We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny”
Review of Arden Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arden Star Hotel
Ranked #44 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed August 4, 2013

A very organised and humble team. The view from my room of the pool was breathtaking.
It was my first time in the town. The front desk employee , Sushant was very helpful with suggesting restaurants and giving accurate directions. On whole, it was a pleasant journey. Worth a second stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anushree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at Arden Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you took note of our wonderful pool area. Sushant is a great employee and, with his help we are leading our team to success. Thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 136 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

In general, Quality Inn and Suites is a nice place with highly trained staff members. Concerning the staff, Sushant from the front desk is doing a great job. I will recommend the place to friends and family members as well. Keep up the good work!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Marko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at Arden Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I have to agree with you Sushant ,is an awesome employee and does a great job. We are lucky to have him. He is helping us lead the way to superior customer service. We all hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

All that could go wrong in my day did,I was forced to take my wife and kids to a room. After a long day of dealing with people and there bad attitude one person to the next as if they were all working in the same office and the goal of the day is to see how many people we can crap on an make miserable. Danielle at Quality inn (Sacramento) you are the best! Just being able to get a warm friendly smile and respect while spending my hard earned moneys man...good old fashion customer service makes a 3 star in your mind become a 5 star in your experience. Thanks a lot Danielle for reminding me that there are people who still take pride in there job, and care about how important the first impression really is and the BIG difference you can make on remembering the little things still count. Thanks from my family for the feeling of home when not at home!

Room Tip: Put me were you would want to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at Arden Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank for reviewing our hotel. Danielle is one of our newest staff members, but has been a great fit and we are lucky to have her. We pride ourselves on providing the best customer service possible. Thank you for your comments and we all hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The staff was rude on arrival. The front desk clerk "Danielle" was extremely rude. We had to wait an hour to check in, which is understandable since we were early. But we were brushed off while others came around the same time and were given the time to have their reservation looked up. There was an incident with a departing guest who felt she was being overcharged and "Danielle" was extremely unprofessional and rude to the guest as well.
We stayed for one night and we were hoping to use the pool. When we arrived at the pool only one other guest was using it, which made sense because it was borderline green and murky. Also there is no elevator in a two story hotel?! We were lucky we were on the first floor. Even though the price was reasonable I would NOT recommend staying here even for one night!
Parking is very limited and it looked like it's shared with the strip mall next door. The room was clean with an outdated television. I tried to close the sliding closet door and it almost fell off the railing. Overall do not book a room here!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RubenB74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at Arden Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We have to apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your stay. We pride ourselves on customer service, as mentioned in our other reviews. I will be reevaluating our training program to make sure there are not areas where missing. Thank you again for your review and we hope you might consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stay at this hotel during business travel. Customer service is always impeccable. One of my favorite reps is Aashni. She is always pleasant and seems to know what I need before asking. Aashni should be commended for her attention to detail and excellent customer service! Also, if you experience any problems, the staff is always extremely accommodating. Because of their initiative to ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible, I would definitely recommend this hotel for business or vacation travel..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RRM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at Arden Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service. I have to agree with you Aashnie is great, and we are lucky to have her as part of our staff. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I went to my new job for training and I had two hotels to choose from and one I'm a long time member but I chose QI because it was literally walking distance & I had a personal recommendation. They didn't have the fax authorization from my travel website and Sushant was awesome and realizing that even though it wasn't his company's fault and he had room availability he offered me an upgrade knowing I will be coming back. So for that they get a 5 star, What brings it back to a 4 is some of the room is dated, it's clean, but they could use bigger towels and better soaps and shampoo. So if the service remains and cleanliness I'lll Be back many times otherwise I'll be going down the street.

Room Tip: Listen to Sushant he will stir you in the right direction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0hnD65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Arden Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are in the process of upgrading the rooms at the hotel. Sushant is a great, and we are really lucky to have him. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I was so happy with my experience, I returned to the Howe Street Quality Inn twice after my initial stay. I will always stay there when I return to Sacramento.

While I absolutely recommend the Howe Street Quality Inn for its superior Customer Service, and quality of management, Aashni's professional follow up and responsiveness to my needs were the highlight of my last stay.

Lisa, The Manager, surprised me with her "go above and beyond the call of duty." She was subtle, but extended customer service that I didn't expect and would not have requested. That alone set this hotel apart.

The "Security/Do-It-All" person, Randy, added to my sense of safety and comfort. With the help of his wife, he seemed to care far more about guests' comfort and peace of mind than would be expected. Sincere. Hard working.

Like, Aashni's "go-the-extra-mile" professional customer service during the Day, Emily and Suchand were like personal hosts; not "employees" just putting in time for a paycheck.

I noticed each one of these three treat every single person with respect, keep cool under pressure and do more than asked to provide a "quality experience." I felt great being around them.

Only one issue came up, which could have become a challenge. Housekeeping, on occasion, did not tend to my room as I liked. Thanks to Aashni's astute perception, I did not need to put my energy into solving this. I am so thankful Aashni made this easy for me by being observant and taking initiative. She seems to have an intuition about unexpressed customer needs, at least she did with me.

What a terrific team! Thanks for surprising me with your excellence.

This hotel is my number #1 choice when I travel to Sacramento.





rkcontracts@gmail.com

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Arden Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We try our best to set ourselves apart when it comes to customer service, and it’s great to hear that it’s working. We are grateful to have all our staff members work so hard to make sure all guest receive VIP service. It helps to motivate all of us when we receive such good feedback from our guest. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
1.1 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 82 in Sacramento
453 reviews
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
#36 of 82 in Sacramento
290 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#15 of 82 in Sacramento
510 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sacramento
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Star Hotel

Address: 1413 Howe Ave, Sacramento, CA 95825-3203 (Formerly Lexington Inn & Suites/Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range: $99 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arden Star Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Arden Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Expo Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing