We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, friendly, but noisy!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Ranked #31 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here three times now and whereas the staff is friendly, the hotel very clean including the rooms, there is a constant noise coming from outside the hotel when I am in my room. I've stayed on a lower floor (even # room) in the trees that was the quietest, the 12th floor (even # room) was constant, all night freeway noise (can we say pillow over the head trying to sleep) and this last visit on the 7th floor (odd # room) that the freeway noise was drowned out by the noise of the A/C or fans/vents coming from the roof below (NOT the room A/C or heater vent, I had these off). This time I tried ear plugs and that worked.
Food in the restraunt is decent but expensive.
Overall comfortable but I like it quiet and dark for sleeping. If noise bothers you, consider ear plugs, pillow over the head or another hotel.
Note, this hotel has a convenient under-the-freeway pedestrian underpass out front over to Old Town that is great with restaurants, shops and a train museum. This part is a real plus.

Room Tip: Lower floors on even numbered side has SOME blocking of the freeway noise. Lower floors on odd numb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdH61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

305 - 311 of 420 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

A lot of extra costs for things normally free at other Holiday Inn locations...no free coffee...continental breakfast is $14.95...garage parking is $14.99 a day...Valet parking is $16.99 a day if there is space...the lounge was packed all night till closing...our parking was comped because we had no hair dryer in our room...bed actually gave me a back ache...although it is close to Old Sacramento and many eateries and bars...they were crowded with college kids...all in all, I should have driven another hour to the next Holiday Inn where breakfast and parking and coffee were free (without having to make it in the room)

Room Tip: find a different hotel...do some research like you do on Trip Advisor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodburning1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizjqh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel. We can only provide better service by hearing from guest such as yourself. I appreciate your discomfort in paying for parking. We too feel that discomfort when we send our check to the City of Sacramento, who owns the garage adjacent to the hotel that is used by the hotel. We are a full service hotel that offers breakfast in our restaurant and the option to purchase a room package that includes breakfast so I apologize that you were not aware of the options. I am also regretful that someone on the management team was not aware that you were not happy with your stay as our goal is to ensure every guest leaves our hotel satisfied. I hope you will reconsider this hotel in the future and give us an opportunity to change you mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

When we arrived and parked our car in front of this hotel to check-in, none of the valet attendants were present, there was only a single car, besides ours, but suddenly, when I walked in the lobby to check in and my travel companion stayed in the car, I was approached by male valet attendant with an urgent request move the car, because, according to him, I didn't park in the right space, even though there were room for passing through traffic. It's not that I was checking in for an hour. Meanwhile, Marcisha, the second valet attendant came out to the car, rudely knocked on the window AND ASKED THE PASSENGER to move the car!!! Basically, no matter wat it was, the situation was handled poorly and the first impression was negative. If those valet attendants didn't want us to park there for checking in (in front of the hotel) where were they in the first place? And then started running with their heads off bothering me at the desk and the passenger in the car. The attitude of those two was appalling and simply rude. If I knew such rude employees working for Holiday Inn, I wouldn't stay there at the first place and don't recommend to you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tahoeusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizjqh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

We apologize for the service you encountered in our front drive. You are absolutely right that someone should have been in the drive to meet and greet you upon arrival and with a smile. That is the standard for the team. At times business levels can determine where the team is and can pull their attentiveness in several different directions. We realize this is not the customers concern and that the attitude of our team can make a difference in the customers tolerance. However, service should always be a top priority. Again, I apologize. As stated in an earlier email, I hope you will give us an opportunity to change your mind about our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Surprised, looks upscale, very clean, neat well kept, pleasant staff, comfortable room and bed. Close to Old Town, about 100 yards after walking through a large tunnel under the freeway. Parking costs extra ($14 a day). Read other articles about lousy restaurant in hotel so had breakfast right across the street, which was good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bud F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Hotel is pleasant, well maintained and clean. Not in need of a refurb like some Holiday Inns. The hotel is in a good location a few hundred yards from Old Sacramento and 20mins or so walk from the Capitol.
The pool area is outside and apparently unheated. It is also elevated on a roof and not far from the noisy flyover. it really could do with more landscaping and screening from the traffic.
We ate in the restaurant once for dinner and should have noticed the signs of empty seats. The salad was 1 day old (as per the waiter) and brown and the main course tasteless with gloopy sauce. We did, however, received a reduction in our bill for the poor quality. Given the restaurants location on the main pavement into Old Sacramento, it is such a pity that it is of such poor quality.... It could be full!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJO_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizjqh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for your comments. The hotel performance can only improve by honest feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the location as I too think we have one of the best. I apologize that the restaurant did not meet your expectation and will certainly work to improve the product. I hope we have an opportunity to be of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here just the one night whilst visiting the area and hotel was perfectly situated for what we wanted to see and do. Check in was efficient and informative. Rooms spacious and clean. The restaurant grille wasn't very good and we did complain about the food to the waiter who actually agreed with us but didn't remove and cost from the bill or offer alternate food, luckily check out did. Parking is either self park at $14 or valet at $16....... Took a while to get the car back when I needed at as only one person working and he seemed distracted

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRAVELBAG40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We were in Sac July 12 - 16 for a Convention. Reservations were fairly last minute. This is an older H.I., but, lobby & bar & restaurant are a little more updated & very pleasant. This looks like it is used by a lot of business people & airline personnel. The staff is very pleasant & helpful. It is about a 20 min walk to con. center & Old Sac. is a brief walk. There is a Westfield Plaza mall - right out the hotel doors. Several Starbucks are near & lots of dining choices within walking dist. - although none that I would consider Fine dining. As for the rooms, initially I was put off by the odor in our room - but, there was an air purifier in there - as they had just cleaned the carpet. Odor & purifier were gone the next A.M. & no more issues with smell. The room is dated, but clean & comfortable. Bathroom is on the small size. My biggest complaint was no mini fridge & no microwave. As we were gone most of the day - the room certainly met our needs for a comfortable & clean space to sleep, shower & relax with a bit of t.v. We got an added bonus of having a great view of a fireworks display - we were never able to figure out what it was celebrating, but they were beautiful. Over all a nice stay - that suited our needs

Room Tip: I believe we had a west facing room on the third floor over looking the tree tops of a near by park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YaYA50-24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sacramento Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 82 in Sacramento
1,759 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza

Address: 300 J St, Sacramento, CA 95814-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#30 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: $97 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Sacramento Capitol Plaza-Downtown/Old Sacramento caters to both corporate and leisure travel and is set in the heart of vibrant & historic downtown Sacramento. Always remember - 'Green is INN'! Our Sacramento Hotels Old Town has attractions you won't want to miss located within 4 blocks of the hotel include; Historic Old Sacramento, and Sacramento Hotels Downtown complimentary wireless and pillow top bedding to provide relaxation after a full day. Other attractions you won't want to miss are: Sacramento Zoo, Arco Arena (Home of the Sacramento Kings), Sutter s Fort. The Sacramento, CA Holiday Inn Capitol Plaza is close to the University of Davis (Go Aggies), California State University of Sacramento (Go Hornets), Kaiser Hospital, Sutter Hospital, Wells Fargo, SBC, Siemens Inc., Wachovia Financial. Our Sacramento Hotels on the River offers 359 guestrooms and 16 stories for the perfect view of the Sacramento River. We are located 12 miles from the Sacramento Airport . Experience for yourself why the Holiday Inn Sacramento Capital located in Sacramento County is truly the 'Capitol of Excellence'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing