We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Good Downtown Business Venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Glenmont, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Good Downtown Business Venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

A typical downtown Hyatt. Very nice rooms with the usual amenities. Good location across from the state capital. Very good meeting space. One complaint is the lack of free wi-fi in the rooms or meeting space. Yes, there is free wi-if in the lobby and Starbucks. But why not elsewhere -free wi-fi is standard now even in budget hotels, but not here. $8.95 per day in room!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlbanyJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback! It is true that we do not offer complimentary internet in our rooms, or meetings spaces at this time. However, we do offer various packages that include internet such as our Business Plan. Which includes internet, breakfast, a bottle of water, and one pressed item of laundry daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    402
    118
    50
    24
See reviews for
179
173
75
663
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Only had an overnight at the Hyatt. Room was great with Power flushing toilet! Bed was very comfortable. My only displeasure was the wifi wasn't free in the room. Had to go to the lobby floor to get free wifi. Breakfast buffet was excellent! I would tell my friends about this place, if you need Internet and you want it free, go to the lobby or pay $5 and up in your room. I would stay here agin for the bed and bathroom also the buffet.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank gregtrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
I'm glad to hear we've earned your recommendation! Thank you for sharing your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The location, across from the spectacular, landscaped gardens of the state Capitol, sets the mood for a wonderful stay. The lobby is large and classic- modern in design--straightlines, dark, neutral color pallet. Comfortable couches and chairs create warm and welcoming areas that are perfect for conversation or relaxing. The staff is well trained, pleasant and helpful. Vines Cafe offers a varied and delicious breakfast buffet each morning. The best of all are the guest rooms: large, light, airy, tastefully decorated, impecably clean and extremely comfortable.
Th beds are heaven. The bathrooms bright and well appointed. A wonderful choice for your stay in Sacramento.

Room Tip: If you request a room in the front you will overlook the gardens and capitol building.
See more room tips
Green Features: The Hyatt Regency should be commende for preserving the environment without sacrificing luxury.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank awedbyalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for sharing your review, we look forward to having you back as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised by both Sacramento and the Hyatt Regency. The hotel is located across the street from a beautiful park--more like an arboretum. Our room was very large, squeaky and quiet. We were completely satisfied with our experience at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the park side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
I'm you had a great stay, the park is beautiful this time of year! Thank you for your review, we look forward to having you back as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Top-notch staff at this hotel, but that really only goes so far. I was put in a room adjoining some very noisy foreign tourists who kept talking loudly well into the night (2 am). Had to call down to the front desk twice and have a verbal confrontation with the offenders before it would stop. The staff was very responsive and apologetic, but that doesn't solve the real problems (most likely old construction and paper-thin walls). Otherwise the hotel was very nice.

One other complaint: the pay-to-play wireless internet. Very, very tacky for such a high end hotel. Probably wouldn't stay here again, but there are certainly worse places you could go.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carter2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I'm so sorry to hear about the noise disruption you experienced during your stay, but glad our Staff responded so quickly. The hotel does offer complimentary wireless internet throughout the lobby and in our Amourath Lounge, as well as packages that included wireless internet in the room. Again, thank you for taking a few moments to share your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Checked into the Hyatt at night. Large room, very well appointed. Soft and cushy towels. All that one would look for in a room. The staff were friendly and helpful, directing me to a restaurant I sought, and providing information on alternatives. The lobby itself was spartan and sleek modern design. A little too spartan for me, but that is the look.
On getting up the next morning and opening the window shades I was pleasantly surprised by a lush view of the park next door. Very kind on the eyes. While not a hotel full of character, it has all the amenities and a very nice setting in the capital city.

Room Tip: Get a room on the park side if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jn0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed the view! Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience, hopefully we will see you next time your travels bring you back to Sacramento!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
310 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Though this is my first review of this hotel, it is my 4th stay here over the past few years. The hotel has remained fresh and current to my travel needs throughout those stays. Rooms are spacious and well-appointed. There are high quality beds and linens and the HVAC, shower and toilets have always functioned effectively. The rooms have been clean and my watchful eye for signs of mold has been pleased by clean grout. Power plugs are plentiful but in my particular room on this stay, their position om the side of the nightstand adjacent to the mattress made them a bit awkward and the nightstand had to be moved to use them. The large flat screen provided a clear picture and the room safe is just a slight bit larger than many which is appreciated. Like many hotels, it would be useful to have better lighting at the full length mirror but the overall lighting is excellent. Because this is a large meeting venue, I suggest asking for rooms away from elevators, in particular on the third floor which has open hallway balconies to the lobby with high noise levels. Pricing was good for this stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank WARSAWRUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
It's great that you found us to be accomodating of the needs for your visit and hopefully, should your travel plans bring you back to Sacramento, you'll consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Westin Sacramento
The Westin Sacramento
#18 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
5.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sacramento Airport-Natomas
0.7 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Property: Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Address: 1209 L St, Sacramento, CA 95814-3942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#1 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#3 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#3 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sacramento 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A premier hotel beckons with world-class amenities located adjacent to the convention center and the State Capitol. This mediterranean-style hotel is an ideal setting for meetings and receptions. Fresh from a $15M renovations, the hotel sets the standard for business excellence with 503 elegant rooms, including 17 suites, Hyatt Business Plant and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing