We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nice hotel, no suprises....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
235 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, no suprises....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

We stayed here on Monday, March 30, as a last minute priceline deal. At $80 it was a super deal. Big room, comfy bed, coffee, wifi, and well appointed bath. Seventh floor view of the capitol was very nice. Hyatt seems to be a smooth, well run operation, at least in the 20 or so properties where we have stayed.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    405
    120
    50
    24
See reviews for
181
174
76
670
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

We're actually here right now, and if I could give it a 3.5 stars, I would, since it doesn't deserve a 4.
The location is excellent if you're visiting the Capitol. it is literally across the street from Capitol park. My room, I was told, was the "standard King", even though I had booked a Deluxe King. Not sure how that happened, but since the place was sold out, I did not want to argue. The room is nice and large, probably larger than most Hyatts. I was told it had been recently renovated. Everything was brand new except for the bathtub - yup - really. It had a chip at the bottom, and some putty-like white stuff on the side. For the life of me, I can't understand why anyone would fix up the whole room and left the tub like that.
Issue number two - if you're a swimmer, you'll be disappointed. The outdoors pool is small and not very well maintained. I could see dirt at the bottom of the pool, and there were plenty of leaves and dead bees on the surface. The water was nice and warm though. There is no pool attendant, so you're on your own with towels, etc. I didn't know that there is a towel bin adjacent to the jacuzzi until a staffer pointed out to me. (Did not offer to bring me one, mind you.) The gym, to my disappointment, was very hard to get to. It involves leaving the hotel and going around the corner on a deserted street at night. And there was no attendant that I could see, so I didn't stay at all and went back to the hotel as quickly as I could.

We ate at the outdoors area, and the food was not bad. A bit on the expensive side for the quality of food, but they were tasty. The server was very good. By the way, we found an excellent place for Mexican food called Zocalo nearby (about 1 mile away). The food is reminiscent of the food from San Miguel de Allende in Mexico, and a lot of it. I wouldn't mind going there for meals every day, in fact.
The staff at the Hyatt is professional, over all, but not superb. The hotel is smack in the middle of a nice area and a not so nice area. Go left and it's one thing, go right and it's another. Don't venture out at night on foot by yourself though. It didn't feel safe enough to me.
Like others, I don't like the parking and the internet fee. Given a price, at least the internet should be included.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WLAMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagano Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
213 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

The title says it all... a perfectly pleasant hotel. The staff were well-trained. polite and helpful. The public areas are bright and clean (there was a rowdy crowd in the sports bar late at night but they caused no inconvenience); the room was a good size and well-appointed, not bang-up-to-the-minute, but not old fashioned either. Internet worked well and the cost was included in my package (translation: I'd prepaid by paying a higher room rate!). My room looked out over the public buildings of the State Capitol, which was a nice touristic experience. I had the breakfast buffet, which was very good - much better than many hotels in this range. The business centre was one of those DIY style - but the staff came to help when I asked, with no objections. I wouldn't fall in love with the hotel, but if you've business in Sacramento it's a good choice.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoboesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

We left OC a few days early for a business trip. Our decision was to make the first stop in Sacramento so we ended-up at the Hyatt Regency with a rather good on line price. It was easy and simple to do self parking. I once had an expensive piece of jewelry stolen from my car when it was parked at a very expensive well known hotel in LA, so I feel compelled to do my own parking. Well you get the idea; they made it easy which made me happy. Checking in at the desk was pleasant and quite professional. The room was very nice, a few floors up and had a great view of the Capitol Dome (I will post a photo taken from our balcony when I get time). The room was also quite large and the bathroom was very nice. They could have given us a backroom-no-view room, like CP N of SF, but didn’t even though we had a very low price. In the past I have performed audits as part of my job, so I look at it all with a critical eye. In the case of this hotel I can not provide a negative unless it is the expensive $20 parking fee for an empty Saturday night’s stay. Staying at a lower priced hotel a few miles away avoid parking fees.

Most important fact was that my wife was very happy with our choice of hotel and the quality of service. I was once told that when momma is happy everyone will be happy, so…

  • Liked — Location & roomview
  • Disliked — Parking fee
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Snakepudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

Stayed 1 night at the Hyatt Regency when passing by Sacramento. Loved every moment of my stay. Nice staff, everything extremely clean and tidy, good beds and big rooms.

Perfect stay!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimplyMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

Stayed here 4 times for conventions. Loved the place good service. Great rooms. great food great service. No complaints. Ask for a room with the view of capital park. Its beautiful. The night life downstairs seemed to be the place to be.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thedzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

I stayed at the Hyatt during a four day trip to Sacramento for business. My colleague recommended the property based on the high level of service and the proximity to the State Capitol, due to the fact that we spend most of our time in this area, lobbying legislators and their staff.

Overall, I found the facility to exceed my expectations. The room was larger than is typical for similarly priced Hyatt's and the bed and bathroom were newly updated. The staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful. I had a great view of the Capitol complex and gardens.

In terms of proximity to restaurants and bars, we were within walking distance to a number of very nice restaurants and bars, as well as a five minute drive to the Old Sacramento area. The hotel bar and restaurant are good for breakfast, but I found the prices a bit high.

The only real complaint was the required $10 per day charge for in-room internet access. I think at almost $230 at a hotel advertised as catering to business travelers, such a charge diminishes the reputation of the Hyatt brand. Overall however, I was very happy with the stay.

  • Liked — Room Size, staff friendliness
  • Disliked — charging for internet
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DCLobbyist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Westin Sacramento
The Westin Sacramento
#20 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
5.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sacramento Airport-Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Property: Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Address: 1209 L St, Sacramento, CA 95814-3942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#1 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#3 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#3 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sacramento 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A premier hotel beckons with world-class amenities located adjacent to the convention center and the State Capitol. This mediterranean-style hotel is an ideal setting for meetings and receptions. Fresh from a $15M renovations, the hotel sets the standard for business excellence with 503 elegant rooms, including 17 suites, Hyatt Business Plant and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing