We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Sacramento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Ranked #44 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersSilver level
Novato, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed here over a weekend with my family. First off, you should know that this hotel is not really close to the city center. It is about 10 miles northeast of downtown Sacramento. It is not in a touristy area. It's close to commercial buildings, car dealerships and some shopping plazas.

That said, it is quite a nice, comfortable hotel. The rooms have obviously been remodeled, so it feels like new. The beds are comfortable and there is no shortage of pillows. There is an outdoor pool and hot tub, which we didn't use, but looked well-maintained. The service at the front desk was also really nice. They provided us with free drink vouchers as a 'thank you' gift.

The best part about this place is the price. I guess it is because we were there in low season, but we got the room for only $75 online!

There are not many nice restaurants nearby, but we ate in the hotel and thought the food was pretty good. Good value for our dollar there as well.

This place is well worth the stay if you are visiting Sacramento for a night or two.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway. We did and had no problem getting one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devo1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pchand, Manager at Crowne Plaza Sacramento, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Be sure to try the Napa Salad (it's incredible!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    80
    56
    26
    19
See reviews for
42
25
25
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I attended a workshop that was held here in September - stayed a whole week. Got a heck of a deal on the room by pre-paying. You take a chance on a place when you prepay, but this risk paid off.

This used to be an old Holiday Inn, and it was fairly recently remodeled to be a Crowne Plaza. The entire staff was awesome - from the chef and waitress in the restaurant, to the maintenance men, to the front desk clerks.

Since I spent a week here, I asked if they had another desk chair for the room.The one in there, although cool looking, was not very comfortable. They were nice enough to bring a chair from the lobby up to me room for the week.

The restaurant food was decent. Soup was good, chicken wings and fish and chips good, and the sandwiches were good. Salads good. Sort of a pantry kitchen setup. Not so crazy about the jamaican chicken.

The neighborhood and demographic aren't so great. Lots of beggars and homeless in the area. Lots of cops and sirens. The guests over the weekend are a little less desirable than the weeknight guests which are more business oriented. I think the low price makes this place sort of a ghetto high roller place.

Lots of smoking going on here - cigarettes and pot - even though it is not allowed. My hallway often stunk of cigarettes.

Every fast food place imaginable nearby, plus an In-n-Out and Panda Express and Starbucks next door. Conveniently on I-80.

Overall, good stay, and I'd go back in a minute. One interesting observation: I had occasion to stay in a VERY nice place down in Sonoma Valley a couple weeks later - $175/night, with a 4 star restaurant attached. The staff was snobby and seemed inconvenienced by our patronage. My brother looked at me at one point and said, "We need to take the staff from up there [Crowne Plaza Sacramento] and put them down here [this nice place in Sonoma]!" That's quite a compliment to the folks at the CP. Kudos to management for good training, and thanks to the staff for making everything comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask them to put you on "the quiet side" - they seem to separate the business and vacation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HonorableTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Spent 2 nights here over the weekend to visit grandson leaving for Marines, The Room charge was reported to be 79.++/ night with 9.++ tax & 1.++ service fee. Upon leaving had receipt for 177.++. Howevere when I checked my credit card the pend bill was 224.++.

Also despite it being a " nice" room had a hard time regulating the temp. either it was frezzing cold if the air was rtunning or very stuffy when the air was off.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I drive past this hotel every day on my way to work, but never paid it any attention. Now that I have stayed, I will be recommending to all my friends and family. It is a lovely, clean, well-apportioned hotel. The rooms are clean and attractive and the beds are wonderful. The staff was friendly and helpful. It is not in a super nice area (not a terrible one either), but it is very convenient and close to freeway access. The value is outstanding - appx the same rate as the vastly inferior La Quinta a few blocks away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtb09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This place is a rip-off, and uses legal language that no one can understand to steal your money.I booked at this hotel for a high school reunion. I had to cancel when my 85 year-old husband came down with a virus and we could not make the trip from Oregon to Sacramento. The hotel refused to return our $92, even though I told them we are seniors living on a limited income.

Most hotels take your credit card number when you make a reservation, and charge your card when you arrive. Not this hotel. They charge you immediately, and if you cannot come, they keep your money. They say they can do this because of a statement on their website (that does not make this policy clear). Here is the statement, and see if you can make sense of it: "I understand that by selecting the confirm reservation button, I am authorizing a charge to the credit card number provided for any specified deposit requirement and/or cancellation fee that may apply. Cancellation fees are non-refundable." That's it! Of course you need a room, so you click the button. They have your money, and if something happens that prevents you from using the room, well, that's just too bad, you are in the clutches of a greedy corporation. So if given a choice, I would stay somewhere else, and I would inquire about the cancellation policy before buying.

Room Tip: Check the cancellation policy before making a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Sacramento, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Jane F,

Thank you so much for your recent comments. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience. For that reason, your comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. I would love to welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience with further details. I have sent you a private message to obtain additional information regarding your stay.

I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My three night stay at this property was fine. This is a re-branded Holiday Inn that has been re-painted, upgraded, and is very nice. My room was very clean, well organized and had new modern amenities. It was quiet with no surrounding noise. The only detractor was the view from my room was of the service area of two car dealers located next to the hotel.
The restaurant/ bar area was nice as was the food. They have a morning breakfast buffet which is a little below standard from a Hilton or Marriott, but offered most everything you would want.
The staff, (especially the night bar staff and morning waitresses) were very service oriented, friendly and accommodating.
I would stay here again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitroxprt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stayed for a week at this hotel and I could not have asked for a better hotel. Newly renovated the rooms were AWESOME and the beds are so comfortable and I can't forget about the fantastic BREAKFAST, (juicy fruit)! I work in the hotel industry and knowing what to look for and expect this hotel exceeded all aspects. A hotel can look nice but it is the STAFF that makes this hotel the best it can be and I just want to say THANK YOU to EVERYONE who works here, they were all so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sagittariusgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sacramento
3.4 mi away
Ramada Sacramento
Ramada Sacramento
#48 of 82 in Sacramento
3.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
9.1 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#15 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
8.3 mi away
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
#31 of 82 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lions Gate Hotel - A Lexington Legacy Hotel
Lions Gate Hotel - A Lexington L...
#1 of 5 in North Highlands
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Sacramento

Property: Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Address: 5321 Date Ave, Sacramento, CA 95841-2512 (Formerly Holiday Inn Northeast Sacramento)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Sacramento 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
****The Hotel just finished multi-million dollar renovation*****Centrally located off I-80 and Madison Avenue, the Crowne Plaza Sacramento is situated between downtown Sacramento and Roseville. This Sacramento hotel is just 15 minutes from the Sacramento International Airport (SMF), and six miles from Cal Expo. The Crowne Plaza is a preferred hotel for McClellan Business Park travelers and those visiting the Natomas Business Park. Join us in our Arbor Grille© for fantastic California cuisine. Enjoy Arbor Grille for your favorite beverage and nightly drink specials. In-room dining is also available. Maintain your exercise regime in our workout room or visit California Family Fitness across the street at a special guest rate. Swim year round in our outdoor pool and relax in the whirlpool spa.Businesses near hotel: Northrup Grumman, Raytheon, Sears, Lowes, SBC, Hewlett Packard. Points of interest near hotel: Thunder Valley Casino, Sunrise Shopping Mall, Galleria Shopping Mall, Arden Faire Mall, American River College, Historic Old Sacramento, Cherry Island, Freedom Park, Maidu Park, Skatetown, Arco Arena, Sacramento State University. Recreation near hotel: Century movie theaters, Haggin Oaks Golf Courses, Scandia Miniature golf and batting cages, Mardi Gras Bowling Lanes, McClellan Aviation Museum, Discovery Museum Science & Space Center. Earn $25 of free gas daily reserve our Gasoline Packages today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Holiday Inn Sacramento
Sacramento Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing