We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel but what's with having to pay for wifi????” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Ranked #4 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great hotel but what's with having to pay for wifi????”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

No question this is a lovely hotel - lovely room, excellent service, great location - and for the price that is what you would expect. What I don't expect and what I am really getting tired of in the Hyatts and Hiltons is getting nickeled and dimed with the usage of the internet. Oh yes I could go down to use the free wifi but I PAID for the room people and they wanted to charge me $10 a day to check my email and go on FB - basic - and a stunning $15.95 a day for premium. I suppose that is so I had no incentive to use Netflix and NOT pay for the incredibly expensive hotel on demand movies. Really!! Most hotel chains now - even the mom and pop shows - are giving free internet.... so I guess it is: if you want all the bells and whistles with the lovely hotels you just have to pay the extras to have the internet which is just irksome. But apart from that - sorry for the whine - it is a wonderful hotel perfectly situated.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonhk65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    454
    147
    57
    29
See reviews for
203
204
78
781
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelseyville, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. Very modern and elegant. Upon arriving you receive a very warm greeting from the staff who will valet park your car, or you can self park. The front desk people are very courteous and friendly. This was a great rate I paid for this hotel as I was attending a convention next door. The rooms are very modern, the beds are soooo comfortable, I slept so great! Each room has a sliding glass door with a tiny balcony to step out on. I had a room with a pool view, very nice. Room 337. Nice size bathroom with all the extras-blowdryer/toothpaste/cottonballs/shampoo/conditioner/extra towels, etc. Maid service is very accomdating, they are on it and ready to take care of everything. The restaurant, Dawsons is so nice. Excellent steak and seafood and very fine service. They have a bar/lounge Amourath 1819, it is very nice as well-good service, great drinks and small plates menu. This property is located in downtown Sacramento, Great location for walking in downtown. Overall, this is a great hotel, I will/would definitely stay here again! Thank you to the hotel staff for all the did/do to make it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StacieKelseyville_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Awesome feedback, thank you for sharing! I'm glad to hear you had the opportunity to stop in to Dawson's and Amourath, hopefully you had a chance to spend a little time at the pool as well. We look forward to having you back when you return to Sacramento!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has the perfect location in downtown Sacramento across the street from the Capital, adjacent to performing arts center and near some fun restaurants. Our corner room was spacious and clean, the bed was comfortable and linens were quite nice, robes were in the room. The bathroom was clean....but did not have a great deal of counter space. My one complaint would echo others, for the room price, wireless Internet should be included...especially for Gold Passport members. No one wants to hang out in the lobby...which had limited seating for the size of the hotel....to access free Internet...it does make the guest feel like they are being nickeled and dimed.
The staff was very friendly...check in was great, bell men and valets superb. Waitstaff was very nice..but seemed a bit short staffed...to be fair we came into the lobby bar after a concert along with several others and we all wanted a bite to eat...and only had 5 minutes to decide and then our simple order was behind two more complicated orders...so we waited for quite a while to get a piece of cake and then my husband's coffee was cold......BUT...we were able to tell waitress and she engaged some help and he soon had a wonderful French press coffee brought to him...nice save by the staff....we were enjoying the warm Sacramento evening by the outdoor fireplaces..so it was a pleasant wait. Brunch staff seemed a bit busy also. Overall though, this is where I would stay again on any return trip to Sacramento.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CACuriousVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

During our visit to Sacramento the Hyatt Regency was recommended to me when I asked for the best hotel in town as we absolutely needed a good night of sleep.

Unfortunately this important requirement was not fulfilled by the Hyatt Regency. While the bed in our room was comfortable, I had problems to sleep and woke up numerous times because of different noise that was not faded sufficiently by the apparent thin walls and doors in this hotel: Air Conditioning humming of the neighboring room (I switched off my AC), hotel phones ringing in the adjacent rooms, people talking in the hallway, knocking on doors, use of the ice machine, toilet flushing, etc.

Other than that, the room was nice and the staff courteous. The location is as close to the capitol as it can get.

The pool is located outside and is quite small. It was full with people and children so that swimming was impossible.

Wifi in the room was not free, only in the lobby, which seems inconsistent and an unnecessary restriction. Breakfast was not included.

Parking is possible for an additional fee in the hotel's garage. Street parking is possible, but meters accept only a maximum of one hour. Parking is free on the street on Sundays and from 6 pm to 8 am.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 37Jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
I'm very sorry to hear about the noise issues you experienced. We are currently testing different noise cancelling devices, but in the future please don't hesitate to contact the Front Desk about hallway noise. We have Security Officers on property 24 hours a day that are more than happy to address any disturbances you encounter. Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here for a business related conference and brought my husband and two kids along. Although it's not ideal for small kids due to things like little balconies and minibars (I have a three year old), the staff worked with me to kid-proof the room, i.e. removing the minibar items and locking the fridge. The staff were very nice and accomodating, esp. appreciated the porters and the breakfast servers. Pool is lovely. Central location and many attractions walkable.

Room Tip: we had a view of the Capitol building, lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
creswell
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed there last week and loved it. The rooms were very nice and clean. The staff was very friendly and courtious. It was very conviently located to many stores and restaurants. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4rmefhabitat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jacinto, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed here for a conference. This place is huge and is able to support many different events at the same time.

The room was large. The bed was comfortable. The hotel does chargeguests for parking in their garage. This hotel is within easy walking distance of everything downtown Sac has to offer. I would definitely stay here again if I were going back to Sacramento.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m_chevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
3.4 mi away
The Westin Sacramento
The Westin Sacramento
#18 of 80 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Property: Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Address: 1209 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#3 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#3 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sacramento 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A premier hotel beckons with world-class amenities located adjacent to the convention center and the State Capitol. This mediterranean-style hotel is an ideal setting for meetings and receptions. Fresh from a $15M renovations, the hotel sets the standard for business excellence with 503 elegant rooms, including 17 suites, Hyatt Business Plant and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing