We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“23 reasons to come again, and 14 opportunities for improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Sacramento to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1209 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
341 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,336 helpful votes
“23 reasons to come again, and 14 opportunities for improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here during the Sacramento Jazz Festival on Memorial Day weekend 2013.
Pros:

1. Large entranceway to temporarily park your car while checking in.

2. In and out parking privileges: use the room key to validate when entering and leaving the car in the garage.

3. Very nice almost elegant lobby area with several large rooms for meetings, music gatherings during the Sacramento Jazz festival.

4. Shuttle bus between the Sacramento Jazz festival venues stops right in front of the hotel.

5. Big spacious, almost elegant room with desk, 44" flatscreen HD ble TV, large desk, sitting area with ample lighting.

6. Relatively quiet with effective brakes on the door closing, and a good distance between bed and hallway door.

7. Immaculately clean room with no hairs in the bathtub or linen

8. Big comfortable bed with ample reading lamps, and both sheer and blackout curtains.

9. Our room 650 had a micro balcony with a sliding door that opened all the way -always ask for a room with a balcony, as otherwise you may get stuck with a window that only opens 6 inches at an angle.

10. Room 650 had a nice view of the large park next to the state capitol -a good place for a morning run with no street stops. Always ask for a view of the park or state capitol, instead of the back parking lot with old buildings.

11. Hotel grounds extravangantly decorated with shaped bushes.

12. Centrally located to old downtown and the Capitol mall.

13. 2 blocks walking distance to store on J street with $1 sodas

14. walking distance to Frank Fats and Ma Jong, my favorite chinese restaurants in the Sacramento Area.

15. easy walking distance to the Convention center.

16. Good size pool when the kids aren't taking over the place.

17. Ample lounge chairs next to the pool with refreshments served

18. Free wifi in the business center on ground floor.

19. Courteous and helpful staff with smiles and cheerful dispositions welcoming all guests during all facets of the visit.

20. Hot but pricey breakfast available in the hotel.

21. Great value. $127 for Memorial day weekend 2014 Sacramento Jazz Festival, compared to the $200+ for the Holiday Inn fixer upper by old downtown.

22. I believe they had an all you can eat pasta dinner with salad downstairs for around $15 in the breakfast room.



Cons:

1. $17 per day self park in tiny spaces -our Prius barely fit in the very narrow compact parking spots. This seems to be the norm in downtown Sacramento.

2. $25 per day valet park- mandatory if all the self park spots taken.

3. To reach the parking lot, you may have to take one elevator down to the 2nd floor, walk around the building, and take a second elevator to your parking lot floor

4. No usable refrigerator nor microwave oven -at the price of this hotel, they figure you don't need a refrigerator nor microwave.

5. Mini bar in refrigerator with exorbitant prices.

6. $4 for 12 oz soda from the refrigerator

7. $3 for a 20 oz soda in the hotel concessionaire on the ground floor

8. $10 for in room wifi, $15 for high speed wifi.

9. The 4 Elevators can be slow during busy mornings, requiring lengthy times to wait and reach your rooms or the lobby

10. To reach the parking lot, you may have to take one elevator down to the 2nd floor, walk around the building, and take a second elevator to your parking lot floor

11. To reach the fitness room and gym you have to leave the building and walk around the corner of the block.

12. Noisy A/C

13. Noise from neighbors talking through the connecting door at midnight: they stopped after I pounded on the wall -always ask for a room without a connecting door, although that may not be possible.

14. Meals including breakfast very pricey downstairs. There are a multitude of restaurants nearby for breakfast, lunch, or dinner with much more reasonable prices.


I will use this as a guide to my stay here again for the 2014 Sacramento Jazz Festival.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the park or capitol -you don't want to see the parking lot. Ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback! I am very happy to see you enjoyed your stay. We do offer additional package rates, some of which include breakfast, internet, or parking. If you are interested in learning more about these packages please don't hesitate to visit our website or contact the hotel directly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    377
    110
    47
    24
See reviews for
163
159
69
609
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was my first time attending a New Year's Eve party at the Hyatt. I also stayed overnight at the hotel. The party was a lot of fun with a live band and DJ. The bed in the room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marllana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed our New Year's Eve party!! Hopefully we will see you back next year as we anticipate it will be bigger and better than ever!! Thank you for your review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were there for a business convention in Sacramento, and this is the first time I stay at this hotel. We arrived around 12:00 pm, and of course it is too early to check in, and we requested about 15 rooms, but that didn't stop the friendly front desk staff from accommodate all of us into our rooms. At first, they put me in a room near the elevators, and I ask them (nicely) is there is a way to change my room, as we all know the rooms near the elevators have ton of traffic, and tend to bit noise. Without hesitation the front desk switch my room to a room with a beautiful view and a balcony with no extra charge. These people will do whatever it takes to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Overall, my colleagues and I are very comfortable with our overall experience, and I sure enjoy the extra TLC that was provided to me. I will definitely stay there again. Just a word of advise, there is a surcharge for WiFi, and parking is NOT free for the hotel guess.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to ask for a room with view, the front desk with whatever possible to accommodate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 88Happytraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback! Our Front Desk agents strive to provide wonderful customer service, so meeting the requests of our guests is a top priority. We look forward to seeing you next time you return to Sacramento!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our family of four stayed during New Year's Eve. From the prior reviews, I was concern about the noise level in the room. The front desk was excellent at check-in: friendly and efficient. Desiree was able to place us in the wing that faced the Capitol Mall, but put us with other families and older couples. That resulted in a quiet night sleep. Vines restaurant served very good food and not too expensive in light of the quality and taste. We did not try Dawson's due to their special New Year's Eve menu and our young children. We did go to Tower's Café (not at the hotel), but found the food slightly above average. I want to especially compliment the housekeeping staff. The housekeeping staff were "super-friendly". We got more "Happy New Year" and "Good morning" from the housekeeping crew than the front desk. However, I don't want to sound like the front desk staff were unfriendly - the front desk staff were extremely friendly. It was just amazing that the housekeeping crew could top that. On top of their friendliness, the room was very clean. We were very happy with our stay. My compliment to the management for keeping the staff happy, which shows when they interact with guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baseballfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I traveled with my wife for a New Years Eve celebration and we stayed at the Hyatt and really enjoyed the experience. We were professionally greeted by Christoper Lee, a Customer Service Associate, who had excellent customer service skills and was very personable. No request was too much for this young man and he did everything in his power to make us feel welcome. We ordered room service and the food was well prepared and came with good size portions. The location is perfect as it is right across the street from the Capitol and there are several shops and restaurants in the downtown area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorRed_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had a chance to say here, and booked a room for Christmas Eve day. Everything was clean and what you would expect, with a little bit of a corporate feel. Even though the hotel had a ton of vacant rooms, they put us in a room with an adjoining door, through which we could hear every word of conversation. Very disturbing. They moved us without complaint. The mattress was way past it, and the bedding was not good. These very important minuses aside, everything ran smoothly, the pool and spa was a plus, and the location is very good. Views of the capital can be a plus. Don't know if the mattress was peculiar to our experience, or whether this is a problem hotel wide, but the bedding certainly needs to be looked at by management.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for your review! I appreciate your feedback in regards to your mattress and I am glad to see our team was quickly able to remedy the situation with your bed! Thank you again for your candid comments, hopefully we will see you in Sacramento again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The Hyatt is my hands-down fav hotel in my former home town city. Its location is like the body of an octopus, with tentacles reaching easily into the downtown shopping area, restaurants, the State Capitol and lovely surrounding arboretum, and various forms of entertainment from movies to concerts to conventions. The hotel is one of the most relaxing Hyatts in a nice chain of hotels, with pleasant competent staff, great views of the Sierra and the city from the upper floors and restaurant, and a small but welcoming swimming pool for summer visits in a hot city. The hotel has a nice little lobby bar and comfy rooms. It also has some competition, so there are often special rates, especially on weekends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesliiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Westin Sacramento
The Westin Sacramento
#19 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
5.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sacramento Airport-Natomas
0.7 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Property: Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Address: 1209 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#1 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#3 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#3 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sacramento 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A premier hotel beckons with world-class amenities located adjacent to the convention center and the State Capitol. This mediterranean-style hotel is an ideal setting for meetings and receptions. Fresh from a $15M renovations, the hotel sets the standard for business excellence with 503 elegant rooms, including 17 suites, Hyatt Business Plant and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing