We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good old town hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Ranked #9 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great location for visiting Old Town or if you need to use the Amtrak station. This was just a overnight stay since i had to be at Amtrak so early. They have a free shuttle. Room was very comfortable. Staff was cheerful and accomodating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schnauzermomluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

We thank you for your review. We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our location and shuttle services were useful to you. We are glad to know that our staff was well appreciated and hope to see you on your next trip to Sacramento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

699 - 705 of 954 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed here twice in 2010-2011, Nice clean room, nice pool and breakfast was good. Lots of choices and even waffles you made fresh!! Walking distance from Old town! The bed was comfortable and the staff was friendly!! We enjoyed our stay and thought it was a great hotel stay for not a lot of $$!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingMo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that our location, staff and breakfast were all pleasing. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Sacramento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed overnight at this hotel on our way to Palm Springs based on reviews of this place, which were generally positive. Maybe it's just us, but we actually found this place to be a little on the dodgy side. It was literally butted up against the I-5 freeway and seemed to be in a sketchy neighbourhood. We witnessed several characters wandering around the parking lot and pool area and we're generally worried about our vehicle in the parking lot. The room wasn't bad, although the bathroom seemed to be a relic from the 70's. We used the pool and hot tub and found the lighting at night was very poor and the hot tub wasn't even working. We didn't stay long as noted above, there were questionable people loitering just outside the pool gate. Having said all that, it was a quiet nights sleep and we found the bed quite comfortable. And the free breakfast the next morning was quite good. Most likely would not stay here again as we just didn't feel safe.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the parking lot so you can keep an eye on your car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that you did not feel safe while staying with us. We do our best to create a safe environment and will take all of your concerns under advisement in attempts to improve our hotel. We are glad to hear that you did enjoy our beds, and the complementary breakfast. We do hope that you will give us another try on your next trip to Sacramento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Vagabond Inn for nearly two weeks. We found the facilities excellent and the staff very welcoming and helpful. The location was great for the things we had planned and the cost was an important part of why we chose to stay there, especially as it included a very good range of breakfast food that catered for every taste. A bonus was the availability of 24 hour coffee and fruit in the dining room. The room was well maintained and although we didn't use the pools or the gym they also appeared clean and tidy. We made good use of the computers to keep in touch with home and although they were a little slow, we appreciated the fact that there was no extra charge for this service. We have no hesitation in recommending the Inn as a very good place to stay. We will be back!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Sacramento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We are staying at this hotel on holiday. The location is excellent within walking distance to Old Sacremento. Our room is comfortable. This is our second time staying at this hotel. The room is clean The bed is comfortable. There is no noise at night. The service is excellent. Continental breakfast is very good and there is plenty of choice. The lady serving in the breakfast area is very pleasant and makes you laugh making it a good atmosphere. The service is very good. We would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you for your praising review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our complementary breakfast and wonderful staff. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Sacramento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here for an overnight after our train trip into Sacramento. You can walk across the street to the motel, which was great. You can walk to Old Town and the river area which was nice after being on the train. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The room was clean and overall cost of $100 was great. They had a continental breakfast that had plenty of food! Good way to start your day and trip in California.
We walked to our rental car the next day ,which was Hertz and it took us about 25 minutes. We got to see some of the city so worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshine2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

We thank you for your kind words. We are overjoyed to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do offer a complementary shuttle to anywhere in the downtown/midtown area, the airport, Amtrak, and Greyhound stations. We would be more than happy to give you a ride to the rental car. We hope that you will stop by again on your next trip to Sacramento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Staff are accommodating and pool is quaint. Breakfast is above average and free. Good location and in the heart of downtown, it is a short walk away from historic district. Secure parking, rooms are clean but Spartan-like with few amenities. Good for short stays.

Room Tip: ask for ground level, have direct access from street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, Front Office Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come stay with us again on your next trip to Sacramento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.9 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#18 of 83 in Sacramento
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#11 of 83 in Sacramento
459 reviews
9.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
#38 of 83 in Sacramento
293 reviews
2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town

Address: 909 3rd St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2301
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#19 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#25 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: $103 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn Executive hotel in Sacramento (Old Town) is located just off I-5 and a half block from Old Town Sacramento. From here you can walk to the Capitol, Crocker Art Museum, and Downtown Plaza. Our Old Town hotel is only minutes to the Sacramento Zoo, Fort Sutter and outdoor recreation activities in the Sacramento Area. Our hotel in Old town Sacramento serves a daily, complimentary, continental breakfast, and free wireless internet. At the end of a long day take a swim in our pool, soak in our spa, get in a work out in our fitness room or watch cable TV with HBO. For business travelers, our Business Friendly rooms have ample work space and a large TV with remote control. We also have rooms that are handicap accessible. Please inquire with the hotel about availability. For your added convenience, the free high speed Internet is available in all rooms. There is a restaurant on the premises and a complimentary shuttle to Sacramento International Airport, train and bus stations. We do not accept pets. Great value, friendly people- it's how we do things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Executive Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing