We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Ranked #37 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I have stayed at this property numerous times when it was affiliated with another chain. Even through their remodeling the customer service was exemplary. Now, with the tastefule remodel completed and a new identity, they have somehow misplaced their customer service. Gone is th lounge open for reasonable use replced with a bar that opens late and closes early. Also gone is the healthy complimentary breakfast replaced with a very ordinary coffee shop menu with inflated prices.

When I checked into my room, advertised at $84/night I was charged $104/night. The room is tastefully redecorated but I discoverd in the bathroom that the previous tenant's well-used soap remained next to the sink and a used washrag and partially used shampoo and conditioner remained in the shower. You know, details matter.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pvmlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 290 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2012

Had to fly to Sacramento short notice to take care of my mom whom had a stroke. The Crowne Plaza hotel is 2 blocks from her house so I checked in there to see if they had rooms. Well they did, and I have to say I was impressed... I had to extend my stay 4 times, and they were very accommodating, even dropping my rate!!! The restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner and has a bar area. Breakfast was excellent, and the service was friendly, fast and efficient.
The bed was very comfortable, lots of pillows. Bathroom was great, shower pressure perfect, and towels soft and not scratchy. The only negative was that the internet in the room didn't work, leaving me to go to lobby if I needed internet access.

Room Tip: I had a room on the first floor which was fine, but I did hear traffic to the pool, and several nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thespottedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Stayed 2 nights, internet was inoperative except in lobby, desk clerk assisted with finding a charger for cell phone, very comfortable bed, air temperature was not easy to adjust (too warm - I sound like Goldi-locks), room was clean and shower/bathroom very nice. Restaurant had good food, comfortable atmosphere, reasonable price. One elevator was inoperative.

I would go back again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lead63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

An overall great experience. The room was comfortable, quiet, and nicely decorated. Staff was efficient and organized. The bed was very comfortable and I was able to get the room temperature right for me. Priority Club members receive some perks on check-in. The ongoing construction was not a problem and they seemed to be almost done. Free wi-fi helped me get my work done. My one "eh" moment was there are very few tv channels, but I would give that up for a quiet and comfortable experience any day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BicoastalCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip. While the serviceis great, and the hotel food here is among the best I have gotten in a business traveler hotel class hotel, twice, my shower steam set off the fire alarm. When it happened the firat time, they said it would be fixed, when it happened again the last day, I realized that they dint bother.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasonh101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I always read reviews before going anywhere and this place seemed pretty good and inexpensive. We stayed here for just one night for a wedding and thank goodness, I don't think I would have stayed here for another. The hotel is still "under construction" so expect a lot of unfinished things, like elevators breaking down and no working soda or water machines. I was pleasantly surprised with the decor of the place just don't look to closely past the surface- our towels and floors were dirty and there was no soap or shampoo in the bathroom, not to mention the walls are paper thin. Overall the hotel was very cheap to stay at- if you can I would find another hotel, if you can't don't stay at this one too long.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTheriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

After a long trip it was very nice to stay at this hotel. Newly remodled, nice beds, nice rooms, nice employees. Would recomend to everyone. Hotwire rate was great....

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wyndmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
6.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento
9.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
6.9 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 82 in Sacramento
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
9.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
9.1 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#14 of 82 in Sacramento
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Sacramento

Address: 5321 Date Ave, Sacramento, CA 95841-2512 (Formerly Holiday Inn Northeast Sacramento)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: $89 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Sacramento 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
****The Hotel just finished multi-million dollar renovation*****Centrally located off I-80 and Madison Avenue, the Crowne Plaza Sacramento is situated between downtown Sacramento and Roseville. This Sacramento hotel is just 15 minutes from the Sacramento International Airport (SMF), and six miles from Cal Expo. The Crowne Plaza is a preferred hotel for McClellan Business Park travelers and those visiting the Natomas Business Park. Join us in our Arbor Grille© for fantastic California cuisine. Enjoy Arbor Grille for your favorite beverage and nightly drink specials. In-room dining is also available. Maintain your exercise regime in our workout room or visit California Family Fitness across the street at a special guest rate. Swim year round in our outdoor pool and relax in the whirlpool spa.Businesses near hotel: Northrup Grumman, Raytheon, Sears, Lowes, SBC, Hewlett Packard. Points of interest near hotel: Thunder Valley Casino, Sunrise Shopping Mall, Galleria Shopping Mall, Arden Faire Mall, American River College, Historic Old Sacramento, Cherry Island, Freedom Park, Maidu Park, Skatetown, Arco Arena, Sacramento State University. Recreation near hotel: Century movie theaters, Haggin Oaks Golf Courses, Scandia Miniature golf and batting cages, Mardi Gras Bowling Lanes, McClellan Aviation Museum, Discovery Museum Science & Space Center. Earn $25 of free gas daily reserve our Gasoline Packages today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crowne Plaza Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Holiday Inn Sacramento
Sacramento Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing