. I give a lot of credit to the hotel staff for running such a large conference oriented hotel. I would not stay here with my family as a destination but for a conference, it meets all of the travelers needs. Except of course if you are hungry for a cookie!

Room Tip: Higher floor so you don't hear the people above you walking around. Ask for a room overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We held a reunion at the DoubleTree Hotel last weekend and the staff couldn't have been nicer or easier to work with. We got cooperation in every aspect of the planning and hosting. There was a problem with the reservation people being aware of the event but Amy in the catering department fixed it but not before it cost them some overnight guests. The room we stayed in was very nicely done, spacious and quiet. Breakfast in the coffee shop the following morning was very nice with one the sweetest waitresses I've ever met making it a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ready2go14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a Statewide conference on the 12th-14th of September 2011. I have absolutely no complaints to make about this hotel. From the minute we checked in, the service was marvelous. The gentleman checking us in was very pleasant and efficient. We did get a little turned around once and asked a passing employee for directions. He didn't just point; rather he went out of his way to take us to our destination. The hotel is large, and the wings are connected by passages that do look alike and can be confusing. This is not a hotel I would select for a vacation, but for a function of any size, it's perfect! There are large ballrooms and then smaller conference rooms, all of which were clean and well maintained. The hotel catered our lunch both days, and the food was excellent! The grounds are very well kept and the parking areas were clean. Our room was very pleasant; large and clean. There is a vanity area separate from the bathroom, which was very convenient. The shower was nice, with good pressure. The furnishings are modern and attractive, with an HD flatscreen TV. No refrigerator or microwave, though, which would have been nice. The Arden Fair Mall is across the main street and is enormous, with dozens of stores. There is a great Cheesecake Factory and many other places to eat. There is also an Elephant Bar across a side street from the hotel and is within very easy walking distance. All in all, I would heartily recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We were in the "El Dorado" wing, and never heard a sound from anyone else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsskceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Our stay was pleasant until one evening when about 1:30 AM another party came back to his room with a bunch of LOUD people, talking very loudly in the corridor and foul language blasting through the door and walls. Mind you, they were only two rooms over from us. I figured they would go inside and quiet down. That would have been fine but they ended up talking outside on the balcony LOUDLY About 3:00 AM I had enough of the inconsiderate behavior and phoned the front desk after which obtaining their room number. Security came to the room pounding on their door at least five times before they could hear that someone was at their door. Security had asked them to quiet down. The guy in the room told him "they were just hanging out" after security left everything went back to as it was and we did our best to drown out their noise. I was tempted to phone again and probably should have, I was pretty ticked off. About 5:00 AM it was quiet. This definitely ruined my sleep and we had plans for a very long day out. It was hot while staying in this city to boot and so our day was spent in an irritable mood ALL day! I feel that security should have had them leave and also for the law "fire policy" There were too many people in that room! As far as the hotel is concerned it's clean, well maintained. Their pool is beautiful and refreshing but not heated. The workers at the hotel are accommodating and gracious. The rooms have a slider door but no screen. Would have been nice to have a screen on the door. But, as for the evening of "hell" having had the door open would have been fruitless. Also no chairs for the balcony. They need out door chairs there with a table. That would have been nice. Of course there is always one bad apple to ruin someone's sleep but with a hotel with such a high reputation and being on the up scale side they should not let this occur. There is a bar in the hotel this person with his friends could have gone to the bar and as far as "hanging out" that many people did not belong in that one room. You may agree or not agree it is my feeling and my opinion. I might add we had visited the "Elephant Bar" across from the hotel. Up scale place, good food, great environment. A variety of food on the menu. We had a good time there. All over old town is an excellent place to browse around, take in museums etc....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avenger90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

The best thing about this hotel is the gym. Though small, it has all the necessities and is very clean.

The layout of this hotel is pretty strange. There is the main building, with the usual coffee bar, restaurant, check in, etc. From there, you walk through second floor corridors that connect to several "arms" of the hotel, where there are 4 levels of rooms. The only other access to these other buildings is through hidden, nondescript doors. At night, these entrances are poorly lit and a bit scary to use.

The tub in our room had a very slow draining drain, and I called to ask for someone to come up and take a look. I don't know if anyone actually did any work, as there was no note left, or follow up of any kind, and I didn't notice any difference in the drain in the 4 days of our stay.

Also, on one occasion, housekeeping cleaned our room without leaving any fresh bath towels. I tracked down the lady with the cart in the hallway and asked for some towels. I was told that they had run out. Clean towels seem to be in short supply at the pool, too. Upon arriving at the pool on our first day, I noticed a lot of used towels strewn about but no clean ones in the cabinet. I had to call 3 times before someone came around to replenish the towels.

Also, be aware that the fairgrounds are nearby, and there may be a lot of night time noise due to concerts, fireworks, etc. I happened to stay at the hotel during the state fair, and there was a lot of noise.

On several occasions, I walked to and from my room and noticed the same discarded room service trays in front of doors left there over the course of several hours.

There are no refrigerators in the rooms, so if you take snacks back to your room, they should be non-perishable.

The restaurant in the lobby is on par with your typical Denny's or Coco's.

Overall, it was tolerable, but is that what you really want to say about a hotel?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarinaMusica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I read the reviews on trip advisor before staying at this hotel. I did look for other hotels in the area because the reviews for this hotel weren't that great, but decided to stay here because the wedding we were attending was at this location. So my review is relative to my expecations. I did not expect much of this place, but was pleasantly surprised. While it is not a luxury hotel by any means, for the price (half the price stated on the trip advisor site, got hotel through "hotels with extra rooms site") it was great. Hotel towels were thin, and bathroom smelled a little of mildew, but room was clean and remodeled. Bathroom was decent. For the price of a motel 6, I would much rather stay here.

Room Tip: Get the cookies from the front desk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaqquitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
Hilton Sacramento Arden West
#9 of 81 in Sacramento
808 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
#10 of 81 in Sacramento
477 reviews
4.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,548 reviews
1.9 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 81 in Sacramento
438 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento
Address: 2001 Point West Way, Sacramento, CA 95815-4702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento 3.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Sacramento is a full-service, environmentally friendly hotel in Sacramento, centrally located to all of the exciting attractions and happenings in Sacramento. Located in the Point West Marketplace, our Sacramento hotel is within walking distance to the region's largest shopping mall, Arden Fair, featuring over 165 specialty stores. The Sacramento area welcomes business and leisure travelers with award-winning shopping, dining, and entertainment options. Conveniently located off Business 80, our hotel is just 5 minutes from downtown Sacramento, the State Capitol, Sacramento Convention Center, and Old Sacramento. We are 12 miles from the Sacramento International Airport (SMF), and provide convenient, ample parking. Boasting some of the largest guest rooms in Sacramento, each of our 448 non-smoking beautifully appointed rooms offers brand new Sweet Dream beds, an ergonomically designed workstation equipped with a two line phone and voicemail, and Internet service. Amenities include a hairdryer, luxurious bath amenities, an iron and ironing board, an alarm clock with MP3 connection, a flat screen TV with a variety of cable channels, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Doubletree
Doubletree Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing