We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Satisfactory performance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Ranked #4 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cross River, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Satisfactory performance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

I've stayed at the Hyatt for business before. It's clean, next to the capitol, and has a nice pool. Our family found it to meet our needs on a recent vacation. The staff is friendly. The overall hotel is good if not unremarkable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    428
    130
    53
    27
See reviews for
191
181
77
733
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Stayed at this hotel in December for a business conference. The rooms were recently updated, (about 2 years ago) and are modern, clean with GREAT bathrooms. Even the lighting is good. Flat screen TVs etc. All the great convienences. Ate at both hotel restarurants - Dawson's, which is fine dining and the Vines Cafe. Ate breakfast at the Vines Cafe each morning which was very good. Being that it was christmas time, the decorating was rather sparse to fit the season. Love having the old-fashion bell hops and doormen. Overall a great place to stay in a super location that is directly across the street from the state Capitol. Wish they had complimentary internet and wi-fi for the price paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Capitol
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SodaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Overview: I would absolutely recommend staying at this hotel. Currently the hotel is undergoing a large lobby reconstruction project HOWEVER it is virtually invisible... This should be of no concern to the future traveler.

Parking: Self-park $17 / night

Lobby: Very nice... simple quick check in - in true Hyatt fashion.

Room: Beautiful - Large Room (Room number 1144) facing pool and park. Bathroom/shower area very nice and well appointed. Room almost had a "suite" feel to it although not quite as large.

Negatives:
a) Parking: if you "self-park" you will have to go up about 4 floors bypassing level 2 and 3 for valet. In addition, parking elevator is very slow and opens outside and around the corner from the hotel. There are adequate signs to direct you to the hotel lobby.

b) Dining: BE AWARE - travelers not familiar with Sacramento. It seems most restaurants in the general downtown area close from about 2 pm - 5 pm. So if you are looking for a place to eat during that time head to the Westfield Mall about 4 blocks west and you can find a restaurant thats not super expensive to eat at during that time. Also-if you do plan on walking... 2 blocks west of the hotel the "area" changes... you will see a lot of homeless people and pretty shady folks just hanging out. (this is NOT) in view of the hotel only if you plan on walking to the mall from the hotel.. just fyi....

Room Tip: High rooms have great view of park.. Recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLM_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

The location next to the convention center and the Capitol Mall is the reason to stay here. The rooms are beautiful. Everything looks new and first rate. There is no extra room in the refrigerator, however, and if you remove something just to get a closer look, your room will be charged. The business center is expensive. Just around the corner is a Fedex-Kinkos with much better prices. When I first arrived, there was so much noise and activity that the lobby area was completely closed. The lobby did open the next day but there was still a lot of renovation going on. Service was just okay not outstanding. I would stay here again once the renovations are finished.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Capitol Mall side of the hotel. The views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Funtraders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattOpsSacramento, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you for your patience during our lobby and second floor renovations. We are just 2 weeks away from full completion so I do hope that you will be able to visit again soon!. Warm Regards, Jackie Mudd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

Yes, the hotel itself is being remodeled and there is some noise and inconvenience in the lobby area and 2nd floor conference room area - but the rooms were just remodeled and the room we had was really nice. And we got a rate of $75 – a steal!
It is perfectly located, lots of public transportation available, many nice restaurants and cafes within walking distance in the pedestrian-friendly area.

The staff was very helpful, friendly, and really did their best to help us overcome the inconveniences of the remodel on the bottom floors.

We would go back for a longer visit, for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattOpsSacramento, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you for the review! Please be sure to join us again soon and enjoy the new lobby and our Starbucks opening. Warm Regards, Jackie Mudd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

I recently stayed at the Hyatt Regency on a business trip to Sacramento. I was so looking forward to this stay, after all it is a Hyatt. I expected the best of everything. This was not to be. I was not able to even walk down the hall to my room each night without covering my nose. Someone became ill in the hallway the first night of my stay and the smell never went away. For five days I had to hold my nose and hope to not get ill myself. This alone does not scream comfortable. Next, the room. I shared my room with a co-worker which of course means sharing a bathroom. We had a routine all worked out, however, when I would exit the bath for her to enter there was no plug near a mirror in the bedroom for me to get ready. I had to borrow a huge extension cord from maintenance! There were no available refrigerators and when you are away for a week, its necessary to keep some items cold. My roommate and I literally had to get 5 ice buckets! One of which your staff tried to charge us for. I have stayed in many Hyatts and have loved them all very much, but not Sacramento. It was unfortunate. I wished it would have been a better experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsPepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Under renovation and noisy until September. Besides that, we thought the room was unacceptably small for the amount we paid. The bed was too soft, and I woke up stiff and stayed that way for hours. This property, compared to others we have stayed at does not offer good value, and they charge extra for everything. The rooms and the hotel in general look much better on line than in real life. We will not stay here ever again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NotJustaNumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Westin Sacramento
The Westin Sacramento
#19 of 81 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Property: Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Address: 1209 L St, Sacramento, CA 95814-3942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sacramento
#3 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#3 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sacramento 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A premier hotel beckons with world-class amenities located adjacent to the convention center and the State Capitol. This mediterranean-style hotel is an ideal setting for meetings and receptions. Fresh from a $15M renovations, the hotel sets the standard for business excellence with 503 elegant rooms, including 17 suites, Hyatt Business Plant and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing