We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect perch in Sacramento” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Ranked #4 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect perch in Sacramento”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

The Hyatt is my hands-down fav hotel in my former home town city. Its location is like the body of an octopus, with tentacles reaching easily into the downtown shopping area, restaurants, the State Capitol and lovely surrounding arboretum, and various forms of entertainment from movies to concerts to conventions. The hotel is one of the most relaxing Hyatts in a nice chain of hotels, with pleasant competent staff, great views of the Sierra and the city from the upper floors and restaurant, and a small but welcoming swimming pool for summer visits in a hot city. The hotel has a nice little lobby bar and comfy rooms. It also has some competition, so there are often special rates, especially on weekends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesliiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    461
    148
    59
    30
See reviews for
205
208
78
814
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aptos, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

I am expressing my gratitude to Tina, Customer Service Associate, who checked me into my room on December 07, 2013. Tina was absolutely wonderful. She was kind, joyful, personable and represented your Hotel with excellence through her outstanding customer relations. My hope is that she will be located and have a written letter from Hyatt regarding my review as she deserves to be recognized.

Sincerely,
Michelle A. Kern

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 48boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you so much for posting your comments about your recent stay! I wanted to let you know your review has been shared with Tina as well as the rest of our management team! Thanks again and hopefully we will see you back in Sacramento soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvedere, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

I have tried most of Sacramento's highest rated hotels and have concluded that it is hard to beat the Hyatt Regency. It is consistently "user friendly" and it has the best staff of any hotel anywhere. You always get the feeling they are happy to have you as a guest. The rooms are spacious and immaculate. Location is ideal. Rates are reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pearsoninmarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We're definitely hard to beat, and we LOVE to have you as our guest! Thank you so much for the positive review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt for two nights and really enjoyed the experience. We had an ADA room on a high floor and found it very very quiet. The location is amazing, right across the street from the Capitol and the park and near the downtown restaurant area. The restaurants in the hotel are quite good, though, so no need to go off property if you don't want to. Convenient to have a Starbucks in the hotel as well.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review! I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed 3 nights at the Hyatt. I'm posting the review so that people can find a great fit for them because there are issues.
Pros: the staff is very warm and friendly. The hotel is walking distance to the convention center and capital building as well as other things. Hotel dinning in very tasty
Cons: Noise!!! Seriously.. bring ear plugs or you won't sleep..I didn't. Example: Leaf blower going at 6am daily below my room!!! called front desk and was told there was nothing to be done. Example: dog barking at all different hours 11pm 4am call front desk was told I must tell them exactly what room number the barking was from. Odd since they have rooms assigned for guests with dogs so the would know the dog room was next to mine. Example: drunk guys above us partying til 4am this time I didn't bother calling the front desk...what would be the point?
On each room door is a sign say "Quiet Enjoyment" from 9pm to 6am that they request guests observe this. It was obviously falsely reassuring.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kidzrn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments to share your comments about your recent stay. I was very disappointed to hear about the noise disruptions you experienced. I have followed up with the company operating the leaf blower at early hours and reminded them of the city ordinance preventing them from operating such equipment before 8am. We also have Security on property 24hours a day, so please do contact the Front Desk if you experience noise from another room and we will gladly send Security to contact the guests causing the disturbance. Again, I am very sorry for the inconveniences you experienced and I hope you will view these as isolated incidents when making arrangements for future accommodations in Sacramento!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I was speaking at a university, who put me up at the Hyatt. Located directly across from the state capitol, this is a sleek and well-appointed hotel.

The lobby has a long bar, with the right combination of privacy and buzz and a well-chosen wine list. The front desk has that international look, fitting for the capital of the seventh largest economy in the world.

Rooms have all the latest conveniences, with flatscreen television, a comfortable chaise lounge for reading (with a reading light, something many hotel designers forget), lots of outlets for the electronics well all burden ourselves with, and a very comfortable bed. Ask for one overlooking the state capital and its dome. I found that free wifi worked in my room.

I thought the buffet breakfast in the lobby lounge looked a bit spare for what they were asking, but there's a Starbucks just outside the hotel's front entrance where you can have caffeine and the chain's regular breakfast. Hotel wifi works there, too.

The front desk and bellhop staff could not have been more helpful, and were knowledgeable about the hotel, the neighborhood and the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, above tree level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boybanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your accommodations during your stay in Sacramento! I will definitely share your kind words with our Front Desk and Guest Services team. Thank you for posting your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

The room is nice, typical Hyatt. Beds are comfortable. This time I had quiet room at the end of the hall, probably upgraded because I am a Hyatt Gold Passport member. This is free and worthwhile. Did not receive my morning paper but minor problem. Breakfast is good but very overpriced. We had a working lunch at our meeting which was salad and several hot dishes which were flavorful. We have many vegetarians in our group and they can handle that type of service. Dawson's is of variable food consistency.The restaurant behind the Hyatt-Esquire Grill has had consistently good food. I would recommend it for dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have park views but also may have some light/ noise from the driveway. Rooms in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skiqueen500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for being a member of our loyalty program, Gold Passport! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and your meeting went smoothly. I will definitely share your feeback with our Banquet and Catering teams!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
0.7 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
3.4 mi away
The Westin Sacramento
The Westin Sacramento
#17 of 80 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Property: Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Address: 1209 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#3 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#3 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sacramento 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A premier hotel beckons with world-class amenities located adjacent to the convention center and the State Capitol. This mediterranean-style hotel is an ideal setting for meetings and receptions. Fresh from a $15M renovations, the hotel sets the standard for business excellence with 503 elegant rooms, including 17 suites, Hyatt Business Plant and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing