We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Ranked #11 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
251 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A nice surprise!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised to find how well maintained this place is. The rooms have a large flat screen TV- it was perfect for the NFL playoffs! The service was excellent. A special "shout out" to Tracey and her sister who worked in the breakfast room. They were extra friendly and entertaining. I love the location; it's a 5 minute walk to Old Sacramento and minutes from many restaurants in downtown. It is worth a stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emarsh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We are elated that you enjoyed your stay with us, and of course Tracey and her sister, two truly wonderful women. We are glad that our new tv's and convenient locations were pleasing to you. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Sacramento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    384
    138
    57
    29
See reviews for
235
264
102
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I still can not believe the amazing service we received while staying at the Vagabond Inn in December 13'. The amenities and services were outstanding and we really missed it when staying at other more expensive hotels that offered a whole lot LESS! We could not believe the low price we paid for what we received!

The customer service was amazing, the Lisa & Tracey were great to talk to while having breakfast, front desk staff were always helpful with advice and assisted us without hesitation, our shuttle bus driver (wish I could remember his name) gave us exceptional service beyond his job title, he was such a pleasure to talk to, very funny and cheerful, assisted us with great places to eat & even took us to a laundromat so we could do our washing.

The Vagabond Inn is THE place to stay in Sacramento!

Room Tip: Ambient road noise was the only issue we had, try ask for a room which has the neighbors building bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your singing review! We are delighted to hear that you so enjoyed your stay with us, and that so many people were able to improve that for you. We must agree that Lisa & Tracey are wonderful ladies! I will be sharing this review with the staff, I'm sure they will appreciate it as much as I do! We hope we will being seeing you again on your next visit to Sacramento!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My recent visit included an updated room with nice bedding, bath and other furnishings. The location was perfect for me- easy walking distance to both Old Sacramento and the Capitol area. Yes, there is a lot of traffic around the hotel. With the door closed on an inside room, I could still hear traffic noises. I am a very light sleeper, so I was concerned. My fix for this was to turn on the "fan only" on the A/C. It worked perfectly and I heard no road noises at all.
The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The 24-hour popcorn, cookies, and coffee/tea in the lobby area was thoughtful. The breakfast was well-supplied and the area clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 741lolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you took full advantage of our location, snacks and goodies, complementary hot breakfast, comfortable rooms, friendly staff. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Sacramento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I have stayed at the Vagabond a few times I love that you just have to cross a parking lot to get to Old Town and the room rates are reasonable. The rooms are very descent and comfortable but the best part is the staff and the accommodations that they do for you. My experience was like being at home where you accommodate for everyone to make them fill comfortable. Thank you Tracy, you and your sister are awesome and we will definitely be back. I'm already planning our next Bike ride out there. I wish it was this Sunday to watch the NFC game. Hope to see you all soon.
Bikers from Fresno & Madera

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your singing review! We are delighted to hear that you so enjoy staying with us! And we must agree, Tracey and her sister are quite wonderful! I will make sure your complements reach them both. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Went there for New Year's Eve & though you have to account for lots of traffic around the hotel, it was conveniently located. Easy walk to Old Sac. Noise not an issue. Price good considering all your doing is sleeping a few hours. Staff very polite on a very busy evening.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Got2flo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were able to take advantage of our prices and location. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Sacramento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We needed a place for the night while passing through Sacramento and stopped here. Location is right off the 5, very close to Old Town and easy access. That said, it is a bit dated, could use a good clean-up and being "Downtown" the location can be a bit scary after dark. BUT--very fair prices, very comfy beds, free breakfast, freebies (fresh cookies) in the front office when you check in! We found the staff to be very pleasant, very friendly and working hard to please their customers. The lady working the breakfast room did all she could to have everything needed for the crowd. On top of that, she had a smile--even with some grumpy,complaining folks at 8am. If you want to eat at the little cafe next door, you get 20% off the bill. Just remember folks, it's "Downtown" right off a highway !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, though we do apoloize that you felt it was not as clean as it could have been. We do our best to keep things clean and tidy, and will take this review under advisement as we strive to improve.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Sacramento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed for a week. The bed is like Heaven. The rooms are a bit dated, but packed with amenities- fridge/micro/coffee (Wolfgang Puck!)/magnified mirror/flat screen with HD and many HBO channels/iron and board. The WiFi WORKS. The pool IS heated. The hot tub IS hot- oddly though, the hot tub is rarely mentioned in hotel sites, and barely mentioned in their home site- but people were in the hot tub from morning to late night. The breakfast DOES have hot food- sausage, eggs, potatoes, and fruit, waffle irons, cereal, juices, muffins, etc., and people fill the dining room in anticipation. And the staff are FRIENDLY! Cookies in the lobby, free business center. In China Town, across from Amtrak, across from Old Town, blocks to downtown and the Capital, walking distance to everything. Also, it's next to I-5, but the noise was minimal. The property is safe and key access is required to enter. If you need downtown, stay away from the dives on 16th Street- it's dirty, inconvenient, sketchy, and the places are are mostly just awful, and have not enough parking. I'm a life long road tripper, and this place is simply unusually clean, comfortable, accomodating, and only a few bucks more than the dives. Also, they let me check in 4 hours early, and they have a secure luggage storage area. Finally- it's the first time I ever got the best rate from the home site, thanks to the stay 4/save 20% offer. I'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iso T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your singing review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you were able to take advantage of so many of the things we have to offer. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Sacramento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#3 of 81 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.3 mi away
Delta King
Delta King
#18 of 81 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.9 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#16 of 81 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town

Property: Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Address: 909 3rd St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2301
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#19 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#25 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn Executive hotel in Sacramento (Old Town) is located just off I-5 and a half block from Old Town Sacramento. From here you can walk to the Capitol, Crocker Art Museum, and Downtown Plaza. Our Old Town hotel is only minutes to the Sacramento Zoo, Fort Sutter and outdoor recreation activities in the Sacramento Area. Our hotel in Old town Sacramento serves a daily, complimentary, continental breakfast, and free wireless internet. At the end of a long day take a swim in our pool, soak in our spa, get in a work out in our fitness room or watch cable TV with HBO. For business travelers, our Business Friendly rooms have ample work space and a large TV with remote control. We also have rooms that are handicap accessible. Please inquire with the hotel about availability. For your added convenience, the free high speed Internet is available in all rooms. There is a restaurant on the premises and a complimentary shuttle to Sacramento International Airport, train and bus stations. We do not accept pets. Great value, friendly people- it's how we do things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Executive Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing