We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fresno, California, USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I recently stayed here for 3 days while attending a conference. Every staff person that I encountered was terrific, from the valet to registration to folks just passing me by in the hall. The room was beautiful and comfortable. The servers during the meals at the conference were also great. I also used the fitness center for all 3 days. At first I was kind of bummed that it was outside of the hotel. But the walk around the corner was just fine. The fitness center had lots of stuff to use and I really enjoyed that they had TVs in the treadmill and headphones available for use. I also felt the location was great. While there, we walked to the mall twice and to other restaurants around the area. If I have any complaints, it would be that there is no free wi-fi. You have to pay $9.95 per 24 hour period. But you can get free wi-fi at the Starbucks around the corner. As my room was right over Starbucks, I was able to get the wi-fi while in my room!
Anyhow, this is a very nice place to stay while visiting the capital.

Room Tip: If you can get a room over the Starbucks, you may be able to get the free wi-fi like I did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uclachexican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1209LStreet, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for the review! I agree that you really can't beat this location, especially if you're looking for local dining and shopping. I'm delighted that you had the opportunity to interact with some of our staff, as they're really what sets us apart. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Lauren Gilmore
Guest Services Manager
lauren.gilmore@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    377
    110
    47
    24
See reviews for
163
159
69
610
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by the Hyatt Regency in Sacramento. It was clean and everything seemed pretty new. Didn't have any food except for coffee at 3:00am. Room service was prompt and friendly even at that hour.

The exercise room is very well equipped, but it is out side the hotel and around the corner with a separate entrance off the street. There is a way to cut through the parking garage to minimize the amount you are out on the street, but it is still a peculiar set up. It is open 24 hours.

I have only been to a few hotels in the Sacramento area so I am by no means an expert. That being said I don't think anyone would go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxsar911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed here March 26 through March 28, 2012. The public areas are very clean, bright and nice. Check in was quick even though there was a long line of people waiting to check in. My room on the third floor was fine. The furniture, a sofa and arm chair, were cocoa brown. There were two usable drawers in the bureau. The artwork was mostly abstract and mostly orange. The mini bar/refrigerator had possible storage room for 1 small bottle of water. The bed was very comfortable. There was a small balcony but it didn’t have enough room for a chair. There were Starbuck’s coffee and teas with the single cup coffee maker. The bathroom toiletries offered were Portico Spa brand lotion, shampoo, and conditioner, along with ginger soaps, cotton balls, Q-tips, and a tube of Aquafresh toothpaste.

The only negatives were that the air conditioning/heater controls were on the wall behind a sofa and lamp. I had to move the lamp to adjust it. The curtains don’t block out all the light. The bar tender in the lobby bar botched my order and made a very weak drink for $9.00…was there really rum in there?

Overall, this is a nice, solid three star business type hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I only spent one night with my woman friend but it was very comfortable and a better quality hotel than most in this area. If it wasn't for a business paying for the room I wouldn't have spent over $300 for the night.
Nice plush towels, comfortable bed, etc. Just what you would expect from the Hyatt Regency chain of classy hotels. In general, I can't afford them but on a business expense, that I'm not paying for. it worth the trip. There,s luxury here!!! Stay here if you can afford it. Really.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mralexanderb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

If you want to be near the Capitol, there's no better location. The check-in staff are professional and pleasant, although, later on, the willingness of the Bell Captain to assist with a minor request left a bit to be desired in terms of customer service. The rooms are reasonably large (ours had two double beds) and more than adequate.

However, the noise from the hallway was undeniably unpleasant. Staff, customers, whomever passed by the room—no matter upon which business they were engaged—might as well have been inside the room. Our room had a connecting door, and our neighbor's television intruded on our privacy to the point that we ended up calling the front desk at around 9:30 at night and begging them to intervene (which they did in the most diplomatic fashion).

The lobby bar had a fine selection of wines (although their single-malt whisky offerings were limited to humdrum). We had dinner at Dawson's (the hotel fine-dining restaurant), and it was very good indeed.

Overall, a pleasant hotel with some glaring deficiencies; a Hyatt Regency name with a far less prestigious experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonoreH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1209LStreet, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Thank you for your candid review. We appreciate the opportunity congratulate the front desk staff on their service, as well as address some of the concerns you've noted. A peaceful night's sleep is our most important obligation to our guests, and I sincerely apologize that this was not your experience. While the connecting feature in some of our rooms is a great benefit to many of our guests, it can definitely increase the noise level in the room and I regret that your stay was impacted as a result. Should your travel plans bring you back to Sacramento, please do not hesitate to contact me directly so that I can note on your reservation that you prefer a non-connecting, quiet room.

Lauren Gilmore
Guest Services Manager
916.443.1234
lauren.gilmore@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Location: I liked the location. It's right across the street from the Capitol and park which are lovely.

Service: Service was absolutely great and very responsive.

Rooms: Very good size. The bed was very comfortable, toiletries great and a bathrobe was provided. The view over the Capitol grounds was also great with a mini balcony.

Hotel features: The decor is modern well done. It's not quite as edgy as a W or Kimpton property but it is nonetheless done very well. The gym is also great, the only downside being that you have to exit the hotel to access it. However, it's full of great equipment. I'd rather have a good gym that requires going outside than a minimal gym somewhere inside the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Capitol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chi_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

300 dollars a night and their internet access does not work.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LucNo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Westin Sacramento
The Westin Sacramento
#19 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
5.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sacramento Airport-Natomas
0.7 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Property: Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Address: 1209 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#3 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#3 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sacramento 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A premier hotel beckons with world-class amenities located adjacent to the convention center and the State Capitol. This mediterranean-style hotel is an ideal setting for meetings and receptions. Fresh from a $15M renovations, the hotel sets the standard for business excellence with 503 elegant rooms, including 17 suites, Hyatt Business Plant and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing