We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not in Love” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Sacramento Capital Center

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Sacramento Capital Center to your Saves list
Travelodge Sacramento Capital Center
1111 H. Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
dave
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not in Love”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

I don't normally go this far, but I would never stay at this hotel again, nor would I recommend it to anyone else. Personnel are friendly enough, but the stay is not worth the money. The hotel is very dirty, the breakfast is seriously lacking (although the cockroaches seem to like it), and the area has nothing going on in the evening. No fridge, no iron (but an ironing board), and a very small bed (even for super-snugglers). Stay somewhere less specialized and more down-to-earth.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spunkmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Eureka, Ca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2007

My father and I recently stayed here when we came to Sacramento for a family reunion. The place is nice, nothing spectacular. The staff was friendly. Yes, you will hear sirens as the emergency vehicles race by. You will also hear the Amtrak horns from the station that's 1/2 mile away. These don't/didn't bother me, but I can understand how it would for others. There is one restaurant across the street (Sophia) which is really nice, but they have limited hours of operation. If you're hungry when they are closed, you have to walk several blocks to find another place, or order a pizza in, or as a last resort, feed the vending machines in the "courtyard". My main complaint was the beds. I found them to be as hard as rocks. It was very difficult for me to get comfortable, and I would waken with my lower back screaming in pain. So, if you are on a budget, this place is satisfactory. Nothing special. But if you want more amenities, then I'd spend the extra money and stay at a more upscale place.

  • Liked — Close to Amtrak
  • Disliked — The beds were very uncomfortable.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sun35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

This place is a shack. Old building, old paint, old elevator, old furniture... my room was clean, though. But the bath tub was completely clogged.

Parking is very crowded. Cars coming in an out (and driving by) make more noise than most people would like. There is a apparently a railroad not far from the hotel. The trains aren't too obnoxious, but again, louder than you would expect.

The hotel is run by some Indian dude and his wife. They live in a building that stands in the hotel yard, and the reception desk is nothing more than the back room of their apartment. You can see the other living areas (beds, TV, table, etc.) when they open the door. They act very unprofessional, staying most of the time inside their "apartment" and mostly coming out when a doorbell rings.

If you arrive late, you'll be checked in through a window. I had to stand for >10 minutes out in the cold waiting while that dude was trying to figure out what was going on with his computer.

"Continental breakfast" is a joke. There was one (sic) bagel and one muffin, a bowl of jam packs, and about 2 glasses of orange juice in a dull-glass pitcher.

Free wi-fi is ok, but don't expect to find a printer there. Not even for a fee.

Personally, next time I would rather pay and extra $25 and stay at the Holiday Inn Express across the road.

  • Liked — At least the room was clean
  • Disliked — Uncaring staff; poor overall feel
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank summit3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County CA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2007

This review is based on my first and last experience with the hotel.

Parking is a nightmare! I trained at a gym in Sacramento and when I returned back in the morning to start my day all the spaces were taken, when I enquired about this, it turns out they sell the spaces to the city workers downtown so I ended up having to pay the parking meters. Also one evening my trash cans from the room were left outside my door with no liner in them. I had to go to the front desk to get more towels since they neglected to put fresh ones in the room. The carpets are stained and nasty looking, and to top it all off the last day I was here when i arrived back at my room in the evening it hadnt even been cleaned! When I called the front desk to voice my displeasure with this I was just told "sorry about that"I would give this place zero stars if I were allowed to. My recomendation is to search elsewhere, this place is awful!

  • Liked — internet access
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelingfool123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2007

Following a reduction in the number of nights we had in the Pacific due to bad weather, we arrived in the USA a couple of days earlier than planned and with our first port of call San Francisco already booked, we fancied trying somewhere different for a couple of nights so booked a cheap flight from LA to Sacramento on Southwest.

We booked the Travelodge Capital Center as it was quite reasonable at $65 + tax a night and after a long flight from the Cook Islands to LA, and then a short flight from LA we arrived in Sacramento early evening.

First impressions were ok. It looked like a typical run of the mill Travelodge and we were checked in smoothly, although the lady on the front desk could have smiled a bit more!!!

Room was dated, but clean. The king bed was amazing, although anything was going to feel like that after 6 months of hard beds, camping and hostels previous on our trip. The bathroom area was very small, and the shower and cubicle although powerful could have been better.

Location was good, slightly shady area although there was a Best Western almost opposite the hotel. All the attractions were about 10-15min walk away, we particularly enjoyed the old part of Sacramento, and the Capitol and gardens, very pleasant.

We had no real problems with the hotel but I don't think I would stay there again. In fact I don't think we would return to Sacramento, it was ok for 2 nights but there is obviously more for the tourist orientated to do in the big cities on the west coast. Although saying that we found the Sacramento people to be very friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Location was good
  • Disliked — Tired rooms and unhelpful staff
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ju123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2006

I booked this hotel for a conference because the recommended hotel was full. Here are some notes on my experience:

1. The hotel is filthy. Crumbs in the elevator, peeling wallpaper, general ickyness.

2. The hotel is run-down. If you're not too worried about it, this isn't a big deal. Just know that it is really, really shabby.

3. The employees are incompetent. It took literally four trips up and back to my room before anyone could figure out how to make a key that actually opened the door.

4. Totally unsafe, with a staff unresponsive to saftety issues. A woman and two men had a raging fight outside my door around 8 PM (her screaming: "He's stealing my purse! Let go of me! Help!!"). The fight escalated and then continued in to the room directly next to mine. I called the front desk, and they said they'd be up right away, but no one came. Fifteen minutes into the fight, fearing for my own safety, I checked out.

5. Oh yeah, and there were no security locks on the inside of the door.

Sure, it is walking distance to the Convention Center, but really, think twice about this one. Not worth it.

  • Liked — Cheap as anything.
  • Disliked — Everything. Lack of safety and security.
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay away!!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Esoterica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2005

The location of the hotel can hardly be beat. Walking disctance to downtown Sacramneto, the State Capitol, Convention Center, and plenty of restaurants and shopping. Rooms were clean and service was good. They offer free High Speed Internet and a continental breakfast. Rooms were clean and seemed a little dated but again very clean. A great value and a great location are the key assets to this hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Yoshizomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.6 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.6 mi away
Inn off Capitol Park
Inn off Capitol Park
#38 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Sacramento Capital Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Sacramento Capital Center

Address: 1111 H. Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Travelodge Sacramento Capital Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge Sacramento
Sacramento Travel Lodge
Sacramento Travelodge
Travelodge Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#