We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PE Exam made easy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lexington Inn & Suites- Sacramento Cal Expo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lexington Inn & Suites- Sacramento Cal Expo to your Saves list
Lexington Inn & Suites- Sacramento Cal Expo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1413 Howe Avenue, Sacramento, CA  95825 (Formerly Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Vantage Hotels App
Ranked #48 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Columbus
2 reviews
“PE Exam made easy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Flew into Sacramento from Ohio to take the CA PE Exam; very stressful time to say the least. Room was not fancy, but clean and very comfortable and just a couple minutes from the Cal Expo. Smelled fresh and clean. Plenty of soft and firm pillows, great bed, slept really well. Breakfast was standard, but hot and fresh (waffle machine works perfectly). The very best thing about this hotel is the service: each and every member of the staff was friendly and helpful, going out of their way to make me comfortable and get whatever I needed over my four-day stay. They made really good practical recommendations for eating locally and shopping for necessities, gave good directions, and were incredibly helpful at every turn. Danielle at the desk handled the whole place like a pro. Thanks guys - you took the edge off a tough weekend and had the hot tub primed to relax when it was all over. EIT's travelling to take the PE in Sacramento: this is the best value for you, no doubt.

Room Tip: Can't speak for others, but ground floor, main building, facing the parking lot is quiet, very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PE_Examinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at Lexington Inn & Suites- Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that all our staff was able to provide you with superior customer service. Our location is great with lots of dining options in walking distance, as well as shopping areas. We all hope you did great on your test, and hope to see you again when you come to Sacramento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    29
    15
    7
    21
See reviews for
26
19
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Valley Springs ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

After checking out of the hotel a front desk clerk "Danielle" made an additional charge on my credit card for $300. I called the hotel and spoke to Danielle who lied and said she was the manager and said I had damaged the room somehow. She could not tell me what was "damaged" and I only slept in the room for a few hours on a long drive and left early to keep driving. After lying about being the GM of the hotel, refusing to refund me, or tell me what the charge was for, she then hangs up in me when I ask to speak to her supervisor. I had to call the corporate office to find out who the actual GM really was and to file a complaint. Rude/criminal staff and an old run down former best western hotel from the 70's era made this $400 hotel room a scam at best and thieves at worst, hide your financial information from these people or they might steal from you as we'll! You've been warned.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Customer7501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at Lexington Inn & Suites- Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I’m taking you claim of being over charged seriously. Rest assured that you were not charged for “no Reason” we only charge guest that have smoked in our nonsmoking rooms, or caused some sort of damage. Please contact the hotel to get the exact reason for the charge. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Gratiot, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The carpet was filthy, if you a walked barefoot your feet were black. The room smelled. the frig was dirty...there was someone elses hair on the bathroom floor....the whole place was old and outdated the air conditioner did not work and it was 90 degrees outside. The door did not shut properly and it had to be slammed and then would not open. spiders were everywhere

Room Tip: do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary jo w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at Lexington Inn & Suites- Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We have professionally cleaned all room carpets at the hotel.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My stay at this hotel was great. Looking at the pictures online, I wasn't sure but after talking to Angie on the phone and during my stay it exceed all my expectations.

The staff, were helpful, the location is central to the huge mall and sites.

The hotel is clean and would rate as a high 3 standards for the price point worth it.

Thanks again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at Lexington Inn & Suites- Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and appreciated are staff and there service. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is not a 4 or 5 star hotel. Let's establish that from the start. It's an aging property in a transitional part of town. However, unlike many similar hotels, it still manages to provide a good product.

The first thing that caught my eye about this hotel was the price. It was lower than anything else around, which intrigued me and put me on guard. Then, I looked at the reviews on Trip Advisor and saw that there were a lot of good, recent ones. So, I decided to give it a try as it was inexpensive and close to where I was going for business.

The staff was friendly and courteous and seemed to like their jobs and care about their guests. That puts them ahead of a lot of places. My room was kind of small and a little dated, but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. The free breakfast each morning contained eggs, sausage, hash browns, a waffle maker, and a variety of fruit, cereal, and breads. The free wifi worked most of the time and was not too slow like some hotels. There are apparently a variety of rooms from regular rooms like I stayed in, to suites with a kitchenette.

The biggest negative I saw was that it lacked an elevator. Parking was a little tight, and I wouldn't leave anything in your car as the area around the hotel appeared to be a little sketchy at night. There are lots of restaurants around; Red Lobster, Outback Steakhouse, and Pete's Coffee are right across the street. Plus, the mall is very close too. The hotel is about 20 minutes from the airport and 20 minutes from downtown.

Again, it's not fancy, but I would stay here again. You definitely get your money's worth. It's obvious that the management cares about hiring people that care which says a lot given how often you don't see that. Give it a try if you're nearby!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at Lexington Inn & Suites- Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and the value of our hotel. We are in the process of doing some upgrades to help boost that value for our guest such as you. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on September 19th for a 1 night stay. We reserved 1 king bed with suite. When we checked into our Room 119, we discovered there was only 1/4 roll of toilet paper and no bar soap to wash hands or take a shower. When we used the bathroom toilet and flushed it, it made this awful loud noise like letting air out of a balloon. It lasted for 1 minute before it stopped. My husband called the front desk to report it. We were told housekeeping would bring bar of soap and toilet paper. Housekeeping and maintenance never showed several hours later. Husband went to front desk to complain again. Manager apologized for the inconvenience and gave us bar of soap and toilet paper. Other than the minor inconvenience, our room and overall stay was very satisfied. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Choose Room 119 when booking reservation for a king size bed with living room suite. Very quiet cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at Lexington Inn & Suites- Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I do have to apologize for not exceeding you expectations during your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo
4.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
2.8 mi away
Ramada Sacramento
Ramada Sacramento
#44 of 82 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sacramento University Area
1.1 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#13 of 82 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
1.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Sacramento - Arden Way
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lexington Inn & Suites- Sacramento Cal Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lexington Inn & Suites- Sacramento Cal Expo

Property: Lexington Inn & Suites- Sacramento Cal Expo
Address: 1413 Howe Avenue, Sacramento, CA  95825 (Formerly Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lexington Inn & Suites- Sacramento Cal Expo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes away from bustling downtown Sacramento, CA, the Lexington Inn and Suites Sacramento Cal Expo boasts an array of modern amenities, a multi-lingual staff, and big city hospitality. Key local attractions include the California Expo Center, Raging Waters Sacramento, and California State University. Sacramento International Airport is conveniently less than 16 miles away. Our Sacramento hotel is the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Our entirely smoke-free property offers many amenities, including a year round outdoor pool and jacuzzi where guests can relax after a day of sightseeing. Maintain your exercise routine while on the road in our on-site fitness center. Visitors in town for business will be sure to take advantage of our on-site meeting facilities, featuring free Wi-Fi in all meeting rooms. Our staff will work with you to ensure your meeting or event runs smoothly down to the last detail. Each of the 120 guest rooms features thoughtful amenities like complimentary Wi-Fi, flat panel cable television, ESPN, and HBO. Our deluxe rooms and one bedroom suites also include extras such as microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, and separate sitting area with table and chairs. All guest rooms include complimentary deluxe continental breakfast in the daily rate. An easily accessible location, competitive rates, exceptional customer service, and attention to detail make the Lexington Inn and Suites Sacramento Cal Expo the perfect choice when visiting the California state capital. Join our family at Lexington Inn and Suites Sacramento Cal Expo - you deserve it! Our Guests Come First SM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Lexington Inn & Suites- Sacramento Cal Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Expo Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing