We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn
Ranked #34 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Reno, United States
1 review
“Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Although the hotel is in what seems to be an undesirable location (not really close to downtown or other amenities) it was a great place and kept very nice. The pool was clean but it wasn't heated so I was unable to use it on the cool days we were in Sacramento.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    68
    33
    20
    11
See reviews for
59
44
22
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
352 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife & I have stayed at the J.J. Inn over the past 15 years. In days gone by, it was a great place to stay. As of our last two stays (a week apart), we're at a point of looking for a better place to stay. Over the years we've upgraded (via AAA) to the Business Suite (they have 2 of them) and I'm sorry to say that it isn't very well kept. The pull-out sofa needs replacing; the water pressure was poor; the breakfast has gone down hill (the milk curdled in my cereal and hot chocolate); and the selection has decreased. If you use the pool, don't expect your door key to allow you back in. Instead, you'll have to walk around to the front entrance. And why would so many lamps be unplugged? Seems they aren't taking care of the facility as in the past.

Room Tip: Try the 3rd floor. That way, you won't be awakened by the headlights of late-arriving guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steversjunk2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Over the last few months we have stayed at this motel on several occasions. The first time we stayed, we were pleasantly surprised at the outward appearance of the building and the cleanliness of the interior (the motel desk area, the breakfast area and the rooms). Our last stay was for 5 nights. The breakfast is not gourmet, but very simple and variable. The motel has a fine manager and staff. We shall be returning there in the very near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjb021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We chose this property due to its location since we were there for surgery for my husband at the Kaiser facility and we could not have chosen anywhere better. The professionalism and compassion, at all hours, could not have been better. Kudos to the manager and all the front desk staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank seniorongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Long story but my family, my two stupid dogs and our 26 ft. Penske moving truck needed an "emergency" hotel for two nights over Labor Day weekend. Not much available at 11:30 pm on a Friday holiday night. We found a suite room for $115.00 a night at the John Jay Inn.

Very easy on and off the highway. The room was huge. It was really two rooms with a fridge and microwave. Two TV's-- one in the bedroom and one in the sitting room area. I'm not going to lie this place was kind of a dive. Very old and outdated. However, the place was spotless clean. The free breakfast was great. And the staff was fantastic. The pool and hot tub were also very well maintained.

Hope we never have an emergency like that again but I'm very grateful that the John Jay Best Western was there for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travlnwith2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herrin, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Nice hotel to meet basic needs. The breakfast was a bit lacking, but everything else was great. Clean room, very comfortable bed, and most important it was very quiet. My wife and I have decided this will be our base station on our next trip to Sacramento.

Room Tip: Inexpensive, yet good quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rexr483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Peekskill, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is on the lower edge od Sacramento and is away from the heaviest of traffic. The rooms we had were Clean, and the staff was very helpful especially since we were checking in at 1:30 in the morning after a long flight from New York. For our purposes (somewhere to Shower and Sleep it fit our purposes and wallets just fine for its a lot cheaper than hotels in Sacramento

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sacramento
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Elk Grove Laguna I-5
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Sacramento/Elk Grove
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento Elk Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sacramento Elk Grove
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elk Grove East
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn
Address: 15 Massie Court, Sacramento, CA 95823-4301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Best Western, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing