We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crown Plaza just Tells you what you want to hear”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Ranked #35 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersSilver level
Prescott Valley, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Crown Plaza just Tells you what you want to hear”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

To make a loooong story short...I changed my initial 3 days visit down to 2. Informed FD of the change at check-in, followed all requirements with booking site (Hotels.com) was ashured by FD Rep at check-out that all paperwork was recieved from Hotels.com and Mngr will finish & finalize the change in my stay come Monday then credit can be issued. I returned a week later for a 2nd stay spoke again with same FD Rep re: 1 night credit for the 2 seperate rooms we had booked. Again assured all was fine and that credits to my credit card thru Hotels.com may take some additional time. Well weeks later I get an email from Hotels.com that Crown Plaza has denied the credit request.
I emailed Crown Plaza cust. care and about a month later recieved a call from the General Mngr who basically called me a LIAR and denied the existence of ALL the employees that I spoke with during my 2 stays at the Crown Plaza and denied even the possibility of what I was told by the "ficticious employees" as true. The General Manager has show me by his rudeness and calling me a liar that Crown Plaza just tells their guests WHATEVER they want to hear at the moment to get THEIR $ but does not stand by their word. Finally I was offered 2 free nights at your SAC NE location. Why would I be FOOL enough to believe another employees word from this establishment????

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Sacramento, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Pamela L,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our guests services.

I am truly sorry for the lapse in service with reference to your reservation issues. We deeply regret the inconvenience this has caused you and the dissatisfaction you have encountered with our level of service. I apologize for the negative impressions you may have had.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    102
    72
    32
    24
See reviews for
57
31
30
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Renovated hotel with easy access to the freeway under $100 a night - didn't think it was possible. This hotel proved me wrong. I stayed at this hotel many years ago when it was a questionable Holiday Inn. Crowne Plaza completely renovated the place and apart from the occasional odd color choices in public areas, rooms were comfortable, large and clean. Check-In and Check-out we're quick and easy; staff was pleasant and welcoming. Housekeeping was prompt (perhaps a bit too prompt knocking at 9am) and my room was cleaned well before I returned to it in the afternoon. Plenty of parking and a Starbucks just up the street too. The one drawback was a bit of noise I-80 which is just behind the hotel. Things did quiet down though and particularly when the AC was running, didn't bother me. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingCAGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pchand, Manager at Crowne Plaza Sacramento, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We're very glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you with again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was my first time staying at The Crown Plaza but I will definitely return. I was the key note speaker at one of the local colleges graduations, and the location happened to be perfect. It ended up being one of the hottest days of the year (110•) and the staff adjusted well. It started at about 6:30am I went down to the lobby with my laptop and just happene to sit at the concierge desk, this started some playful banter with the Manager, then a man with 8 children came down to eat when they informed him that the usual policy is 2 children eat free for every 1 adult I spoke up and offered to let 2 of the 8 be my guest but they could sit at his table. The hostess was touched by my kindness and the Hotel comped me Breakfast (which was really really good) I then went on to stay around the Hotel until it was time for the graduation mostly because of the heat, but during that time I met over 25 of the staff and everyone of them was cool. Great Hotel, modern clean rooms, soft towels, great food, lots of fun, I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great hotel at a great rate. Thank You Crown Plaza...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graciainc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pchand, Manager at Crowne Plaza Sacramento, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We'd love to have you back again; whether you're speaking at another graduation or just visiting Sacramento for fun.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
309 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I spent the night here last night after lecturing in one of their meeting rooms. When I was here about 18 months ago there was a remodel underway, so it was a less than pleasant experience.

Now that the remodel has been completed, I am very impressed with that place and the 'bang for the buck' you get here. The free "Welcome Cocktail" coupon when checking in due to being a Priority Club member was yet another plus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheBlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pchand, Manager at Crowne Plaza Sacramento, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review. We're glad you had the chance to see us AFTER the renovation was completed. We hope to have you back again.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
158 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I spent about 6 1/2 hours in the hotel, but had the following observations:

Large Front Desk/Lobby area that made me feel like I was in a scene from Mad Men. Not necessarily a bad thing, but certainly a bit of time travel involved.

When I walked to my room, I noticed that the ceiling heights were about 7 1/2 feet, which seemed low and confining. Long hallways of doors without much to distract your attention.

Then I walked into the room and was transported back to 2013. It looks like they have made an effort to modernize and decorate the rooms. Higher ceilings and the decorating made it quite comfortable.

It is also about $20/night lower than similar quality hotels in SAC and West SAC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rdsxfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pchand, Manager at Crowne Plaza Sacramento, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're glad you liked our guest rooms (and our rates). We hope that the next time you visit Sacramento, you'll be able to stay longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Good location and clean amenities. Good stuff: price,cleanliness,location. Weak points:service in restaurant,weird layout to find the elevators, and most security doors (gym, pool, side doors) just pop open when pushed. Still overall I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JOrkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pchand, Manager at Crowne Plaza Sacramento, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you would stay with us again...We'd love to have you. There are three elevators to the guest rooms: one at the end closest to the lobby and two more at the opposite end of the tower. Depending on where you park; one of these should be convenient for you. We're sharing your comments about the security doors to our engineers for immediate action. Thank you for alerting us.
We look forward to having you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The front desk clerk was very friendly and the lobby area is extremely large and inviting. My room was clean and the ammenities were more than sufficient. The only problem was that my room was about 20 feet from the elevator and it was extremely loud.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anarayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pchand, Manager at Crowne Plaza Sacramento, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for the review. We're sorry that you were disturbed by the elevator noise. Please let us if you're ever unhappy in any way with your room. If we have another room available; we'll be happy to move you. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sacramento
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo
1.5 mi away
Lions Gate Hotel - A Lexington Legacy Hotel
Lions Gate Hotel - A Lexington L...
#1 of 5 in North Highlands
99 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramada Sacramento
Ramada Sacramento
#57 of 81 in Sacramento
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#17 of 81 in Sacramento
491 reviews
6.7 mi away
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
#10 of 81 in Sacramento
477 reviews
6.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Sacramento

Property: Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Address: 5321 Date Ave, Sacramento, CA 95841-2512 (Formerly Holiday Inn Northeast Sacramento)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Sacramento 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
****The Hotel just finished multi-million dollar renovation*****Centrally located off I-80 and Madison Avenue, the Crowne Plaza Sacramento is situated between downtown Sacramento and Roseville. This Sacramento hotel is just 15 minutes from the Sacramento International Airport (SMF), and six miles from Cal Expo. The Crowne Plaza is a preferred hotel for McClellan Business Park travelers and those visiting the Natomas Business Park. Join us in our Arbor Grille© for fantastic California cuisine. Enjoy Arbor Grille for your favorite beverage and nightly drink specials. In-room dining is also available. Maintain your exercise regime in our workout room or visit California Family Fitness across the street at a special guest rate. Swim year round in our outdoor pool and relax in the whirlpool spa.Businesses near hotel: Northrup Grumman, Raytheon, Sears, Lowes, SBC, Hewlett Packard. Points of interest near hotel: Thunder Valley Casino, Sunrise Shopping Mall, Galleria Shopping Mall, Arden Faire Mall, American River College, Historic Old Sacramento, Cherry Island, Freedom Park, Maidu Park, Skatetown, Arco Arena, Sacramento State University. Recreation near hotel: Century movie theaters, Haggin Oaks Golf Courses, Scandia Miniature golf and batting cages, Mardi Gras Bowling Lanes, McClellan Aviation Museum, Discovery Museum Science & Space Center. Earn $25 of free gas daily reserve our Gasoline Packages today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Holiday Inn Sacramento
Sacramento Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing