We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good location is best thing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Ranked #32 of 80 Hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersBronze level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good location is best thing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here one night to be close to Old Town Sacramento and were not disappointed by the location. It was perfect for that.

Otherwise, the hotel is very old and in need of updating. We have platinum status and were on the executive floor, but here everything was old feeling and in desperate need of updating.

Our room had a dirty towel inside (black marks) and almost no water pressure at the sink. We actually washed our hands in the shower. Sure we could have complained and moved rooms, but it was just one night. There was also considerable road noise from the highway outside even though we were on a high floor.

They did have a good breakfast deal, and the food was good although the buffet was not refreshed often enough. The lobby and other areas are also old and need an update.

We only stayed here to be at Old Town and that goal was achieved. We will not stay here again and do not suggest it to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PepeTravels44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    158
    82
    24
    22
See reviews for
54
73
28
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here three nights in August ..nice location...next to a mall and within walking distance to old town Sacramento ...waked to convention center everyday...nice walk about 10 blocks away...fire works from old town was a nice surprise..didn't bother my sleeping husband at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahoenana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I find myself at this hotel a lot--not necessarily by choice, but you won't catch me complaining!

This was one of the first Holiday Inns I had stayed at in a while, and I was pleasantly surprised. It's clean, updated, and offers entertainment within walking distance.

The rooms are large, clean, and feature all updated amenities including WiFi. The beds are comfortable, even if the pillows are lumpy and a bit awkward unless you mash several of them together. The bathroom is updated and features granite counter tops (or something that looks like granite at least), Bath and Body Works amenities, plush towels, and modern fixtures. Also, don't be fooled by the travel-sized hairdryer--it gets the job done better than most full-sized models.

My only wish is that the hotel was equipped with true central air conditioning. While this area of California doesn't see the types of high temperatures that this Texas girl is used to, I can't help but feel like box air conditioners are...cheap. While it works great, this light sleeper is easily woken by the sound of the air conditioner turning on and off throughout the night.

The hotel features a bar and restaurant as well. Both have great service and great food--order the Salmon Salad, you won't regret it. When the restaurant is closed, the bar continues serving food until late until the evening. If you ever find yourself in the mood for a midnight snack, you absolutely cannot go wrong with the Lumpia.

If you're in the mood for something a little more entertaining, check out the mall that's literally steps outside the back of the hotel. Catch a movie, grab a bite to eat, get your nails done--all of this and more is mere footsteps from the hotel. Or, if you're in the mood for something a little more touristy, check out Old Town Sacramento, which is a quick five minute walk in the opposite direction from the mall. Downtown your destination? No problem--you can easily reach the hustle and bustle of the downtown-area on foot in less than 10 minutes.

If you find yourself needing a place to stay in Sacramento, look no further!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geekcatnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We pulled into this hotel and it has a goofy Porto Cohere drop off. If you have a truck you have to take a few back ups to get into the covered area. There was no parking attendant so I went into the hotel to check in. I came back out and my truck was moved by the attendant and he was a little snarly towards my wife because I went into the hotel without his permission. From there you have to drive next door to a parking garage and haul your luggage back to your room. The room I had was just over 200 sf with a queen bed, no microwave or fridge. We went to diner and we had left overs that we had to throw out. At $189 a night plus parking I want to have a micro/fridge combo in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldblueeyes9217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear oldblueeyes9217,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. We are sorry the hotel parking area did not live up to your expectations. We have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for two nights before moving onto Lake Tahoe but one night stay in Sacramento would of been enough. However, the hotel is in a great location for exploring Sacramento. The hotel is situated next to Old Sacramento and Downtown Mall/ Plaza with a 5 minute walk to Capitol Plaza.

The hotel is very clean with large sized rooms. The rooms have air con, free wifi, cable tv but no safe. The room we had was a disable room (was only room available) which did not have a bath. There is a good fitness centre and a small outdoor pool on level 2. The breakfast is good with option of buffet or menu. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and tentative. There is valet parking or self parking. If self parking make sure you have your ticket validated by the hotel due to being significantly cheaper that the city price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markw2290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have been to this hotel on many occasions. They have great comfortable rooms excellent customer service and are not over priced for a nights stay. Easy walk to the mall or old town Sacramento. Convent to ride Amtrak and walk over a few blocks to the hotel. They have good internet and a business center that does not charge you an arm and a leg to print out a piece of paper.

Room Tip: Great Breakfast Buffet, great views of downtown and old town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zakath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night on a business trip. I drove in very late on a Sunday. The valet and front desk staff were very pleasant. I found my room to be a little on the small side, but clean and comfortable. There was hardly any noise. I used the gym and found it decent. It had the typical treadmills and bicycles, but they also had a mat area with some free weights. No major frills but comfortable and close to downtown. I cannot give an accurate opinion of the value as they accepted the State rate that I must use while traveling, so it was an awesome value for me! I would definitely stay here again for a business trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uclachexican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#3 of 80 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza

Property: Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Address: 300 J St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#30 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Sacramento Capitol Plaza-Downtown/Old Sacramento caters to both corporate and leisure travel and is set in the heart of vibrant & historic downtown Sacramento. Always remember - 'Green is INN'! Our Sacramento Hotels Old Town has attractions you won't want to miss located within 4 blocks of the hotel include; Historic Old Sacramento, and Sacramento Hotels Downtown complimentary wireless and pillow top bedding to provide relaxation after a full day. Other attractions you won't want to miss are: Sacramento Zoo, Arco Arena (Home of the Sacramento Kings), Sutter s Fort. The Sacramento, CA Holiday Inn Capitol Plaza is close to the University of Davis (Go Aggies), California State University of Sacramento (Go Hornets), Kaiser Hospital, Sutter Hospital, Wells Fargo, SBC, Siemens Inc., Wachovia Financial. Our Sacramento Hotels on the River offers 359 guestrooms and 16 stories for the perfect view of the Sacramento River. We are located 12 miles from the Sacramento Airport . Experience for yourself why the Holiday Inn Sacramento Capital located in Sacramento County is truly the 'Capitol of Excellence'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing