We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a convention. A very convenient location. We were able to walk to several restaurants and right out the back to the convention center. The Staff was great and very hospitable. The room I stayed in was very large although the bathroom was rather small. It was clean but I could see they needed a few touch ups. The lobby is beautiful. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank michellecvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for posting your feedback! I'm glad you enjoyed the convenience of our location and close proximity to the convention center. We look forward to having you back as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    389
    115
    48
    24
See reviews for
169
167
74
637
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California, USA
Level Contributor
167 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I have stayed with my husband at this location several times for business. This is my first review of this property. First the location and proximity to the Capitol is perfect. It is located right across the street from the Capitol. I think half of the rooms have great views which is a plus. The front exterior and the lobby area are nice. The bar area downstairs is roomy and pleasant, though often crowded with conference attendees. We have stayed in several different rooms, they are standard Hyatt business rooms and are decorated nicely. There are plenty of outlet/plugs, a nice sized flat screen tv, and the bedding is good.

However, I noticed during this stay as well as my last stay, that the bathrooms are starting to be lacking. We stay often in Hyatt’s for business and pleasure (We are diamond members). As such, I appreciate and grown accustomed to the Hyatt standards and the level at which they maintain their hotels. So, it is surprising when we are checked into a room that the bathroom tub is rimmed with discolored caulking (mildew?) and the bathtub faucet is in bad need of being re-caulked as well. My other pet peeve is cleanliness. The room we received was not to standard. The bathtub had some hairs in it (yuck) and I found a beer bottle behind the curtain when we opened it last night. Usually, in these situations we will call down and ask for another room or complain (which we rarely do – it isn’t usually a problem). But, we have been traveling quite extensively lately and honestly were both too tired to bother and just decided to look the other way. But it did bother us and we are hopeful that the management will read this review and look into remedying this problem.

I do want to be fair and add a few very positive comments and why we will continue to return. The Regency Club is to be complimented. The food selections (continental breakfast and appetizers) are quite nice. John (who regularly works in the Regency Club) is a huge asset to this hotel. He not only always remembers my husband and my names, but he remembers our likes as well. He always attends to each customer with very personalized care. He deserves a special recognition from the Management as I always notice that everyone he assists notices his special attentiveness and willingness to be helpful. The Continental breakfast is especially good and one of the best in the Hyatt chain. I wish the Management would consider keeping the Regency Club open on the weekends, as we would be more apt to stay a couple extra days after our meetings if this amenity was available.

The Gym is well appointed and is very clean. However, I do feel it is quite inconvenient for the customer to have to walk through the convention hall floors to the garage, go down a flight of stairs, exit the building and walk down to the next building, only to realize that you need to use your card to enter. It all seems unusual, but I am sure other customers would agree that it is weirdly situated. I found myself embarrassed when returning from a workout that I needed to snake my way through well-dressed conference attendees in my work out clothes.

The downstairs café is nice and the food is quite good. I enjoy the views of the Capitol while eating there as well.

This is a perfectly located property and could be a great hotel if attention is given to updating and maintaining a little better housekeeping and bathroom maintenance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Capitol
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Always5Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you so much for you candid feedback! I am very sorry to hear about the cleanliness of your room. If you would be comfortable contacting me directly I would love to gather a little more information so I can follow up with our Housekeeping team!! megahn.stewart@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
200 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

For the 3rd year in a row we have had an excellent stay. We come down to the PBR event and stay at this hotel. Service was excellent, room was excellent and the price was below what you would expect. Great Job staff!!! See ya next year

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winecountrylovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We look forward to seeing you next year as well! Thank you for posting your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Located convenient to everything downtown and the convention center, with easy access on/off the freeway. Stayed with extended family in a Capitol Suite & adjoining room. The staff was attentive and helpful. Plenty of on-site parking, but did not discover until the last day that parking on the roof got us closer to the parking elevator. The rooms were nice and clean, but the carpet throughout was worn. The large flat-screen TVs were nice, but we were unable to hook-up our computer or DVD player for the kids. Never understood why there is a charge for Internet in the rooms at upscale hotels, but not the lower-priced ones. Bought a Verizon pre-paid mobile hotspot for less than the cost of the in-room paid Internet. The batroom was huge and very nice. For convenience we had room service breakfast & dinner for the kids, but some of it was too exotic for them, i.e., the sun(flower) butter & jelly sandwiches had a little too much bite for them. Breakfast at the Vines Cafe was very good. Would stay here again if traveling as a couple, but not with kids.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeLuvFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The noise come from the atrium on the first floor, couldn't sleep until 2am.
Bathroom smelled moldy even though it looks like the top part was recently done.
The location is great.
I guess you can avoid this problems if you ask for higher rooms in the back of the property.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spaqueen2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Quiet, clean, comfortable, spacious room. Right across from the convention center. Everyone helpful. Easy to catch a cab . Food pretty good in the restaurant. Check in very efficient. Great to dash back to my room during the convention.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thanks for the great review! Our location is ideal for events at the Convention Center, and I'm glad to hear you had the opportunity to stop in to one of our restaurants! Hopefully we'll see you back in Sacramento soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in January. We had a capital facing room on the 8th floor. Check-in was easy, room was clean, be warned they charge $$ for everything. Super 8 has free internet, what gives. We requested a king, got 2 double beds, that didn't start things of well. A/c worked on and off, both nights it turned off by itself and we woke up hot. Not a recipe for a good nights sleep. Breakfast buffet looked good but not worth $21, steak and eggs was good and $17!

Overall we had a couple events that the hotel catered and the food was excellent. Room was clean, but expensive and they nickel and dime you for everything, oh and the staff were always nice. That would be my summary.

Room Tip: Facing Capitol is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SF3-Hou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your review! I was very happy to see your high scores for the cleanliness of our rooms and our level of Customer Service. In regards to the charge for internet, we do offer complimentary wifi in the lobby and throughout our Amourath Lounge, as well as various packages that include internet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sacramento Airport-Natomas
3.4 mi away
The Westin Sacramento
The Westin Sacramento
#19 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Property: Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Address: 1209 L St, Sacramento, CA 95814-3942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#3 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#3 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sacramento 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A premier hotel beckons with world-class amenities located adjacent to the convention center and the State Capitol. This mediterranean-style hotel is an ideal setting for meetings and receptions. Fresh from a $15M renovations, the hotel sets the standard for business excellence with 503 elegant rooms, including 17 suites, Hyatt Business Plant and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing