We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Sacramento Downtown - Arena
Nearby Hotels
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
$199
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$223
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Sacramento(Sacramento)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$161
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveler rating
101
182
97
27
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
182
97
27
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe holiday inncapitol plazaold sacramentogreat locationexecutive floorwalking distancehotel restaurantself parkingfront desk stafftrain museumhigh floorroom was spacious and cleanamtrak stationbusiness centerthe riverair conditionernice stay
Filter
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 434 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I guess you get what you expect from a Holiday Inn Express. It's clean, efficient and folk are friendly. As with other reviews, the big plus here is definitely location. Some other useful bits about the place - meals in the bar are pretty good and inexpensive. There is a pool here too, although it isn't well advertised or indeed used much. Its on floor 2 and catches the sun in the afternoon. Also there is a free washing machine and dryer near the pool which was also useful for us being on a long vacation.
Not sure why they charge so much here for the rate to include breakfast - there are so many places in walking distance where you can get a decent breakfast, that folk just don't bother to book it - the breakfast room is always empty as a result. So don't bother booking a breakfast if you stay. All in all pretty happy with the place. Would stay again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron_Elvins1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I spent two nights at this property and had a good stay. The price, room, and location were ideal. The room was clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Parking was convenient, for Sacramento, but cost about 10.00 a day. Location was very good with plenty to see and many restaurants nearby, all walking distance. Very close to Old town Sacramento, again within walking distance. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhateverCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Nice clean hotel, fantastic location for downtown business. Check in was easy, room was spacious and clean. The only negative is the position of the air conditioner as it sits right next to the desk. If I wasn't working so much while in the room would not have been a big idea. This is a challenge with all Holiday Inn properties, location and style of heating and air conditioning units.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I recently stayed here for a work related conference. Front desk and restaurant staff were
very friendly and efficient. Room was spacious but dated (I'm talking to you gold striped wallpaper) and did not smell fresh. Carpet was stained and badly needed cleaned. After a couple of days I realized I never heard nor saw a vacuum any time during my stay. Bathrooms were clean and as noted, staff very pleasant. Parking was convenient but was $14 per night and an additional $2 for valet. Food was average. Will stay here again for business but it would not be my choice for a vacation or leisure visit. But it is within walking distance to Old Sacramento and the capitol.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattiorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sacramento Downtown - Arena, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear pattiorama,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here and attended meetings here over a number of years in Sacramento. A bit dated but clean and fairly well maintianed. Decent staff and service. Good meeting rooms. Average food. Often a good deal versus other downtown hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Local93921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sacramento Downtown - Arena, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Local93921,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. However, we are thankful that you enjoyed your stay despite some issues. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews