We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GOOD EFFORT SHOWS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Ranked #35 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chico, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A GOOD EFFORT SHOWS”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife I stayed in this hotel for one night. To be honest, we are drawn in by a good rate. We weren't expecting much...just for a single night. So, we were pleasantly surprised. The lobby is nice, spacious, and nicely decorated. The restaurant is very good. Our room was large, clean, with nicely appointed features. The thing that impressed me the most, was the effort made by the staff to ensure that we had a pleasant stay.... From the front desk clerk, to the servers, in the restaurant, to the house keeping, everyone seemed to be very customer satisfaction oriented. I was very pleased with the effort.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cienpasos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pchand, Manager at Crowne Plaza Sacramento, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're very happy that you were happy. Our staff works very hard to impress our guests. It's nice to hear when they succeed.
Thanks again. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    102
    72
    32
    24
See reviews for
57
31
30
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tracy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed one night during a volleyball tournament. The bed was very, very comfy and the accommodations were updated and very nice; more of an upscale look. Took advantage of the hot tub, which was nice. Staff was good, no issues. We stayed on the 2nd floor facing away from the freeway so no noise. Pretty clean, too -- had no complaints.

Room Tip: Get a room facing away from the freeway for a more quiet sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T From Cali f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pchand, Manager at Crowne Plaza Sacramento, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay. Please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The service of this hotel is exelent!!
They have helped me sent a package to my home adress when I had already left the hotel.
Great job!!!
I'll definitely be back next year!!
when there is the egg show!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annemarie0398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pchand, Manager at Crowne Plaza Sacramento, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are sharing your comments with our entire staff. It's great when they can see how important they are.
Thnaks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nv
Level Contributor
106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way home to Nevada. We had been wanting to try this hotel since it was converted from a Holiday Inn. The aesthetics of the hotel are nice but the basic necessities are missing, like in-room safety and sound insulation. We did get a room on the 6th floor and the hallways were quiet; guests were quiet. Our room was facing the opposite side of the property from the freeway, so we thought there would be no freeway noise. Wrong. But, the freeway noise did drown out the TV from the people next door. The window opened but there was no screen (6th floor). The AC unit built into the wall had a sign on it saying to operate the unit from the thermostat on the opposite wall. We tried but nothing we did would make the AC run. So, in spite of the sign on the unit itself, we tried operating it from the in-wall unit and, voila! We had success. The door to our room would not close unless you really pushed hard and had to really pull hard to open it. It was difficult not making a lot of noise at night when we closed the door. Maybe that's why our neighbors turned up their TV!
Our room and bathroom were both clean. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom had ample counter space and storage for the 2 of us. The bath products were actually very nice.
Parking was adequate and free, as was the Internet.
On our next trip to the Bay Area or Sacramento, we will try this hotel for one night. The rates are very reasonable and it is in a good location for access to Sacramento proper.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from the freeway as is possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank godsbooboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pchand, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Sacramento, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write the review of our property. We at Crowne Plaza Sacramento really value your business. We really appreciate your constructive feedback.

I will make sure that we take appropriate measure to correct the issues.

I am also glad the hear that your enjoyed your time in Sacramento and complimentary amenity that our hotel offers. There are only few hotels in Sacramento that offer free guests parking and complimentary Wi-Fi.

Thank you kindly and we are looking forward to see you in Sacramento again.

Regards,
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Check in, check out, parking were fine, no problems. Staff was courteous always. Room was clean, bed was comfy. The a/c was a little hit-and-miss but we were never uncomfortable. One night I wasn't feeling well but we needed a little something to eat so we ordered 2 bowls of chicken noodle soup (their soup of the day). It didn't take long to arrive but was barely lukewarm. And it was so salty as to almost be inedible. No crackers and only one napkin. So I guess I wouldn't recommend the room-service. We did have some calamari and drinks in the restaurant the next night, however, and it was yummy. We stayed on the 2nd floor away from the freeway and had no noise issues. The shower was great - lots of water pressure and no temperature fluctuations. They even had electrical outlets in the bathroom! (Something you don't find more than you do.) Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoeycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pchand, Manager at Crowne Plaza Sacramento, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
It looks like our earlier response did not post...so let's try this again. We wanted to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're very glad that you were happy overall. However; we were disturbed to hear that your room service order of soup was not delivered hot. Your comments were shared with our kitchen and room service staffs to be corrected immediately. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza it is a nice place however the staff is not to accomodating. Had issues with my credit card where they charged me several times as i had to adjust those charges in order for my room to be booked. As they were at fault they had me wait the whole time it took me to solve the issue with there accountng and my credit card company

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baby_J0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Sacramento, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Baby_J0621,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. . I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
137 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza at Sacramento, and I gotta say it was one of the worst experiences I had in a hotel. There were problems with the room and the service. I believe that at staying at other Crowne Plazas they were way superior and better. I'm very disappointed that I did not get the expected Crowne Plaza service that I've been getting at other IHG hotels.

I plan on doing a good majority of business in travel in Sacramento this year, and I don't plan on staying at this hotel ever again.

First of all the room was average, but didn't look clean. The bathroom had hair on the floor, and hair in the tub. The bed had hair, and the sheets didn't look like they were changed.

I didn't even get my wake up call and I asked for compensation, and the manager there told me he wasn't going to give me the compensation for the wake up call (I thought this was a Crowne Plaza standard to get a free room night and tax for a missed wake up call). I plan on calling the ihg guest relations in the next few days to complain.

Out of all the IHG properties I've stayed in the past 3 years, this has been by far the worst property and service from the managers to the staff. What's worse is that they didn't care, and it is reflected on the condescending attitude of the management to the staff.

I plan on telling everyone I know where I do business in Sacramento to not stay at the Crowne Plaza in Sacramento and stay at other IHG properties.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chu303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Sacramento, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Chu303,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a review of our hotel. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our service and facilities are superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Your comments are very troubling. We take comments such as these seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sacramento hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sacramento
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sacramento-Cal Expo
1.5 mi away
Lions Gate Hotel - A Lexington Legacy Hotel
Lions Gate Hotel - A Lexington L...
#1 of 5 in North Highlands
99 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramada Sacramento
Ramada Sacramento
#57 of 81 in Sacramento
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#17 of 81 in Sacramento
491 reviews
6.7 mi away
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
Courtyard Sacramento Cal Expo
#10 of 81 in Sacramento
477 reviews
6.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Sacramento

Property: Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Address: 5321 Date Ave, Sacramento, CA 95841-2512 (Formerly Holiday Inn Northeast Sacramento)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Sacramento 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
****The Hotel just finished multi-million dollar renovation*****Centrally located off I-80 and Madison Avenue, the Crowne Plaza Sacramento is situated between downtown Sacramento and Roseville. This Sacramento hotel is just 15 minutes from the Sacramento International Airport (SMF), and six miles from Cal Expo. The Crowne Plaza is a preferred hotel for McClellan Business Park travelers and those visiting the Natomas Business Park. Join us in our Arbor Grille© for fantastic California cuisine. Enjoy Arbor Grille for your favorite beverage and nightly drink specials. In-room dining is also available. Maintain your exercise regime in our workout room or visit California Family Fitness across the street at a special guest rate. Swim year round in our outdoor pool and relax in the whirlpool spa.Businesses near hotel: Northrup Grumman, Raytheon, Sears, Lowes, SBC, Hewlett Packard. Points of interest near hotel: Thunder Valley Casino, Sunrise Shopping Mall, Galleria Shopping Mall, Arden Faire Mall, American River College, Historic Old Sacramento, Cherry Island, Freedom Park, Maidu Park, Skatetown, Arco Arena, Sacramento State University. Recreation near hotel: Century movie theaters, Haggin Oaks Golf Courses, Scandia Miniature golf and batting cages, Mardi Gras Bowling Lanes, McClellan Aviation Museum, Discovery Museum Science & Space Center. Earn $25 of free gas daily reserve our Gasoline Packages today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Holiday Inn Sacramento
Sacramento Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing