We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aging with grace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Ranked #10 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Aging with grace”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is nicely located near both old town Sacramento and downtown Sacramento along with being blocks away from the capital.. Reasonably priced, clean room, and friendly staff.. Definite bang for the buck..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We are delighted to hear that you so enjoyed your time with us! We do hope to see you again on your next visit to Sacramento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    388
    143
    58
    29
See reviews for
239
268
104
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Hills
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2014

As a member of the CA Senior Legislature, I have the opportunity to stay at the Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town several times a year. The staff is pleasant, the room is good and the breakfast is free with something for everyone. I have to single out Dennis, the shuttle driver, however, in this review. Dennis is personable, knowledgeable, friendly, extremely helpful and always on time. I want to commend the Vagabond for having Dennis on staff. Don't let him go!!

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoy staying with us, and the Dennis especially improves upon your experience, he is truly an asset. Your complements will be passed along. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We found the rooms to be clean and comfortable. The hotels provides free breakfast which is pretty O.K. The hotel has nice pool, and is just three minutes walking distance to old town! Now for the down side- be prepared for the noise (sirens, train horns, the highway, people in and out of rooms at all hours). The fridge and microwave were great to hear micro meals!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchmo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our rooms, pool, breakfast and convenient location. We do apologize that you had an issue with the noise level. We do our best to keep things quiet but unfortunately some things are simply out of our control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Hotel staff excellent and very helpful
, shuttle service was great - all drivers pleasant and accommodating. Breakfast was excellent. Happy hour with appetizers was over the top. Convenient location - right next to old town. Room clean and beds comfortable. Will definately stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelers760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your singing review! We are delighted to hear that you so enjoyed your time with us, and that our staff was able to improve the experience for you. We are glad to see that you were able to take advantage of some of the many services and features we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Sacramento!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

If you want to be near Old Sac, this is a good location .... but, the carpets are filthy (don't go barefoot!) - my husband's feet were black from just a few steps on the floor. On a positive note, the bed was very comfortable, so perhaps that made the $100+ worth it.
We arrived late and hungry - closest place to eat was a Denny's that was about a 10 minute drive away. Not much in way of vending machines and certainly nothing open within walking distance (other than bars with closed kitchens). Next time, we'll stay at the Delta King (which was, sadly, not available this evening).

Room Tip: Might want to steer clear of rooms facing adjacent courtyard of Wong's Walk-in Clinic - unless y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tahoeblue08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. We would like to extend our apologies that the carpets in the room where you stayed were unclean. Cleanliness is of the utmost importance to us. We did attempt to make contact with you, as a means to discover which room it was, but have had no luck, and will do further investigations within the grounds to remedy the problem. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night.

Generally, the breakfast was good. Staff were okay. Location is in the middle of Old Sacramento. Not very modern, very low in nature; tends to be loud at nights where you hear prostitutes screaming. My room was good generally in terms of cleanness. I didn't like the rest room; definitely needs some upgrades. Don't have so much hopes here...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohamad87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. In the time since you have stayed with us we have updated several aspects of our rooms and grounds, including brand new 46" flat screen TVs and new toilets in all of the rooms. We do apologize for your issues with other quest noise, but if notified we have personnel around the clock who are more than happy to quiet down noisy guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

I wanted to stay right downtown
and all the big chain hotels were
Right there to choose from
But all were also around $ 180-$ 300
The Vagabon was 1970's modern
Room clean, big flat screen
Free Internet
Free parking
Walk to Starbucks , old town
$ 108

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank drinkbypool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your singing review! We are delighted to hear that you so enjoyed your time with us, and that our affordable rooms, complementary internet, single car free parking, and central location were convenient for you. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Sacramento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.9 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#16 of 81 in Sacramento
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delta King
Delta King
#18 of 81 in Sacramento
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town

Property: Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Address: 909 3rd St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2301
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#19 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#25 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn Executive hotel in Sacramento (Old Town) is located just off I-5 and a half block from Old Town Sacramento. From here you can walk to the Capitol, Crocker Art Museum, and Downtown Plaza. Our Old Town hotel is only minutes to the Sacramento Zoo, Fort Sutter and outdoor recreation activities in the Sacramento Area. Our hotel in Old town Sacramento serves a daily, complimentary, continental breakfast, and free wireless internet. At the end of a long day take a swim in our pool, soak in our spa, get in a work out in our fitness room or watch cable TV with HBO. For business travelers, our Business Friendly rooms have ample work space and a large TV with remote control. We also have rooms that are handicap accessible. Please inquire with the hotel about availability. For your added convenience, the free high speed Internet is available in all rooms. There is a restaurant on the premises and a complimentary shuttle to Sacramento International Airport, train and bus stations. We do not accept pets. Great value, friendly people- it's how we do things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Executive Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing