We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Sacramento Downtown - Arena
Nearby Hotels
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
$199
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$223
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$145
$136
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Sacramento(Sacramento)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
Autograph
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveler rating
101
182
97
27
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
182
97
27
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe holiday inncapitol plazaold sacramentogreat locationexecutive floorwalking distancehotel restaurantself parkingfront desk stafftrain museumhigh floorroom was spacious and cleanamtrak stationbusiness centerthe riverair conditionernice stay
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 434 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here three nights in August ..nice location...next to a mall and within walking distance to old town Sacramento ...waked to convention center everyday...nice walk about 10 blocks away...fire works from old town was a nice surprise..didn't bother my sleeping husband at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tahoenana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I find myself at this hotel a lot--not necessarily by choice, but you won't catch me complaining!

This was one of the first Holiday Inns I had stayed at in a while, and I was pleasantly surprised. It's clean, updated, and offers entertainment within walking distance.

The rooms are large, clean, and feature all updated amenities including WiFi. The beds are comfortable, even if the pillows are lumpy and a bit awkward unless you mash several of them together. The bathroom is updated and features granite counter tops (or something that looks like granite at least), Bath and Body Works amenities, plush towels, and modern fixtures. Also, don't be fooled by the travel-sized hairdryer--it gets the job done better than most full-sized models.

My only wish is that the hotel was equipped with true central air conditioning. While this area of California doesn't see the types of high temperatures that this Texas girl is used to, I can't help but feel like box air conditioners are...cheap. While it works great, this light sleeper is easily woken by the sound of the air conditioner turning on and off throughout the night.

The hotel features a bar and restaurant as well. Both have great service and great food--order the Salmon Salad, you won't regret it. When the restaurant is closed, the bar continues serving food until late until the evening. If you ever find yourself in the mood for a midnight snack, you absolutely cannot go wrong with the Lumpia.

If you're in the mood for something a little more entertaining, check out the mall that's literally steps outside the back of the hotel. Catch a movie, grab a bite to eat, get your nails done--all of this and more is mere footsteps from the hotel. Or, if you're in the mood for something a little more touristy, check out Old Town Sacramento, which is a quick five minute walk in the opposite direction from the mall. Downtown your destination? No problem--you can easily reach the hustle and bustle of the downtown-area on foot in less than 10 minutes.

If you find yourself needing a place to stay in Sacramento, look no further!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geekcatnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We pulled into this hotel and it has a goofy Porto Cohere drop off. If you have a truck you have to take a few back ups to get into the covered area. There was no parking attendant so I went into the hotel to check in. I came back out and my truck was moved by the attendant and he was a little snarly towards my wife because I went into the hotel without his permission. From there you have to drive next door to a parking garage and haul your luggage back to your room. The room I had was just over 200 sf with a queen bed, no microwave or fridge. We went to diner and we had left overs that we had to throw out. At $189 a night plus parking I want to have a micro/fridge combo in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldblueeyes9217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sacramento Downtown - Arena, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear oldblueeyes9217,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. We are sorry the hotel parking area did not live up to your expectations. We have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for two nights before moving onto Lake Tahoe but one night stay in Sacramento would of been enough. However, the hotel is in a great location for exploring Sacramento. The hotel is situated next to Old Sacramento and Downtown Mall/ Plaza with a 5 minute walk to Capitol Plaza.

The hotel is very clean with large sized rooms. The rooms have air con, free wifi, cable tv but no safe. The room we had was a disable room (was only room available) which did not have a bath. There is a good fitness centre and a small outdoor pool on level 2. The breakfast is good with option of buffet or menu. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and tentative. There is valet parking or self parking. If self parking make sure you have your ticket validated by the hotel due to being significantly cheaper that the city price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markw2290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have been to this hotel on many occasions. They have great comfortable rooms excellent customer service and are not over priced for a nights stay. Easy walk to the mall or old town Sacramento. Convent to ride Amtrak and walk over a few blocks to the hotel. They have good internet and a business center that does not charge you an arm and a leg to print out a piece of paper.

Room Tip: Great Breakfast Buffet, great views of downtown and old town.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zakath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews