We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Old Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed February 23, 2009

This is a budget hotel in a decent location - especially for those checking out Old Town Sacramento. Based on the reviews we read, the hotel was what we expected - an average decent place for a one night stay. We're fairly light sleepers and didn't have any problems with the noise, but as recommended, we asked for the quietest room possible (3rd floor facing another building). The breakfast was mediocre at best - but for $89 a night, we didn't expect much. They had waffles, bagels, bananas, and some cereals along with coffee and tea. The free parking was a bonus, and the staff were helpful (not overly so, but certainly not rude or stand-offish).

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
35  Thank Mobile_Mirandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, general manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2009

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We welcome all comments about your stay .
I hope if you are in Sacramento you will visit us again.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (937)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

867 - 873 of 937 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2009

This hotel is definitely my home base when I'm in Sacramento (once or twice a month). They do just about everything right.

The staff are fantastic. They are polite and attentive. The check-in desk is efficient. Any time I've brought up an issue, they have been quick to resolve it.

The rooms are clean and relatively new (compared to similar Sacramento properties which I admit is not saying much). Rooms have a fridge and microwave. There's a nice long counter in the bathroom area. In-room internet is wired and very fast.

Only downside, and I admit it can be a liability especially for sensitive people like me, is that the area is loud. I-5 is a stone's throw away, and the Amtrak station is across the street. However, I find with some white noise (the fan) I manage fine.

Really this place is a very good value. On my personal scale, the quality of the service and the rooms is quite a find for this area.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
36  Thank petercs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2008

My sister and Aunt and I stayed here for 4 nights, the location was great we were across the street from Old Sacramento and walking distance to alot of places. The room was nice and the beds were comfy, and the continental breakfast was wonderful, with hot and cold cereral, waffles and pretty good coffee actually. I would recommend this for anyone wanting a great value and nice location. The only complaint I had was there was 3 of us ladies and they really needed to stock the washclothes and towels a little more liberal, but they were very accommodating when asked. It had a fitness room eventho we never had time to use it but the little courtyard was a nice place to sit and have breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
39  Thank burnacea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, general manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2008

Thank You for your review of your stay at Vagabond Old Town. We always welcome any comments from our guests to help improve their stay with us. We hope you will come stay with us again.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2008

There are some very good things about this property :
The location is very close to Old Town & the Capitol.
The staff was very nice.
The rooms are not bad.
The free breakfast is not great, but it's ok.
The pool is nice.
The pricing is fair.

There are some other things you should know :
If you are security concious this is NOT the place for you- the property is wide open on all four sides. Some interesting folks wander through at night.
It is next door to a Denny's that is the first Denny's I have seen with a security guard.
It is indeed quite noisy at night- I turned the fan on for white noise & that made it workable.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank denygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, general manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2008

Thank You for your comments of our hotel.
We do hope you will try us again. .
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

I experienced significant noise issues similar to those noted in other reviews. One night I called the front desk because of a party in rooms below mine that had also spilled into the parking lot; the front desk said they would send over Security and after about 15 minutes the noise died down. However, two hours later (1:45 a.m.) the party had spread and it was incredibly noisy - I called again and this time there was no change after my call. My room was right around the corner from the lobby so the front desk had to be aware of the situation and they ended up being neither proactive nor reactive. Despite other things to commend this property, I cannot advise anyone staying there due to the noise issues.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank IdahoBased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, general manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2008

I'm sorry your stay was distrubed by the noise
outside. We did have a couple of groups staying with us. I most definitely will speak with my staff to make sure this does not happen again. And thank you for your comments.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

We just got back from an extended Labor Day weekend stay at this hotel. We booked it because of its location (walking distance to Old Sacramento), but because of the price we were only expecting "okay."
This place is amazing! The rooms were well-appointed and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud it was so comfy! The extra bonus of having a fridge and a microwave in the room helped defray our meal costs as did the excellent continental breakfast the hotel provides. If you stay here, try one of their make-your-own waffles.
The staff was friendly and always helpful any time we went into the office to ask questions, get directions, etc. We were very impressed overall with our stay here and recommend any one interested in staying in Sacramento, and want to do it for a lot less than the Holiday Inn across the street, to stay here.
And when you are in the office checking in, be sure to pick up some cookies. They are in a green basket on the counter.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
41  Thank VenusRising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Clean facility with superb location. There is nothing fancy but nothing wrong either. If you are here for a day or two only then this is a good place to stay.

Stayed: July 2008
40  Thank 606zpx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, general manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2008

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your postive comments and hope to see you again.
Mangement and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 82 in Sacramento
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
0.9 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#15 of 82 in Sacramento
509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delta King
Delta King
#17 of 82 in Sacramento
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town

Address: 909 3rd St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#19 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#25 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: $112 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn Executive hotel in Sacramento (Old Town) is located just off I-5 and a half block from Old Town Sacramento. From here you can walk to the Capitol, Crocker Art Museum, and Downtown Plaza. Our Old Town hotel is only minutes to the Sacramento Zoo, Fort Sutter and outdoor recreation activities in the Sacramento Area. Our hotel in Old town Sacramento serves a daily, complimentary, continental breakfast, and free wireless internet. At the end of a long day take a swim in our pool, soak in our spa, get in a work out in our fitness room or watch cable TV with HBO. For business travelers, our Business Friendly rooms have ample work space and a large TV with remote control. We also have rooms that are handicap accessible. Please inquire with the hotel about availability. For your added convenience, the free high speed Internet is available in all rooms. There is a restaurant on the premises and a complimentary shuttle to Sacramento International Airport, train and bus stations. We do not accept pets. Great value, friendly people- it's how we do things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Executive Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing