We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Sacramento to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1209 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Riverside, CA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a very nice hotel very close to the Capitol, in fact it's right across the street. The staff was extremely helpful. The room was very nice. It doesn't get an excellent though because the bed was uncomfortable. I was surprised about that. I slept ok, but you would think the bed would be more comfy, which it wasn't. Other than that it was very nice. Had the buffet breakfast, which was good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LsyaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
California
Level Contributor
188 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Hyatt Regency is conveniently located next to the convention center, restaurants, and the State Capitol park. Even though you do pay an arm and a leg for parking, it's worth it because of the convenience and also knowing that your car is parked in a secure location overnight.

The rates are a tad pricey, but if you book very early you might be able to receive a discount. I traveled on business so parking or hotel rates weren't as big of an issue. I really was going more for convenience, cleanliness, and a good nights rest.

The hotel staff was VERY helpful anytime I required assistance. I couldn't have been more appreciative of their friendliness and eagerness to help me.

It's worth saying again: book a capitol view room. It's absolutely gorgeous in the evening. I'll definitely try to book here again on my business trips to Sac.

Room Tip: Book a capitol view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuddhaInHeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
336 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel overnight to be in the city to catch a very early Amtrak train. I was staying at a very nice hotel for the week prior, but since it was a good 20 minute taxi ride to the train station so I decided to stay in the city. I booked this hotel on Hotwire since all rates in downtown Sacramento are very very expensive! I was able to get this hotel for $108/night. Check-in was quick and friendly. My room was nice and comfortable, and offered a pretty good view. The bed was okay but not the most comfortable I've slept on. Room service was okay, but very expensive with a 21% service charge. Internet was not free except for one small place in the lobby. Parking costs as well, but I'm not sure of the price since I didn't have a car. The pool area was very nice - a tropical theme with a lap pool and hot tub. Overall, it was a good stay for the price I paid. However, I'm not sure if it would be worth the $250/night it would have normally costed! If you are looking for a comparable type hotel with free internet and parking, and are willing to stay a bit outside the city, I would recommend the Crowne Plaza in the northeast. I would also recommend that you attempt to use a discount site like Hotwire to get the best rates for places in downtown Sacramento.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the State Capitol Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PsychRN12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Positive: Great location - a 5" walk to the convention center; right across the street from the State Capitol Park; lots of restaurants in the area though not all of them are open for dinner. Convenient $17 parking. Attractive lobby and interior halls and rooms; windows open a few inches; some rooms have an awesome view of the Capitol. Really friendly staff.

Negative: L Street side of the property could use some picking up (where the taxis congregate) - there was some trash and a few windblown black plastic trash bags that were trapped in the shrubs. The A/C in the room was ridiculously loud. Bed was a bit hard and lumpy.

Negative/Positive: The room i was given was supposed to be non-smoking, but either the previous guest or the housekeeping staff snuck in a pack, because IT REEKED. i immediately called down and fortunately they were able to move me to another room.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Capitol
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreesey_pooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Passing through Sacaramento on my way to Portland for our big move with my fiance and we stayed here. While on the pricey side, this is a sleek hotel and very close to everything downtown Sacramento, however with the price you are getting quality, service, and modern amenities that you can expect from a Hyatt. Great hotel! Excellent beds for sleeping and bathroom, I'd stay here again if i was passing through again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Spent a week at this property while working with several State Agencies. Simply an unbeatable location. Right on the mall over looking our capital building. Walked to everyone of my appointments and never went more than half a mile. Clean, well appointed room right next to the elevator. Normally noise would have been an issue but...it was a suite so the noise never really made it past the "living room." Parking was super convenient (and included) room service, on premises restaurants and bar all top drawer. Even watch a World Series game at the pool bar with some very friendly fellow travelers. All and all exactly what you'd want/hope for in a business stay in our wonderful Capital.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the Capital...wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AirMowb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessup, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Was here for a conference at the hotel. Rooms were nice, although a refrigerator in the rooms would be better (just had one for mini bar). Restaurant for breakfast was expensive. My only real complaint was internet access. It was horrible! At best I had a fair connection for wireless. Nice park across the street to walk around and very close to the capitol. K street mall area was disappointing , a lot of closed stores and can be very shady.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Westin Sacramento
The Westin Sacramento
#12 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
2.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sacramento Cal Expo
5.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sacramento Airport-Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Address: 1209 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#1 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#3 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#3 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sacramento 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A premier hotel beckons with world-class amenities located adjacent to the convention center and the State Capitol. This mediterranean-style hotel is an ideal setting for meetings and receptions. Fresh from a $15M renovations, the hotel sets the standard for business excellence with 503 elegant rooms, including 17 suites, Hyatt Business Plant and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#